[BREAKING] up 50 hours for a bed waiting times at hospitals now!!!

Philipkee

Did you read the article?

Most cases not covid

Whole country 500+ hospitalized for covid as of yesterday on moh website.

U think Whole Singapore only 500+ beds? And all taken by covid?

Another edmw clown thinking every hospital serving covid patients only.
Half correct. Under normal circumstances, hospitals are already almost full everyday except weekends and maybe public holidays cos no one wants to be admitted during then (especially during CNY).

What this means is the 500 extra COVID related patients are tipping the bed crunch over the edge.

So yes, you are right. You cannot say covid is the cause of bed crunch but we have been operating on so little buffer previously that this little bit, or any little bit, will worsen bed crunch by a lot.

KPO_SAHM

Also, not all beds are equal. That is why sometimes you can see in MOH board hospital is 90% full but still no beds for patients. Where is the remaining 10%?

They can vary. For example, there are male beds available. But no female beds. So the patient is female. So no beds. But a male patients gets admitted.

Or specialised beds. Example. There are empty beds in a paediatric ward. So there are beds. But not for adult patients.

Cos we were ever questioned on this before and we had to point this out.

There are many other permutations that those in ane will know. I think it's more of ane cos we deal with these situations while those in the wards tend to be in silos.

mOH standby beds for emergency.
During my mum 7 days stay, once a paitent discharged, staff cleaned and about less than 2 hrs another patient would occupy the bed

desmond_yee1

a05b150b-758a-4663-bb8e-8772c7e85653_0.jpg

A sign outside Ng Teng Fong hospital's emergency department on Oct 19, 2022, stating that waiting times could take up to 6 hours for a consultation and 50 hours for a bed. (Photo: CNA reader)

Manpower constraints at her hospital have also been exacerbated by the current wave of COVID-19 cases, with more staff members testing positive for the virus.

“A lot of junior doctors are getting sick and because there's so many of them that are sick, there's nobody to recall. So then seniors end up having to cover them,” she said. “It’s a vicious cycle and just feels endless, so we all feel very exhausted.”
time to clap for them

daryl76

huh? didnt MOH say no severe conditions yesterday and the hospitals are prepared???? read they have 800 beds blah blah blah leh

Wwiiii

Did you read the article?

Most cases not covid

Whole country 500+ hospitalized for covid as of yesterday on moh website.

U think Whole Singapore only 500+ beds? And all taken by covid?

Another edmw clown thinking every hospital serving covid patients only.
erm, the vaccones should have cut it to practically nothing why still got 500? are you intellectually challenged or something?

Philipkee

mOH standby beds for emergency.
During my mum 7 days stay, once a paitent discharged, staff cleaned and about less than 2 hrs another patient would occupy the bed
Yes. But it also depends on how many patients are targeting that bed also. There is a limit to how many you can standby when there are many people who need beds NOW.

Pre covid, there were such beds that were slowly released towards the morning cos everyone knows discharges are coming so they can be slowly released. That is why we always tell relatives maybe there will be a bed at 4am and they will be like who will go back at night (unspoken is the question if the empty bed belonged to someone who just died).

But this is pre COVID.

tauntme

All of yall laughing at them not going private better make sure u have enough savings for your private insurance premiums when you you 80....

The_best2

At this day, clowns like u still think mask is the solution?

Every country, mask or no mask also experience spike. Japan people always wear mask, also experience spike in August

With mask mandates, we got the highest peak of covid infections.

Without mask mandate, the number is still smaller than earlier peaks with masks.

If the virus gonna spread, it gonna spread. With or without masks.

You like tough covid measures then migrate to china then.

u dun have to resort to name calling. If u have different opinion just say so. Why u keep calling people CLOWNs? Not only me,, u are saying EDMWers are CLOWNS..why?

Laneige

And still don’t want to bring back mask wearing n media still can ask those experts that already show u they failed in critical thinking n thinking outside of the box when Covid first started, telling u no need to wear mask… then what happened? V amazing can still ask this kind of experts on the fight against covid

just heard someone said they called moh n the elderly send to hospital or they send to hospital can’t rem due to Covid n stay for a few days
If it’s true then elderly covid patients do take up bed usage for the first few days of infection …

Coffeelix

mask mandate is easily doable and does not affect the opening up but the govt does not want to lose face , die die dun want to revert back to masks wearing. Damn

must wait until things get alot worse then start taking actions. NEVER take proactive preventive actions, always wait until things happened liao then take actions

PREVENTION is better than CURE.. they million dollars ministers dun know this logic?
You mean fire fighting…

tshace

Military generals always say, "the situation is fully under control."
No matter how dire and hopeless it looks.

Philipkee

SG nurses better migrate Australia.

Can easily earn 2-3 times more after tax.
Not really true

Salary wise

Junior nurses - Yes. You get 3k in Singapore, maybe 6k in Australia. So if you wanna migrate, do so when you are junior.

Senior nurses - financial wise, not really. You get 5k in Singapore, you won't get 10k in Australia. Unless you are out for lifestyle changes.

Culture wise
It really depends on character. Cos in Australia, they are very welfare minded. It also means people can just throw sick leave often and they get casual nurses to cover (or in extreme cases, close certain cubicles).

And if the patient wants to run away from the hospital, it's his right. If a patient falls, it's his problem (as long as it's not negligence on your part by not keeping floor dry) cos restraining him is illegal.

It's very different in Australia. While this is good as a nurse, it also means if your elderly parent goes to hospital, maybe there will be no bed not because there is no bed but because admitting your parent will tip the staff to patient ratio off balance.

So it's really up to individuals. I have friends who went there and returned and those who stayed there and got married.

Housing is really up to individual. Most of my friends rent. Because Australia is so big, a change of job usually means you also need to move house.

Cars are cheap there but most do not drive within the city but rather in the outskirts or go on road trips. So they still take public transport a lot even though they own a car

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.