Chee Hong Tat: the govt can't continue to increase transport subsidies, a fiscal burden on sinkies

Ironside

Bus no need air-conditioning. When they do that they pass the high cost to the riders.

archon75

1 rubbish bin cost $880,000, okay
1 YOG over budgeted to 387,000,000, okay
Giving allowances to foreigners studying in local universities, okay

Subsidising essential transport NOT okay.

Can give $$$ to FT to study in University is a fantastic idea, u know?

miko66

Nb Chee mai talk cock la since when public transport will make losses greedy idiots 8up la

ToonBlue

I realize the people view on this is so different on reddit ...

McGraw

http://mysingaporenews.blogspot.com/2014/02/smrt-pledge-by-then-transport-minister.html

‘One thing was certain…Because the Govt will be paying for the construction of the stations and lines, fares on our MRT will be lower than fares in other MRT countries where commuters will have to repay the capital cost and financing of the construction of their systems…He pledged that the private company which will be set up to operate the MRT will not be allowed to profit at the expense of the public. The principle for fare setting was clear. Fares will be kept as low as possible, consistent with collecting enough revenue to meet the running cost of the MRT, replace parts and equipment regularly and provide company shareholders with a reasonable return.’

hmsweethm

Public transport need how many JLBs on the management hierarchy?
The PAP preaches productivity, so the pap mp should double up and work in the public transport department and cannot get paid Becos it’s serving the public.
They should walk the talk.

Ctrl_Alt_Del

In my previous post, i mentioned about surplus of buses. Do you know that by delaying delivery, the entire supply chain is not getting final payment?

All these years LTA has been raising standards and whatnot, do you know that they are paying less in proportion to the rise in quality. Do you think this is a good thing?

The latest double decker bus with third door? Ridiculous design that in theory can reduce the alighting time by a bit at the expense of many seats.

PiGuDong

Used taxpayers money to subsidies these private companies to buy trains/buses and build tracks.

Privatise profits, socialise costs :mad:

the_hulk

We don't really need so many buses on the road, especially off peak hours. Try taking a bus during off peak hours and you will know what I mean. Key is efficient allocation of resources using tech. Don't see how come u can lose money when u r basically the sole monopoly in singapore

tamago_

The latest double decker bus with third door? Ridiculous design that in theory can reduce the alighting time by a bit at the expense of many seats.
The capacity is the same, the bus is longer by 50cm.

tamago_

We don't really need so many buses on the road, especially off peak hours. Try taking a bus during off peak hours and you will know what I mean. Key is efficient allocation of resources using tech. Don't see how come u can lose money when u r basically the sole monopoly in singapore
What do you propose... it is known that infrastructure investment is for the peak hours. If we reduce off-peak frequency to match demand, like HK did, the interval could be 20 to 35 minutes per bus, sometimes an hour like 74D.

But we are doing this for the commuters who work retail hours, and for the old folks who can now get a seat and lots of space during this shoulder of peak periods. The focus is different. When bus fares could cover costs, life as definitely not as rosy as now when it comes to taking buses. Should we go back to those days? That was how our earlier generations survived.

Look at the COVID frequencies in Hong Kong at tail end of 4th wave. Do we want to go back to profit oriented public transport systems? Can tahan?

九巴:https://search.kmb.hk/KMBWebSite/AnnouncementPicture.ashx?url=1614167600_5924_0.pdf
新城:http://mobile.bravobus.com.hk/pdf/E202001146z03.pdf

rackgen

Every fugging year same ** wayang sheet

Oil prices falling for years liao

v3SIjuy.jpg

This shows :

Bad hedging

Or

Bad cost savings on transporter part

Why incentivise these people ? We have scholars right

Can’t hedge properly Ah ? What’s the high pay for them then ??

Posted from PCWX using pigeons

tatsit

You have to blame stupid laws. In another words, sg is not ready for 3 door design on a tri axle bus.

Do know how many laws have to be excluded in order for these design to be on the roads? Even when it's on the roads, it faced many issues because the laws were there for a reason as it governs the design of the infrastructure and hence the vehicle.

Just a comparison, a full fledge 3 door double deck bus in Europe is longer than 13.4m and left hand drive. Want to have this design, major reforms are needed.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.