how come some ppl can get 100 to 200k per yr of dividends?

homer123

i sometimes see finance bloggers/youtubers say they last year get 100 to 200k of dividends

the typical sg stock div yield about 3-5%, means they have a few million in sg dividend stocks???

i tot sg dividend stocks low capital gain, how they accumulate so much?
I am one of those bloggers.. To be honest, it took me 30 years to achieve 6 figures annual and average monthly 5 figures dividend income. I am not someone with inheritance or high paying job (still a chao engineer) . If you are an average peasant like me, you can only work hard, save more and let investment compound...Eventually, you will reach 100-200k

mgx-alander

I am one of those bloggers.. To be honest, it took me 30 years to achieve 6 figures annual and average monthly 5 figures dividend income. I am not someone with inheritance or high paying job (still a chao engineer) . If you are a average pleasant like me, you can only work hard, save more and let investment compound...Eventually, you will reach 100-200k

Work 30yrs already can see cpf :frown:

wickedpuppy

He everyday eat at high end restaurant of cos not enough la
He doesn't actually... he eats with us in poly canteen and doesn't look rich until you gets close to him ...

For example , he always complained the orders from US / Japan are always late ...

Nice guy ... doesn't show off .. but all he talked about were orders and shipping and all ... never about loans or fees ..

Again, it was early 2000s... so to order online then you will need a CC and it wasn't so easy to get a CC like now.. and no debit card then I think ... not sure.

Warocks

My friend getting 40k-60k per month dividend. He is born rich at the first place, his parents got 100m, and given him 10m

put 10m to

https://markets.ft.com/data/funds/tearsheet/historical?s=LU0943347566:SGD

Moomoo or poems got this fund

the above, and every month withdraw the dividend.

Don’t compare ba, health + enough money to use can Liao

not financial advice, I only saying how my friend do it.

the top tier ppl not in YouTube or bloggers. My friend uncle got more than 100m+.

for me he is already god tier, he retire on 30. His parents 100m if put in the fund can get 400k-600k per month.

his family got multiple properties from sentosa to japan. Almost every country got property and all rent out using Airbnb.

bukit timah they also got a few properties there.

Life is unfair. He got all those without working hard

pmetpmet

i sometimes see finance bloggers/youtubers say they last year get 100 to 200k of dividends

the typical sg stock div yield about 3-5%, means they have a few million in sg dividend stocks???

SG stocks 7-9% dividend yield is not far fetched, even if you buy now. DBS for example already close to 6% even at such elevated level. Imagine you bought during the pandemic, easily 10% dividend steady steady pom bip bip :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

EDMW BBFAs as usual badmouth and belittle SG market while worshipping AMDK overlord casino :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

Rathcycle

SG bank stocks which are considered blue chips are all about 6%(DBS is 7% in year 2023), you might be missing out if you do not invest.
no bluff you > https://www.dividends.sg/view/D05

Prime 13

If broggers said they earns $3k monthly passive income, chiu think they still can be financial brogger?
Lolz.
Donch believe anything chiu see on the internets.

Joseph12

He doesn't actually... he eats with us in poly canteen and doesn't look rich until you gets close to him ...

For example , he always complained the orders from US / Japan are always late ...

Nice guy ... doesn't show off .. but all he talked about were orders and shipping and all ... never about loans or fees ..

Again, it was early 2000s... so to order online then you will need a CC and it wasn't so easy to get a CC like now.. and no debit card then I think ... not sure.
Back in those days and even now, during primary school days they were already filthy rich

During secondary school , whatever kids fancy whether It's comics or shoes or branded clothes or Pokémon cards, can literally buy hundreds of dollars to thousands in one go and give to "friends"

Once I saw one from.not a good school in uniform surrounded by similar dorks buying like hundreds or thousand dollars of goods on the spot.
Ya. Back in the day that's people's salary he blows in one trip
Secondary school only

The sales girl at cashier whom I know & I guess many dorks here will know if I say who, was totally green in face and she's not like country bumpkin who.never seen things before

And recently I saw this parents bringing their gigantic secondary school kid buying whatever he wants in store
I asked the retail assistant and he said they do it all the time
And these are considered SMALL FRY to what I mentioned above

Sforthought

U might as well say "I come forum everyone earning almost 20k per month, wonder how they do it "

Golden rule : Anyone makes an effort to do a write up, edit videos to talk about how much money they have made = trying to milk u.

XcoVar

I knew someone who owns at least 10 supercars such as McLaren, Ferrari, Lambo, Pagani etc. They dun really talk about cars but watches that cost several millions a piece.

100 - 200K dividends is only chump change to some.

maxsee039

Talk is cheap, you can say anything you want on the internet. Only dumb people buy into what others say online. :rolleyes:

cokezero

Don't "red eye" on the dividends.
They might have lost out on few millions capital gains which they didnt tell you.

ckt1978

sg also got a lot of dividends from sti holdings.
but the stock prices of SIA etc also drop alot. haa. and what ppl dun tell u is that some coy issue more shares to ensure ur portfolio gets diluted forcing u to subscribe to those rights issue.

check what those reits coy did in 2009-2010 period.

Warocks

Don't "red eye" on the dividends.
They might have lost out on few millions capital gains which they didnt tell you.
Yes correct, my friend is negative 3m now but getting dividend every month

The key is to build enough dividend to sustain your monthly expenses. This way you are retired.

just let your capital move up and down. Take the dividend and live your life

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.