Why Britain is so attractive to thousands fleeing Hong Kong

NightGhost

Mindset hv been poison n always believe grass is greener on otherside just like how people always kena scam or cheated.

PaprikaSG

Because of that special passport and Boris Johnson welcome them.

Also, UK desperately needs replacement of cheap labour after brexit.

So these hongkies fill the void conveniently to boost UK economy and UK gov doesn't pay for their medical or cpf.

Boris Johnson said they may apply for citizenship after staying in UK for a few years BUT he didn't say it's guarantee they will get it. Sneaky b@stard :ROFLMAO:

soaresb

Not expert but think don't know why sound like 'suan-ing', given the circumstances that lead many to so called run road to ang-mor places. :s22:
Well, most of them have been trained/have trained themselves to serve the british so it's understandable that the british would expect them to be pliant model workers ba. Would be a rude shock if they turned out to be not right?

Zangief

most can't find proper full time jobs there. if u are a chinese u are a chinese, amdk dun really care where u come from, even abc who speak perfect english get discriminated in usa very often.

upslorry

thousands allowed to leave HK every week and still many criticized China as no freedom. Did the Nazi Germany allowed Jews to leave?
The very fact they're allowed to leave already shows they're free. If China were a tyranny, there is no leaving for them.

Anyway China wont care, they can leave as they like. They were be replaced by mainland Chinese.

pwongkk

As long as not subjects of the CCP, everywhere is attractive.

I'm glad my grandparents were under the Republican (ROC) era, left china before the CCP took over. Was never once brainwashed and ruled by the commies.

myopenid

Imagine moving from bird cage to shoebox, that’s a huge upgrade for honkies

pwongkk

LOL, typical Chinese behavior anyway, same for Singaporean Chinese.
It's like your parents. They divorced, and now C is your father. Would you acknowledge C as your father or would only acknowledge your flesh and blood father?

archetern

lol this thread is filled with old boomers who think the China is the way.

EDMW never disappoints.
lets see 10 years down the road whether the HKer in UK will lead a better life than those in HK. I m willing to bet life in HK to be far better :ROFLMAO:

Zinna

Many left during 97.
But many returned
We shall see whether this current diaspora will be different
Yalor
Moi know many honkies whose families left during 97. Now alot back in hk, either working there or living with dual residency in hk/sg. Really ish best of both worlds, can choose live in hk or sinkieland anytime

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.