Johor Bahru - share is caring - Part 2

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

finale1

Omg i heard about Tian Lai from Hai Kee head chef (ownder) also.
Hai Kee chef the young man told me Tian Lai and Chua Kee famous in JB.

Never get to try Tian Lai as its too far.

My friends who drive swear by Chua Kee.
Everytime eat Tze Char will drive there despite hotel at JB Customs area. :cool:

finale1

Sorry towkay I am no sexpert.

There is a coffee roaster that I always wanted to try but my day trips always too rushed to visit.

August Drip Coffee - 八月咖啡工作室
Bro you tried Vietnamese coffee in Hcmc/Hanoi before?
Very strong very gao
Shiok shiok

If anyone need a food guide for HCMC city center, let me know ya

RyanJ

Bro you tried Vietnamese coffee in Hcmc/Hanoi before?
Very strong very gao
Shiok shiok

If anyone need a food guide for HCMC city center, let me know ya

Thanks bro .

Last time go Vietnam sure will try their pho and coffee . Their drip is nice, condense milk is solid dunno what brand they use.

Their drip style is pretty distinctive from our Sg nanyang style kopi

finale1

Thanks bro .

Last time go Vietnam sure will try their pho and coffee . Their drip is nice, condense milk is solid dunno what brand they use.

Their drip style is pretty distinctive from our Sg nanyang style kopi
Drip kind can either use condensed milk (default but diabetic) or i usually ask to change to fresh milk (less diabetic).

In HCMC district 1, there is a very legit coffeeplace where the rich locals go to. Its called Cafe Vy, near new world hotel. Its my go to every morning i am there. Cheapest ice milk coffee start from 48k VND (2.8sgd)

oceanicmanta

BITES app... i been pondering for the longest time. Not sure hows the quality of their coffee.

they have proper coffee machine and take time to prepare

but lack consistency

i drink black coffee. 1st time it was gao & creamy

2nd time, a bit diluted and very very hot

3rd time I told them less water

quite a big cup

next time i will try their espresso

barista + cashier for bread OMO, have to wait ... I notice local customers r usually patient

Andrew833

Drip kind can either use condensed milk (default but diabetic) or i usually ask to change to fresh milk (less diabetic).

In HCMC district 1, there is a very legit coffeeplace where the rich locals go to. Its called Cafe Vy, near new world hotel. Its my go to every morning i am there. Cheapest ice milk coffee start from 48k VND (2.8sgd)
I ask for 2 glass of ice, cos too sweet already. Once enough.

Btw guys, only about JB :ROFLMAO:

SantyBalls

The other day at Toppen.
Just outside the carpark enclosed area.

53179697833_00ac7c8a1b_b.jpg

Kampung durians cheap cheap but dunno quality.

Their MSW was about 50 ringgit a kg.

I didn try.
Kampung durian also 3.67sgd each.

Many places in sg also selling 2/3sgd each.

But not sure if same size tho

Mistranslated

Anybody frequent JB and stay Sat/Sun? Ever thought of renting a unit to stay long term? Is it viable?

Andrew833

Anybody frequent JB and stay Sat/Sun? Ever thought of renting a unit to stay long term? Is it viable?
I did quite often, went in Sat afternoon, return on Sun late afternoon.
Renting a place for long term or 1 year, is different thing. Got more things to consider.

finale1

I did quite often, went in Sat afternoon, return on Sun late afternoon.
Renting a place for long term or 1 year, is different thing. Got more things to consider.
Any cheap and good hotel to stay?

Have you used Agoda to get last minute yum discounts on JB hotels?

Andrew833

Any cheap and good hotel to stay?

Have you used Agoda to get last minute yum discounts on JB hotels?
Pre-covid, I stay in Avantgarde Hotel, cheap, stop once they give me room next to the lift. Can hear people talking while waiting, whole night cannot sleep.
Pre-covid and "Post covid" I stay in Austin Park Hotel, the best hotel I have stay.
Recently trying airbnb.

I didn't book last minute, cos mostly no room or price surge for hotel.

finale1

Pre-covid, I stay in Avantgarde Hotel, cheap, stop once they give me room next to the lift. Can hear people talking while waiting, whole night cannot sleep.
Pre-covid and "Post covid" I stay in Austin Park Hotel, the best hotel I have stay.
Recently trying airbnb.

I didn't book last minute, cos mostly no room or price surge for hotel.
Oh you like Sutera and Austin area...
quite far to go there leh

I heard Agoda sometimes last minute got very good hotel deals since they hold inventory.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.