Nowadays marry more and more expensive... :(

dambio

Even for a basic hotel and restaurant type, min is around $160 including gst and service tax. Not even talking about the Pan Pacific, Fullerton type.

Sibei jialat... Want to hold a happy occasion also so expensive... How sia...
Just go honeymoon wedding lor

mp4005 help

Even for a basic hotel and restaurant type, min is around $160 including gst and service tax. Not even talking about the Pan Pacific, Fullerton type.

no one force you to have the dinner. it is a choice.
or do those void deck buffet type.

can just sign the paper. don't need much money.

you want face value - then own self spend .

since when wedding dinner government force you to do.

8zaoyu

Just go honey moon loh. Those wedding banquets are just for show.. go rom sign paper doest cost much what.
ya wedding banquets are very expensive and nothing much to eat one,
limit yourselves to one wedding showoff per family is enough if you have multiple children, the same village come what, nowadays with such high costs, the same village cannot afford also, can always invite them over CNY family gatherings, own self cook, sometimes folks cook better than restaurants!

Calis_Yoda

Not expernsive lah. Official marriage is only the vowing and signing paper part.

If you want to invite family and friends to a meal or gathering, can hold it at home and order a catered buffet according to your budget.

If you want home-cooked dishes, there are home-based businesses that offer home-cooked dishes. Can order from them, or if you know some elderly or mid-aged people who can cook well, can ask them to cook for the day for a certain $.

Swordsman

ya wedding banquets are very expensive and nothing much to eat one,
limit yourselves to one wedding showoff per family is enough if you have multiple children, the same village come what, nowadays with such high costs, the same village cannot afford also, can always invite them over CNY family gatherings, own self cook, sometimes folks cook better than restaurants!
Expensive. Food so so and portion pathetic. I really hate those 10 course Chinese meals.

ouroboroso

Unless your parents/parents-in-law are particular about such a traditional practice, these costs are, IMHO, non-essential.

The happy occasion can be celebrated in many other less costly ways.

zueinder

That's why even though I no chance merry I also tell my mother don't expect banquet unless they want to pay. Bloody no money survive already still want spend $20-30k on a gamble. Bo liao.

WhiteColorBox

Almost every normal wedding banquet I heard of are making money, or just lose a bit due to other expenses. If you have good social status and had your wedding dinner in atas hotel, most likely the guests are more generous as well, it is logical. Unless all the angpao collected during the wedding dinner are given to the parents, then I got nothing to say, ownself seek trouble no one can fix.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.