Why is Sg not considered a democracy?

Shinji.Ikari

We have democratic elections
We can share our views freely without breaching POFMA and OSA
We have LOTO and opposition presence
Our mainstream news publish slanted views but we have alternate news sources with more balanced views and can access worldwide news freely
We respect human rights and we have capital punishments only for the most serious of crimes

ponpokku

Our mainstream news publish slanted views but we have alternate news sources with more balanced views and can access worldwide news freely
We respect human rights and we have capital punishments only for the most serious of crimes
sue until u pants drop then u know.

kumokumo

Democracy = must have 50/50 politics, so that CIA blackhands can influence one way or the other whenever they need to.

Quala98

the definition of democracy in the eyes of westerners is that... a country must have rotating party system. Something like Taiwan where every X years, KMT will hold power from president to legislature, before losing it to DPP, then retaking it

but in singapore, they dun see that. So they dun think we are one. That's why George Yeo has to tell them that he lost his job because of democracy, and PAPship has to kope what he said despite he is their adviser

plexxor

don't think we had a chance to choose our last president after goal posts were shifted and somehow a pap member was 'elected'

mryongtan

have to keep changing parties to run the country, SG don't have this.

desmond_yee1

the definition of democracy in the eyes of westerners is that... a country must have rotating party system. Something like Taiwan where every X years, KMT will hold power from president to legislature, before losing it to DPP, then retaking it

but in singapore, they dun see that. So they dun think we are one. That's why George Yeo has to tell them that he lost his job because of democracy, and PAPship has to kope what he said despite he is their adviser
because ang moh believe upholding system rather than politicians. they believe a person will become corrupt in long term so one cannot be allowed to hold on to power for too long (term limits).

in asian society we believe in the person (who claims he will not be corrupt).

silver09

A democracy is more than all this...

Ohayo!

media is controlled

opposing views are fixed through new laws like POFMA FICA

tankgunner

Mentor
low-thia.gif

rizhal

Exit straw poll not allowed.

“Voting is secret and compulsory “ this is so undemocratic

desmond_yee1

in true democracy, any politician cannot be trusted, thats why the separation of power allows each branch to check on each other

Me4myself

They serve edmw lor.

Knn, so many ppl expose say the other party is pap lite. Pap=pa=ntuc=wp

xdivider

can you even vote for anyone non MIW in the last PE...........

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.