why many sinkies ego so big

amransan

my current manager is younger than me. i have no issues. i have no plans to manage people anyway
my last company in singapore bro my manager also way younger then me and i have the most respect for her she very kind and professional. she is one in a million bro!

till today i still respect her bro

ninjaghost

it is not about age but competency.
For my experience, people don really mind under someone who younger than them. If you're the one only kw talk c0ck sing song and don really protect your subordinate for their right, no one will listen to you regardless young or old one.

moonlighter_sg

U hear it all the time. Young ppl climb fast. Young ppl job hop a lot. Put these two together only one result. Some young managers talk a lot, full of shiat, ego super big, but technical know how limited, cannot inspire, cannot lead. Senior folks see them no up they say old ppl ego big cannot stand the awesomeness of young upshots. Truth is no matter how high yr corporate rank, xp still counts a lot at work.

My amdk colleague has lots of experience in the field. He can be considered a guru in my technical line. For the past one year, we all report to a young jhk manager who has zero experience in our field. It is most likely due to his big ego, he decided to go for his early retirement. AMDK ego even bigger than sinkies. I humbly continue my work just to pay off HDB loans. 60 years old report to a 30 yr old manager... not easy to stomach the awkward feelings.

starry_starry_night

cannot stand reporting to manager that is younger than them. different people got different trajectory what. cannot face the fact that your pace is just slower than them? or bluntly say u not eh kan as them?
Learning well from the top mah, you think those at the top ego small enough to listen to people below?

jumpthepig

Nothing to be shameful or big ego. If one is working as technical position, sure will report to some commercial heads who are younger. Not happy then quickly switch field when you are young.

Must respect all in workplace… low or high rank… Young or Old….. must value each participant of the work process and individual contribution make. Only healthy work environment unites people with different backgrounds and life experiences, and the respect for each other helps them overcome differences and interact smoothly….company will be successful.

jumpthepig

the answer bro is very simple majority of Singaporean are toxic they have huge ego and self entitlement and look down on others that is why they pawn each other to feel superior.

hard truths… plus Sinkies are super impatient people…

Joseph12

My amdk colleague has lots of experience in the field. He can be considered a guru in my technical line. For the past one year, we all report to a young jhk manager who has zero experience in our field. It is most likely due to his big ego, he decided to go for his early retirement. AMDK ego even bigger than sinkies. I humbly continue my work just to pay off HDB loans. 60 years old report to a 30 yr old manager... not easy to stomach the awkward feelings.
White probably told manager this this this is wrong & manager didn’t care

begintoend

Same same
Many younglings also bway tahan report to bosses above 45 or 50yrs old.
I know cos I was young once. :s13:

moonlighter_sg

White probably told manager this this this is wrong & manager didn’t care

Difference in culture. White is always very nice and graceful. He never openly criticise the young manager. Young asian manager always play Taiji and never admit he made mistakes. All problems not his problems, technical arrows to AMDK, commercial issues arrow to sales team. His Taiji skill is unparalleled.

Prof. Utonium

It's about eh kan or buay kan.

You spent 20 years doing routine tasks how is that 20 YOE lol.

A manager or leader is not about knowing the technical details; but guiding, leading, inspiring and orchestrating a group of people to achieve a common objective.

There are older managers whom knows nut about technical and even more uninspiring than watching a paint dry.

LingTan98

cannot stand reporting to manager that is younger than them. different people got different trajectory what. cannot face the fact that your pace is just slower than them? or bluntly say u not eh kan as them?
I am still facing the same situation after more than 3 years into the job, even though it is much better than how it was when I first started. From what I understand from some of the senior employees who have accepted me, their perception of competency is often tied to number of years of experience and how long one has been in the specific role. However, I have explained that businesses in this day and age requires managers who are not only strong contributors, but also individuals who can understand the bigger picture and ecosystem to be able to improve and streamline work processes, and find synergies between departments and subsidiary companies. I have team members who are 20 years my senior.

Unic0rn

i have no ego at work i am just a dog everything my big boss says the bosses (management) agrees with big boss (CE) and that’s it

zohn1999

No leh. My manager younger than me

ramlee

Difference in culture. White is always very nice and graceful. He never openly criticise the young manager. Young asian manager always play Taiji and never admit he made mistakes. All problems not his problems, technical arrows to AMDK, commercial issues arrow to sales team. His Taiji skill is unparalleled.
He got arrow to you ma? :(

randomph

I flinched when recruiter ask me to join this company reporting to a person that I knew was my junior. But I didn’t dismiss him based on that sole reason.

Later on, that junior somehow become my direct report. Balance is restored… for a moment.

But yes come a time I dun mind reporting to someone younger. As long as the person is respectable enough. Age just a number.

ramlee

U hear it all the time. Young ppl climb fast. Young ppl job hop a lot. Put these two together only one result. Some young managers talk a lot, full of shiat, ego super big, but technical know how limited, cannot inspire, cannot lead. Senior folks see them no up they say old ppl ego big cannot stand the awesomeness of young upshots. Truth is no matter how high yr corporate rank, xp still counts a lot at work.
Ok boomer :(

zoossh

Other nationalities also same. Maybe you will know when u know more people

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.