[NAS] Synology NAS owner club!

i1magic

Is your NAS using 2.5Gbe as well? If it has only gigait Ethernet, then no point using the Realtek 2.5Gbe card, get an Intel gigabit Ethernet card for more stable operation.

However, if your NAS got 2.5Gbe, then be careful the first generation Intel I225 V1 based 2.5Gbs Ethernet card is having big problems. Not so sure if the new silicon revision I225 V2 is already in the market or not.
https://forums.unraid.net/topic/99261-25gbe-intel-z490-vs-amd-x570/
https://wccftech.com/intel-400-series-chipsets-z490-i225-v-network-controller-issue-fix-2h-2020/

Intel is saying you need compatible router/switch to use the I225V1 card as a 2.5G adapter, if not, use it as gigabit.
https://www.intel.com/i225v1

So if you do not want to use Realtek 2.5Gbps Ethernet card, then use the more expensive Marvell AQC112C (2.5Gbe) or AQC111C (2.5Gbe/5Gbe) based cards.

More info about 2.5Gbps Home Network here.
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...-4/2-5-gbps-wired-home-network-6347648-5.html

No lah. Synology so stingy with features, so far no models got 2.5Gbps LAN port right? Only got port aggregation. But if router doesn't support 2.5Gbps, also no use.

As much as I would like to have 2.5Gbps, don't think it will happen until 2.5Gbps becomes mainstream for router.

I really didn't notice much on NIC until now. My previous rig is with Gigabyte motherboard and it was ok.

I decided on the MSI MAG Tomahawk X570 because it was like $30-$40 more than MSI B550 Tomahawk and it comes with Wifi6 + BT. Plus this motherboard has super good review from "Hardware Unboxed".

i1magic

Both my Asrock motherboards use Intel I211 ethernet chip.

I purposely selected motherboard with Intel INC when building my rigs. 2 previous AMD rig with Realtek NIC have network speed of 8xx Mbps on SingTel 1Gbps Fibre. Now both are getting over 9xx Mbps.

I was able to get 980Mbps on my current rig, my ISP is Starhub, over Gigabit connection. I run the test on www.fast.com.

But don't know why recently, I can only get between 430-650Mbps.

jtjt00

10678298942.png

kalviper

Hi all, got some questions. I just bought my first nas, ds220+. I connect the nas to my ax88u and my comp is connect to my ax88u via lan. But when I copy files from the comp to the nas, it's like less than 100mbps. What am I doing wrong or not setting correctly? Using n300 HDD.

jtjt00

Hi all, got some questions. I just bought my first nas, ds220+. I connect the nas to my ax88u and my comp is connect to my ax88u via lan. But when I copy files from the comp to the nas, it's like less than 100mbps. What am I doing wrong or not setting correctly? Using n300 HDD.

Check the following:
1. computer ethernet is Gigabit
2. check Lan cable is at least 5E

Pathfinder

Check your comp NIC card if its gigabit? Check your cable, change the cable and test again.

Posted from PCWX using SM-F916B

kalviper

My bad. Just Google and research. 1gps = 125 MB/s. Ya, I saw peak of 113 MB/s. But small files so it's up and down. Should be fine.

kalviper

Ya. Mb is MSI b460m so 1gb lan. Ax88u page shows all port at 1gb. Cable are all cat6.
Just thought I need to do any additional settings. Cause I just plug and play, didn't do much.

jtjt00

For new users, best to create another Admin account and then disable the default Admin account.

xiaofan

No lah. Synology so stingy with features, so far no models got 2.5Gbps LAN port right? Only got port aggregation. But if router doesn't support 2.5Gbps, also no use.

As much as I would like to have 2.5Gbps, don't think it will happen until 2.5Gbps becomes mainstream for router.

I really didn't notice much on NIC until now. My previous rig is with Gigabyte motherboard and it was ok.

I decided on the MSI MAG Tomahawk X570 because it was like $30-$40 more than MSI B550 Tomahawk and it comes with Wifi6 + BT. Plus this motherboard has super good review from "Hardware Unboxed".

Cheap way to add 2.5Gbe for Synology NAS.
https://nascompares.com/answer/2-5-gbe-usb-adapter-for-synology/

i1magic

xiaofan

Thanks for clarifying. Yes, I ran the test on Saturday afternoon.

I also realised that if we change the server, we will get different speed.

Is there something that we can use that will more independent speed results?

For internet speedtest, you can always use Starhub web URL, to verify that your line is okay.

Local speedtest is just to verify that the line is okay. More important is the real user experience. International speedtest results against different server locations can be used as a indicator. The speed and ping values are both important.

Ref: real international speed tests
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...4/real-international-speed-tests-6405972.html

BTW, for internal speedtest within the home network (eg: to see how your wireless network performs), it is better to use iperf3.

i1magic

I think I have found the cause.

https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?threads/realtek-pcie-2-5gbe-family-controller-resetting.345823/

I check the "Event Viewer" and found this error :

Source : NDIS

The network interface "Realtek PCIe 2.5GbE Family Controller" has begun resetting. There will be a momentary disruption in network connectivity while the hardware resets. Reason: The network driver detected that its hardware has stopped responding to commands. This network interface has reset 208 time(s) since it was last initialized.

Jialat, after I installed the new drivers from MSI website, it seems ok for awhile. Then I noticed that the error came back again.

From this :

https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?...mily-controller-resetting.345823/post-2021903

Seems like could be Torrent settings.

I closed off my Torrent liao. See how it goes.

i1magic

Jialat, after I installed the new drivers from MSI website, it seems ok for awhile. Then I noticed that the error came back again.

From this :

https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?...mily-controller-resetting.345823/post-2021903

Seems like could be Torrent settings.

I closed off my Torrent liao. See how it goes.

And from few other users :

https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?...mily-controller-resetting.345823/post-2022100

https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?threads/realtek-pcie-2-5gbe-family-controller-resetting.345823/post-2023530

Seems like disabling "uTP" in Torrent does prevent the error from occurring.

Yangsheng

My Synology 218+ just wouldn't power on. Still under warranty. Can anyone direct me as to the warranty procedure.

Thank you.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.