Age 50, what is a respectable income and net assets

MoeLanYong

Yowe55 mini

Dear Top 1%,

Could you all please help providing guidance and support me gaining employment?

Confidence for the future. More good years ahead...
Thank you.

1982-1994

Earns at most $4500 at 50yo doing 8h job including 1.5h break time, off 6 days a month

Net assets $300k

souldude

most here think no $10M no talk.

most here will also pin their hopes on toto to reach that target.

cyke69sg

I am aged 50+.

Let me tell you a secret. After 40s, your income starts to drop. Because employers see you like see ghost. Avoid you. Sometimes even make cross sign at you to ward off evil spirits. You can find all these data in any respectable salary survey.
Hey bro

You said after 40s income starts to drop. I think you meant after maybe age 45 lah....

11322_incomedisparity_seedly.jpg

My eyes something wrong? Looks like from 35-39 to 40-44 is still a jump leh.

More accurate to say after age 45. And into 50s.

Yes I am younger than you. :ROFLMAO:

MoeLanYong

Since I am 50+ and around the age, let me tell you what is a good estimate, and a respectable net worth. Don't anyhow cannon fairy.

This person should have a 5 room hdb fully paid up by then. Not necessarily at prime location. So its about $700k. The whole Singapore don't live inside Bishan.

He would have brought up 2 kids. Close to uni age. Because this is where my kids are at now.

If he and his wife each can achieve FRS, this will be a good achievement. Because someone need to give up his/her career to bring the kids up.

Home: $700k
FRS x2: $400k
Some savings: $50k

$1.15m between him and his wife. This a respectable sum.

They can retire at 65 with dignity and not depend on their kids for allowance (like many kids here have reported giving to their parents)

MoeLanYong

Hey bro

You said after 40s income starts to drop. I think you meant after maybe age 45 lah....

11322_incomedisparity_seedly.jpg

My eyes something wrong? Looks like from 35-39 to 40-44 is still a jump leh.

More accurate to say after age 45. And into 50s.

Yes I am younger than you. :ROFLMAO:

See the yellow box. Median. 40s drop

cyke69sg

Since I am 50+ and around the age, let me tell you what is a good estimate, and a respectable net worth. Don't anyhow cannon fairy.

This person should have a 5 room hdb fully paid up by then. Not necessarily at prime location. So its about $700k. The whole Singapore don't live inside Bishan.

He would have brought up 2 kids. Close to uni age. Because this is where my kids are at now.

If he and his wife each can achieve FRS, this will be a good achievement. Because someone need to give up his/her career to bring the kids up.

They can retire at 65 with dignity and not depend on their kids for allowance (like many kids have reported giving to their parents)

I don't know why Singaporeans like to have such discussions and thoughts. But I do agree with your assessment above.

In reality, people just live. They make decisions. They work. They choose to retire. They do some work that makes money. They donate. They volunteer. They travel. They get sick. They recover. They help their kids. They dont bother about their kids.

There is NO STANDARD.

There are also high earner who spend lots and don't have any savings cannot retire but live a damn good life while making their income. Would anyone prefer to be that person? Can travel lots. Business first class flights. But his bank account might be smaller.

There are also rich people who live like paupers. Stingy. Scrimp. Everyday eat $3 cai png. But got $10m in assets.

Let be lah.

gnoes85

Fully paid house any car, with kids is more respectable.
At 55yo can just withdraw excess from cpf and treat the funds as retirement more than enough.

chuah23

They can retire at 65 with dignity and not depend on their kids for allowance (like many kids here have reported giving to their parents
this look correct

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.