[GVGT] Camcar video of Katong incident

kingboonz

I am a car owner myself and do not cycle on roads but I respect cyclists on roads, because they are vulnerable. Is my time so precious that I will put someone life in danger by overtaking them closely?

What will it take to change Singaporean drivers mindset?

wether people cycle on roads for leisure or for commute is up to them

ceecookie

Yup. Without 1.5 m safety gap, riders like this example would've been run over.

This cyclist fall because of his/her own mistake. 1.5 meter gap may not prevent the cyclist from being run over in all cases.

If car really run the cyclist over because unable to react in time, would not be driver's fault since cyclist fall due to other reasons

jumpthepig

doesn't mean we can't change our behaviors to respect cyclists as drivers in large shielded cars right?

how many seconds of your life do you lose? 5? if you close edmw already save more time then driving behind a cyclist
Sinkies Driver... Most are super impatient...They don't even like to give way other cars....Cyclist? 😂

Think it is better to wait till all drivers change their behaviours first...maybe many many years..... For cyclist safety...

rjgiggs

I am a car owner myself and do not cycle on roads but I respect cyclists on roads, because they are vulnerable. Is my time so precious that I will put someone life in danger by overtaking them closely?

What will it take to change Singaporean drivers mindset?

wether people cycle on roads for leisure or for commute is up to them
what are your views on cyclists on pavements?

R6exR6

Sinkies Driver... Most are super impatient...They don't even like to give way other cars....Cyclist? 😂

Think it is better to wait till all drivers change their behaviours first...maybe many many years..... For cyclist safety...
SG too high stress and too resource-limited, so impatience will only get worse! 😪

kingboonz

This cyclist fall because of his/her own mistake. 1.5 meter gap may not prevent the cyclist from being run over in all cases.

If car really run the cyclist over because unable to react in time, would not be driver's fault since cyclist fall due to other reasons

whether it is the cyclist mistake or not, is taking someone's life because laziness to maintain 1.5m acceptable?

Courage

code of conduct or not, it doesn't kill anyone to drive behind a cyclist for just 10-15 seconds right? idk why Singaporeans normalize terrorizing cyclists on the roads.
I don't have 10s to spare for cyclist. I don't care. My time is more important

begintoend

Yup. Without 1.5 m safety gap, riders like this example would've been run over.

I tell you
the only example this video show is

Driver is alert
Driver is skillful
Cyclist is careless
Cyclist is lucky to only suffer abrasions and bruises

Zero, nought on 1.5m

R6exR6

I think driver not supposed to overtake at the zebra crossing (aka the bend)?
that's why the cyclist was so triggered.

but I also don't know can overtake or not cause I don't drive
Seems like the overtaking was already completed before the zebra crossing, so IMO, it's the <1.5 m close-pass within the same lane that triggered her.

rachdanon

I think driver not supposed to overtake at the zebra crossing (aka the bend)?
that's why the cyclist was so triggered.

but I also don't know can overtake or not cause I don't drive
Ah ...just saw the video again. Yah the slip road to East Coast Road is single lane. One can argue that the car should slow down follow behind the cyclist.....

rjgiggs

it is a situation caused by car brains making roads impossible to cycle on
You said.. "Is my time so precious that I will put someone life in danger by overtaking them closely?"

then why i always kena cyclists who ring their bell non stop on pavements that clearly have no space? one side is railing one side is road. then the cyclist expect me to stand on the road for them to save 10 seconds? fair meh?

Guojing88

If she was also going left I don’t se why she kicked a fuss. The driver left enough space for her

from the cyclist's perspective, she feels that the driver should have formed up behind her and not turn left by cutting in front of her bike.

I personally think the mistake the cyclist made was to stick too close to the left, she should take center to discourage such drivers

kingboonz

Ah ...just saw the video again. Yah the slip road to East Coast Road is single lane. One can argue that the car should slow down follow behind the cyclist.....
I agree. As car drivers in a shielded metal case, our car brain always takes over because of our raw speed and power.

i have been very mindful of that mentality. when in doubt, just be more patient and give more distance

KnyghtRyder

This situation quite good already. I've had drivers purposely accelerate to cut in front of me to go into petrol station even when I'm cycling past the entrance.

Maybe I cycle fast and drivers misjudge, but they should realise that bicycles have quite a long stopping distance for their small size.

R6exR6

I tell you
the only example this video show is

Driver is alert
Driver is skillful
Cyclist is careless
Cyclist is lucky to only suffer abrasions and bruises

Zero, nought on 1.5m
Of course drivers are more skillful in general, coz all trained and licensed.
We can't expect cyclists to be as skillful, coz LTA allows Toms, Dicks & Harrys (& even Karens) of even spastic ability to ride on road. Thus, we must expect drivers to give more space to unbalanced cyclists on road.

kingboonz

from the cyclist's perspective, she feels that the driver should have formed up behind her and not turn left by cutting in front of her bike.

I personally think the mistake the cyclist made was to stick too close to the left, she should take center to discourage such drivers

yup definitely what she should have done

eAtNeAt

What if cyclists cycle within 1.5m of car. Who is at fault.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.