New career conversion programme to re-skill 280 PMETs for Singapore’s furniture industry

Singapore金枪不倒

Recycling company sounds like sembcorp waste or super 800???
It was a smaller set-up, think it was featured in some CNA show previously, the one where they showed how they scrapped gold from handphone chips or something. Apparently, recycling is much more lucrative than what most people expect....

Handsome_guy

just increase the company's quota to let them hire more Malaysians la.

Carpenters salary how high only? Sinkies not interested.

chainsawman

really no more suitable jobs for natives?
or good one already given to others?

3G SAINT

Next time can Reno own home.
My brother used to be in furniture line after worked more than 15 yrs and quit this trade long ago...for hobby make chair is ok...also many dust when make furniture not good for health;)

WW1 Flying Ace

This is a sunset industry here
Dunno what are they thinking seriously. Is carpentry sustainable in Sinkieland or notch? And if there are other jobs in digital marketing, business development, furniture design etc, wouldn't they already be jobs that pmet want or are already doing?

You mean suddenly got all these jobs that nobody was aware of previously? Who is the furniture companies that suddenly want to employ 280 pmet? At least they can attempt to name the companies. :(

tankgunner

Mentor
Dunno what are they thinking seriously. Is carpentry sustainable in Sinkieland or notch? And if there are other jobs in digital marketing, business development, furniture design etc, wouldn't they already be jobs that pmet want or are already doing?

You mean suddenly got all these jobs that nobody was aware of previously? Who is the furniture companies that suddenly want to employ 280 pmet? At least they can attempt to name the companies. :(
Most furniture are imported from our neighbouring countries one

overman

gqCMRdE.png

https://conversion.mycareersfuture.gov.sg/Portal/ProgramDetails.aspx?ProgID=P00002094

yLW1ebK.png

https://conversion.mycareersfuture.gov.sg/Portal/ProgramDetails.aspx?ProgID=P00002048

Singapore金枪不倒

P8p sibei jialat...

All the u jobs go to ah neh...
Now sinkie cannot find jobs..
So chut all this pattern..

U no need to go U to succeed in life...
Go become hawker
Go become carpenter...

That y I never vote for P8p in my life
Yah, the hawker initiative a few years back also a con job one.

How many young hawkers featured in the news at first for propaganda?

In the end many shut down because of COVID or rent costs.

My friend nearly believed in the hawker programme and wanted to switch from banking to selling Bak Chor Mee. Heng I talked him out of it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.