most valued prepaid card - Part 2

sullycoin

mum got an sms from sinktel saying nid to upgrade her 2g sim to 4g sim n it's foc.
but tis sim is only for call/sms, n it's the safest sim card for her lol, coupled with tpg senior $5 plan.

n the site here says 2g sim won't work with "newer" 4g/5g phones. is this just another ploy to get ppl to kena data charges eating away their main acc balance?
https://www.singtel.com/personal/products-services/mobile/prepaid-plans/goodbye2g
You can disable data on the account first (using the USSD codes above), then swap over to the new SIM card.

suuhhc

yap alr in mum's 4g phone for few years, working fine oso, no prob call/sms. just weird tat they send sms to upgrade to 4g sim, scaremongering elderly to swap 4g sim?

yeap, tat's wat i did for dad's 4g sim after few costly lessons.
well, i'll stick with mum's 2g sim as of now. dun believe it'd suddenly dun work on "newer" 4g/5g phones.
Got the same sms & changed to new 4G sim card. The old 2G sim can still support 3G so supported on newer 4G/5G phone, no problem calling/sms but slow if surf net (3G speed only). I read that Singapore will shut down 3G in near future so better take this chance to change 4G sim card for free, if not I think will cost $38 to change new sim if I remember correctly. The Singtel staff even ask me to show him the sms before proceed to change.

I've set mobile network to 2G/3G & disabled mobile data, so far so good no more mystery $ deducted for a month.

bladez87

My prepaid sim expiry got extended 6mth foc... From Mar expiry become aug

Kiwi8

Got the same sms & changed to new 4G sim card. The old 2G sim can still support 3G so supported on newer 4G/5G phone, no problem calling/sms but slow if surf net (3G speed only). I read that Singapore will shut down 3G in near future so better take this chance to change 4G sim card for free, if not I think will cost $38 to change new sim if I remember correctly. The Singtel staff even ask me to show him the sms before proceed to change.

I've set mobile network to 2G/3G & disabled mobile data, so far so good no more mystery $ deducted for a month.
I dun think Singapore will close 3G any time soon. They can't even get volte to work across all phones yet. Only after doing so then can they close the 3G spectrum.

keenklee

I dun think Singapore will close 3G any time soon. They can't even get volte to work across all phones yet. Only after doing so then can they close the 3G spectrum.
IMHO.
No issue for telco as they can just stop the service. They did it for pager and dialup before.

Kiwi8

IMHO.
No issue for telco as they can just stop the service. They did it for pager and dialup before.
Only IMDA can decide when to let the telcos stop 3G services. As long as volte isn't universally implemented yet it is very unlikely that they will allow the telcos to stop 3G.

keenklee

Only IMDA can decide when to let the telcos stop 3G services. As long as volte isn't universally implemented yet it is very unlikely that they will allow the telcos to stop 3G.
IMHO.
The 3G spectrum have expired or are expiring.

suuhhc

It is just a matter of time... I think there is a reason for Singtel to conduct this mass exchange program (probably got news from IMDA) therefore for those who are still holding the old 2G/3G sim better take this chance to exchange free 4G sim.

keenklee

suuhhc

keenklee

I hope & think *100# should remain. Some elderly like my mum is still using the button phone which can't install app. It will also serve as a backup should the app failed to work, at least user still can check balance, extend expiry etc using *100#.
IMHO.
Hope so. *100# is 3G. Heya.SG use *119#. Now they have an app which provides those functions.

Anyway, there are signs... the *100# method to disable internet for Singtel Hicard, gave an error msg.

bladez87

My mum hicard got it in the past too, for a few times already. Don't know is it randomly or need some requirement.
i experienced extension for 1 month.
first time extend like 6 months...

really_noob

The StarHub prepaid $3 for 1GB 1 day promo has ended? Don't see it on the app anymore, only have $5 1GB 3 days.

Power Is Scarce

Now Singtel, Starhub and M1 deregister Sim card must physically go down or not ah? Or if I let it expire for a long period, will it auto deregister?

I check my Singtel prepaid balance become $0.00 now. They now set the main balance have expiry also, not just SIM card expiry. So sad, I'm definitely changing to Starhub or M1. Singtel minimum top up is $10 liao, somemore expiry 180 days.

silverbomb

It is just a matter of time... I think there is a reason for Singtel to conduct this mass exchange program (probably got news from IMDA) therefore for those who are still holding the old 2G/3G sim better take this chance to exchange free 4G sim.
I am aware of inside moves to close down 3G somewhere this year or by year end, it's a IMDA driven thingy not telco. whether timeline keeps to schedule is another thing.

suuhhc

Now Singtel, Starhub and M1 deregister Sim card must physically go down or not ah? Or if I let it expire for a long period, will it auto deregister?

I check my Singtel prepaid balance become $0.00 now. They now set the main balance have expiry also, not just SIM card expiry. So sad, I'm definitely changing to Starhub or M1. Singtel minimum top up is $10 liao, somemore expiry 180 days.
Don't quite understand what u mean "main balance have expiry". If sim card expired, balance will also go zero isn't it? Or you're saying previous top up balance will expire after 180 days even though u keep top up during this period?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.