Are you okay to stay underpaid (according to benchmarks) for a few years to clock up experience?

Zangief

very hard bah. say u should be earning 5k. u low ball until 3.5k, next job give u 20% if u lucky, maybe even lower than that, is like 4.2k only ? then next next job maybe can back to >5k.

if in your 20s or early 30s still can, anything more better dun try not much time liao.

mooseolly

Yes in big reputable companies, that’s why salary in these companies are suppressed.

lawabidingcitizen

Let me give you a tip. If you want to get a better outcome, don't do that during the next review, do it BEFORE the next review. For eg, if the next review is March, do it by January. The reason being during review, the timeline is very short for management to adjust and make changes as the budget is more or less cast in stone. So you have to bring this up BEFORE the next review.

Jan is too late.. If asking for salary increase.. Ask immediately.. Don't wait for dec jan or march because you dont know what is the procedure

BigMonkey

I commented in ts thread about being underpaid for 2yrs,asking if he prefer to be jobless 2yrs instead.

You replied to my comment to jjww about self-worth as if i asked you anything about that.

So i ask u back. You reply wrong person issit?

nope i didn’t reply the wrong person. i quoted your post about ā€œunemployed for 2 yearsā€

i said you can choose not be unemployed and still not being under paid by knowing how to sell yourself according to how each specific company business.

You choose to take it the wrong way then so be it.

MegatonNev

It's a yes for me if the experience is important... a lot of times, a role requires experience but no experience how to get the role? so the trade-off for experience is acceptable if it's that important enough...

Lchlch

coming to mid 30s soon. jia you and stay strong.
Bro, your age is abit younger than my team mate.
long long way to move up and chiong up.
wish you from my sincere heart, go for it.
the move we jump, the more experience we gain and salary will be higher.

razorlala

nope i didn’t reply the wrong person. i quoted your post about ā€œunemployed for 2 yearsā€

i said you can choose not be unemployed and still not being under paid by knowing how to sell yourself according to how each specific company business.

You choose to take it the wrong way then so be it.
So i reply u, saying if everyone as satki as you they won't be underpaid in the same place. Cause yknow, buy toto y buy the losing number?

So why you ask me if i reply the correct person? You dense?

coolhead

Bro, your age is abit younger than my team mate.
long long way to move up and chiong up.
wish you from my sincere heart, go for it.
the move we jump, the more experience we gain and salary will be higher.
Actually, I wanted to start a thread about what are the factors in life that will dilute our passion to chiong:
1) Placing family first
2) Not as much intrinsic motivation to climb corporate ladder
3) Feeling that the current salary is sufficient for one's needs
4) Need for work life balance
5) Other priorities in life has taken precedence over work

But I will leave that to perhaps another time. I definitely do not have as much drive as when I first started working but there is still some drive to chiong. Primarily, it is due to 2) above. I'm wondering what are the factors in life that will cause this lack of passion to chiong so that I can anticipate for myself.

Lchlch

Actually, I wanted to start a thread about what are the factors in life that will dilute our passion to chiong:
1) Placing family first

But I will leave that to perhaps another time. I definitely do not have as much drive as when I first started working but there is still some drive to chiong. Primarily, it is due to 2) above. I'm wondering what are the factors in life that will cause this lack of passion to chiong so that I can anticipate for myself.
Noted bro.
if you have such thread created, buzz me ya.

mgx-alander

1) Placing family first

chiong for wat? i chiong but my 1st CO dun like moi delayed moi promotion.. ppl 2 years promote i took 3.. so now i am lagging behind my peers

but i know if i go outsai, i cannot do what i like (ppl expect moi to lead, but moi leadersheep skill weak) and got no expert power.. now i have expert power and can still continue to code which is great.. i do things can be very fast when it come to coding.. but i do things very slow when it comes to paperwork

coolhead

chiong for wat? i chiong but my 1st CO dun like moi delayed moi promotion.. ppl 2 years promote i took 3.. so now i am lagging behind my peers

but i know if i go outsai, i cannot do what i like (ppl expect moi to lead, but moi leadersheep skill weak) and got no expert power.. now i have expert power and can still continue to code which is great.. i do things can be very fast when it come to coding.. but i do things very slow when it comes to paperwork
confusing leh... you are DXO or in civil service?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.