Singapore Treasury bills (T-bills)

pohw0008

Wef Dec, if have $100,000, salary credit of at least $1600 and credit card spend $500, UOB One can get 5%. Interest is tiered so 5% only if exact $100,000.

Better than tbills at the current pull down rate situation.

https://www.uob.com.sg/personal/save/everyday-accounts/one-account.page
Esaver also increase to 3.8%. RHB bank also increase. Now a lot more choice than tbill.

I am going to take a break from tbills. Ladder already broken since did not get last issue
I will lol at those ppl if tbills below 3.8% next round.. 😂

sgbird

Wef Dec, if have $100,000, salary credit of at least $1600 and credit card spend $500, UOB One can get 5%. Interest is tiered so 5% only if exact $100,000.

Esaver also increase to 3.8%. RHB bank also increase. Now a lot more choice than tbill.

I am going to take a break from tbills. Ladder already broken since did not get last issue
Tbill becomes meanlingless except for those CPF free money

henrylbh

will be good for those using cpfoa if below 3.8%

if cash, cimb FD 6mth already 3.95% liao:p
If using CPFOA, I need at least 4% which will give me a gain of $3.370. The last time I queued for 10 Nov Auction but was turned down by the dumb agent bank 2 days before closing date.

royalmix

If using CPFOA, I need at least 4% which will give me a gain of $3.370. The last time I queued for 10 Nov Auction but was turned down by the dumb agent bank 2 days before closing date.
I got at 4%, net gain less than $600! Not willing to go lower than that!

~sabaisabai~

but some newbies wldnt mind 3.8% lor :p

demoforce1

for "credit your salary via GIRO", can this be replaced with FAST with the description of SALARY?

mp4005 help

for "credit your salary via GIRO", can this be replaced with FAST with the description of SALARY?

no. must be from company. someone checked with UOB on another thread.

I just enquired at UOB if I could Fast in/Paynow using the option or description of Salary. The teller went to check with her colleague inside and told me it doesn’t work as salary crediting must be done by company.

GrandJedi

Per current rules the HDB concessionary loan rate is the OA rate plus 10 basis points. There'd be screams in agony if that HDB loan rate increased to 4.0% for example (the recent 3.9% T-bill rate plus 10 basis points). So I don't think a general OA rate increase is likely with the HDB loan rate linkage, although the OA rate peg to "Big 3" board rates doesn't seem sensible either. The banks obviously just leave their board rates alone while making their promotional rates their everyday rates. (They play these games with fixed deposit rate linked home loans, too.)

I think it's time for some fundamental rethinking of OA. I understand and mostly appreciate the government's desire to "encourage" Singaporeans to own homes. (Although Switzerland seems to manage quite well with much lower rates of home ownership combined with impressive household wealth accumulation.) So that means saving for a down payment and servicing a mortgage. But is OA as currently constructed the best way to do this? I have my doubts. It seems quite obvious that Singaporeans (some) are sitting on vast quantities of OA dollars earning a now fairly unattractive 2.5% interest rate. And they understandably want to find other, more productive outlets for these balances. So they're chasing real estate (even when they probably shouldn't), and that's got to be putting some upward pricing pressure on housing in Singapore. Force people to save for something even when they don't need to and you'll get some price inflation on that something.

I think the CPF Advisory Panel had/has the right idea with the LRIS. It's very strange that the CPF Board hasn't adopted the Advisory Panel's LRIS recommendations by now. Beyond that, what about refocusing OA on first-time home buyers? Even barring OA dollars from second and subsequent homes? How about making the employee's share of OA contributions voluntary (though still eligible for tax relief) once the employee has reached a certain CPF savings and/or housing threshold? I don't have firm opinions on these questions, but I think the questions ought to be asked and carefully considered since there do seem to be some problems particularly with the OA leg of CPF.
when CPF was 2.5% and bank deposits were 0.5%, everyone was generally ok with? ;)

heng_ah

pohw0008

BBCWatcher

Might as well go for CIMB FD which gives 3.95% for 6 months tenure, exactly same duration as T-Bills 6 months.
If your total deposit relationship with CIMB is S$75,000 or less (i.e. within the SDIC limit) then that seems like reasonable advice. Unfortunately the CPF Board doesn’t allow CPF dollars to be allocated to non-“Big 3 Bank” fixed deposits, so CIMB’s fixed deposit offers don’t matter for those particular dollars.

andyhtc

At the rate that the fixed deposit interest rates are climbing and the T-Bills yields are falling, very soon T-Bill will become CPF-OA play while those with cash will go for fixed deposits. I don't like the uncertainty of the T_Bill yield and allocation, so I will be switching out of T-Bills for sure.

F1ngolf2012

With the banks' latest December round of higher deposit, looks like upcoming T-bills will be mainly CPF/SRS investors and very soon, T-bills will just mainly be an internal transfer of CPF fund to MAS per my earlier prediction. :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.