i made 56% profit from just last year via stocks

Roundtreex

Last yr is a exception yr for equities and other assets cause by Pandemania. So almost everyone bought during the crisis won and no way to repeat it again. So dun hao lian so fast.
lol while edmw shouting recession and crash.
Love edmw cause i always go opposite of them. Like 90% accurate !! Huat arrr!!

Perisher

good for you. but for ppl who are financially illiterate and not well suited to dabble in the financial markets like yours truly...........CPF enables me to know my retirement is secured and i can sleep soundly every night.

I'm the type that 逢赌必输, bet what lose what, invest company company will collapse.......BBFA, unable to network my way out of the rat race.

CPF is a god-send for me with 4-5% p.a.
eh... did you ever try to get a simple etf and still lose over a 3-5 year period doing simple DCA?

Cobra!

some people wear thongs, some wear briefs, some wear boxers.

whatever you feel comfortable carrying your balls can liao

Daty41

Ya % return doesnt mean much unless its a significant sum of money or a significant % of a person's networth.

I'm up about 22% this year, its a big boost to my networth because stocks make up big chunk of it, its several times that of my equity in my property (which is fully paid).

Unless you dare to go big like DFV during the gamestop saga, even 1000% return might not mean much in the end.
exactly... when u say 22% and its a significant portion of your large networth, then its sound very reasonable.

The very large % gain without context is very dangerous and often lure people into false belief.

I can just play $5000 and make 500% in meme crypto or meme stocks (meme stock maybe 2x only) ...who will dare to put in $100K-200k into them unless u already have millions.

That being said, for a normal person, i wonder what is the amount that one is willing to gamble into meme crypto (like Shiba) or meme stock (GME)..for me its $10k the most (i am just above the low income bracket)

for context my gambling max for
-4D is $200 per number
-football is $500

Acetron

not everyday is sunday, better run and take cover as 2022 will be a volatile year

sk0065

exactly... when u say 22% and its a significant portion of your large networth, then its sound very reasonable.

The very large % gain without context is very dangerous and often lure people into false belief.

I can just play $5000 and make 500% in meme crypto or meme stocks (meme stock maybe 2x only) ...who will dare to put in $100K-200k into them unless u already have millions.

That being said, for a normal person, i wonder what is the amount that one is willing to gamble into meme crypto (like Shiba) or meme stock (GME)..for me its $10k the most (i am just above the low income bracket)

for context my gambling max for
-4D is $200 per number
-football is $500

Let me test the evidence by using this hypothesis.

Scar-ly:

TS invest $1,000 at the start of the year
today check, NAV is $1,560.

sk0065

Just now, I went to the Drinks Vending Machine

Inserted a $1 coin
aiya, lemon tea out of stock

press eject

went to retrieve my coin and found an extra 10cents (must have been left there by the previous person)

Made 10% return within 15 seconds.

PetKat

good for you. but for ppl who are financially illiterate and not well suited to dabble in the financial markets like yours truly...........CPF enables me to know my retirement is secured and i can sleep soundly every night.

I'm the type that 逢赌必输, bet what lose what, invest company company will collapse.......BBFA, unable to network my way out of the rat race.

CPF is a god-send for me with 4-5% p.a.
Cpf is only 2.5% how u get 4-5%?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.