Better read this if you are planning to live or migrate to Japan: 10 Problems

Lemonpeach

1) 40% of foreigners can't rent an apartment easily
2) Lack of Japanese and foreign language support
3) Lack of interpreters in courts, police stations, district ward officers, public offices
4) illegal foreign worker of foreign technical trainees?
5) Large number of US military bases - if white you must be an American. If yellow, you must be Chinese
6) Hatred towards Korean and Chinese
7) Tussle over kids born to Japanese and foreign partner in event of divorce. Gaijin will often loose family court case in Japan
8) Job discrimination
9) Increasing number of Hafu or inter marriage kids
10) Rising number of foreign kids born to foreign parents, but can only speak Japanese

Loratadine10mg

3) Lack of interpreters in courts, police stations, district ward officers, public offices
5) Large number of US military bases - if white you must be an American. If yellow, you must be Chinese
7) Tussle over kids born to Japanese and foreign partner in event of divorce. Gaijin will often loose family court case in Japan
8) Job discrimination
10) Rising number of foreign kids born to foreign parents, but can only speak Japanese

Actually unless u super strong or financial wealthy.

That place is not for weaklings

wongkc

8) Job discrimination

My sister married a japanese and had been staying in Japan under spouse visa for more than 10yrs liao...

I think most of the problems are true and real... but i think this is true to most other foreign language countries as well... like lack of support of interpreters in gahment agencies, discriminations... even opening a bank account is a challenge etc...

but the very basic requirement when u want to live in a foreign land is to learn their language... even if u move to a English speaking countries... u still need to learn their local slang/dialects/accents... and once u learned their language and is fluent in it... a lot of the problems will be solved or minimized...

Grieffin

My sister married a japanese and had been staying in Japan under spouse visa for more than 10yrs liao...

I think most of the problems are true and real... but i think this is true to most other foreign language countries as well... like lack of support of interpreters in gahment agencies, discriminations... even opening a bank account is a challenge etc...

but the very basic requirement when u want to live in a foreign land is to learn their language... even if u move to a English speaking countries... u still need to learn their local slang/dialects/accents... and once u learned their language and is fluent in it... a lot of the problems will be solved or minimized...

Is she happy? Husband has typical Japanese mcp-ness?

wongkc

Is she happy? Husband has typical Japanese mcp-ness?

Her husband no leh... he very beta one... everything listen to my sis...

I wouldn't say she is extremely happy or sad... normal housewife life lor... to a certain extend i think a lot of foreigners will get depress due to a lack of familiar faces/friends... no one to talk heart to heart matters besides the husband... i mean she got jap friends there... but gals likes to gossip abt husband one no matter what... and she cannot do that coz her friends there coz mostly are her husband friends...

in the beginning is hard... coz technology still not so advance... not like now can call and video chat home anytime... so now better coz can always hear her gossip to my mum... an avenue to let off her frustration...

cet87

Her husband no leh... he very beta one... everything listen to my sis...

I wouldn't say she is extremely happy or sad... normal housewife life lor... to a certain extend i think a lot of foreigners will get depress due to a lack of familiar faces/friends... no one to talk heart to heart matters besides the husband... i mean she got jap friends there... but gals likes to gossip abt husband one no matter what... and she cannot do that coz her friends there coz mostly are her husband friends...

in the beginning is hard... coz technology still not so advance... not like now can call and video chat home anytime... so now better coz can always hear her gossip to my mum... an avenue to let off her frustration...
not sure why jap girls want to stay home after married, not bored meh?

Eternal-fire

8) Job discrimination

It's ok China and Korea hate them too.

Wasted is US no abolish the monarchy and reform their government after ww2 and prosecute their war criminals. Lol.

rtfm38

On the bright side, I guess no natural disasters in Japan.

Ubi-Warrior

Language issue true , but Japanese language also got that deferential phrasing also to speak as man and woman also not same.
Read Quora , if you can get past the anti-CCP and Anti-US stuff, for folk who have lived in Japan , the local think its cool you learning language then when you get fluent they seem less than happy , and start to speak English to you even you Japanese.

Its a very strange yet fascinating place thats for sure.

App Time!!!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.