2021 Market Sentiment & Positioning

decibel.

When most if not all the traders and investors have run out of cash to throw at the market or just give up in frustration, volume recedes and charts quieten down. That's when I become interested and pay more attention to screening for the next batch of winners.
Being charting the trend for a few tickers and it looks like people are still FOMO-ing at a few % drop. I expect them to run dry before the actual bottom comes.

Sent from HUAWEI VOG-L29 using GAGT

minamikaze

I think not yet in the depressed stage, when you decided you are never going to touch stocks again for at least the next 5 years, that's when i enter the market :o

I think I'm almost at that point.
When I was up huge, I never thought I would lose 80% of my profit in a matter of a week. How naive.

chaoprokia

I think I'm almost at that point.
When I was up huge, I never thought I would lose 80% of my profit in a matter of a week. How naive.

i never ever thought it will down 3 weeks and lost so much that was gain! lol.

another lesson learnt Biden world.

RedsYWNA

I bought the dip for TIGR and YI, sold them at loss yesterday after 10-15% drop. Today both dropped another 17%. Good call.

I thought since I moved to TIGR, I should buy its stocks since it has a good platform....nah...wrong timing. On hindsight, also no moat and fierce completion with moomoo, webull and robin hood. Another Chinese trading platform also coming up and I use it to know real time OTC prices.

Which app can see real time OTC prices? IBKR OTC subscription rather ex, so I never subscribe

aurvandil

It might have been a bit premature to declare that the US bull market is dead.

All in all it has been a nice week. Like everyone else, positional portfolio is down week on week. Day trading portfolio is however bulging from fading the dips. 10 pts here ... 15 pts there ... it all adds up to the consolidated portfolio beating the index benchmark without a huge increase in risk.

areahealer

I believe once 10 yr treasury yield break new high another sell off will happen. Fed mention inflation @ 2% by the end of the year but it may reach earlier than expected with stimulus. Rapid economic growth data may push treasury higher with so much money. The market hasn’t taken into account of the 2% 10 year treasury yield. Market rotation is going on.

发哨子2020

Better in the market then to try to time the market? :o

U.S. stocks roared back from a sharp sell-off on Friday as a rally in bond yields eased, while a stronger-than-expected jobs report boosted optimism for a faster economic recovery.

marxace

this is a pretty much FML moment again.. every year also encounter this..

I gave back $700k of paper money... and now is back to the 6 digit profit club.

really is ..sibei sianz...

so how now?

Hold or Sell?

What would you do?
I gave back 400k of paper money in the last 2 weeks so for the past two days I decided to cut my 5-10% losers and take profits on my winners in case they turn into losers... Those above 20% losses I will hold..
Still keeping my main positions in spacs hoping they will double in future...

Sent from OPPO CPH1919 using GAGT

marxace

Your total realized/unrealized profits cannot go up in a straight line.

If you are investing/trading correctly, they should grow steadily.
Very true but hard to control greed.. for jan and feb my profits have almost doubled 2020 profits as I kept pumping in money to buy.. but after gme saga, I got scared and decided to trim some of my holdings.. managed to cut about 20% but mkt seemed to be going up so I stopped trimming and added more positions.. Initial plan was to trim 50% and only keep my spacs for defensive play.. greed got the better of me. If only I could control my greed and stick to my plan.. hindsight talking here ..

Sent from OPPO CPH1919 using GAGT

yang_nastyman

i would think we are not out of the woods yet.

last night told me that there are still bulls... but corrections always come with fake rallies. QQQ being down 3.5%, then up 3% in the next session. Down 6% in 3 straight sessions to squeeze out a 1.5% last night. I am not very convinced at this point of time. Truth be told, I have never gotten a company right at the lowest point either, I prefer to see some trend established before allocating funds.

what was the "flash crash" about last night? I decided to call it early and not look at my app. I guess it was a good choice. Certain popular "momentum" stocks were down 10-20% 2hours after the open, which could have provided distraction to my emotional state.

decided to play it safe now and am adjusting my stop losses upwards for my reopening plays.

L0L8zZ

I thought yahoo is 15 mins late? So for OTC, usually I just set limit orders. If it hits, it hits lor....

seems live to me, the price i buy on ibkr is zhun zhun, market order for $500-600 TSLA with such a wide spread also 20 cents +- from prices on yahoo.

and each tab got running price on tab so you still can see realtime changes.

just put money into ibkr ytd to short tsla.

i probably can use tiger broker also la, but lazy to see phone and see com

L0L8zZ

i would think we are not out of the woods yet.

last night told me that there are still bulls... but corrections always come with fake rallies. QQQ being down 3.5%, then up 3% in the next session. Down 6% in 3 straight sessions to squeeze out a 1.5% last night. I am not very convinced at this point of time. Truth be told, I have never gotten a company right at the lowest point either, I prefer to see some trend established before allocating funds.

what was the "flash crash" about last night? I decided to call it early and not look at my app. I guess it was a good choice. Certain popular "momentum" stocks were down 10-20% 2hours after the open, which could have provided distraction to my emotional state.

decided to play it safe now and am adjusting my stop losses upwards for my reopening plays.

yesterday seems to be shortists taking profit and also funds trying to stabilise the market for their eventual exit.

if red 1 whole week, the AI, the TINA, the FOMA, all run road. then cant be hedge fund sell to hedge fund right...

aiptasia

The QQQ rebounded but with lower volume than the prior trading session. I am staying out until I see better confirmation.

shizuka_b

i don't think that's the end. Gut feeling after few cycles of these. I hope I am wrong though.

paladin

I thought yahoo is 15 mins late? So for OTC, usually I just set limit orders. If it hits, it hits lor....

Yahoo is 15 mins late, I set market price and lost $5000 instead of buying start of upswing, which was 15 mins, I bought at the peak of that upswing, which was the present price . Thereafter I searched the universe for real time free OTC price and found it. Let me check whether I can post a referral link,

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.