30s-50s chitchat club

flowerpalms

my own opinion is that many new home owners rush into reno only to regret things after months or years of staying. be it placement of appliances, switches and powerpoints or pieces of furniture both built in and freestanding.

i feel its best to do basic work to make it liveable then stay for a year or two before doing a proper reno.
That's why have to keep it simple. Muji minimalism. Actually I dun have many things also. Get the essentials first that allow for fast move in.

Milo-Dino

my own opinion is that many new home owners rush into reno only to regret things after months or years of staying. be it placement of appliances, switches and powerpoints or pieces of furniture both built in and freestanding.

i feel its best to do basic work to make it liveable then stay for a year or two before doing a proper reno.
Aiya. Just don't do alot of built in will solve this issue.

If furnitures are standalone, can always move around or sell, much easier.

Dusky01

Imho any owner who don’t rush reno also will regret after a few years 😝

Lss

That's why have to keep it simple. Muji minimalism. Actually I dun have many things also.
think we repeatedly mentioned muji style reno is expensive because of the materials used and the higher requirements on details. :(

SongManKranji

my present place too many built in wardrobes. When u wan do major reno sibei jiat lat. Hacking cost alot. I told empress buy those ready made. Can change every Yr if buay song. But w built in means need to hack ah.

Life is v short. Ai song song kao tuas & Changi.

pepsitwist

Once stay inside will be hard to do any major reno la

Lss

Imho any owner who don’t rush reno also will regret after a few years 😝
cost go up but you feel happier leh. i see before stupid things like nice built in but spoilt look because need to use multiplug then the concealment cover cannot close so left open. etc etc etc

Milo-Dino

I'm afraid of the shifting goalposts. Like if hit FRS already, 55 start to get monthly payouts, how many years I need to live then Wuhua? At the same time, if 55 still working, means still contributing to CPF.

Don't talk about leaving to the next generation. It's about can I withdraw finish my own CPF $ before I uplorry.
I thought retirement age can draw out bulk of cash and leave some for cpf life? That way wouldnt think of wuhua or not.

Lss

Once stay inside will be hard to do any major reno la
thats true also. my main point is against those super duper expensive reno. ex and regret even worse.

you have anything you did for your new place that you regret?

pepsitwist

think we repeatedly mentioned muji style reno is expensive because of the materials used and the higher requirements on details. :(

What kind of material? And what details? Isn't it mostly white/browns?

Velton

balance between enough to last a lifetime (but cpf life sorts of covers it already) and expected lifestyle. would you upsize your lifestyle if you had foresight that you would have balance at the end of your life or remain status quo? if its the latter then it wouldn't matter wuhua or boh hua.
Maybe expected lifestyle more important for me. Prepared to downsize my house if needed.

Velton

I thought retirement age can draw out bulk of cash and leave some for cpf life? That way wouldnt think of wuhua or not.
I think you are right..

Can you withdraw your savings at age 55?​

For those born in 1958 or after, you can also withdraw up to $5,000 unconditionally from age 55. Once you have set aside your FRS, you can also withdraw any remaining OA and SA savings. Property owners in Singapore with a remaining lease that lasts you up to at least age 95 can also withdraw their Retirement Account (RA) savings above their Basic Retirement Sum (BRS).

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.