Iconic Hobby Store, Stargek Tamiya, Closes Down In Singapore, Marks End Of An Era

pwongkk

After covid, they don't stock up much paints.

Heard is scdf regulations need permit to store.

tarui04

Need scdf permit to store rc cars too? :crazy:?

Just kidding. Their rc car stocks dwindling since months ago

pwongkk

Need scdf permit to store rc cars too? :crazy:?

Just kidding. Their rc car stocks dwindling since months ago
Maybe the right one is need COE to buy the rc cars.

Have not been there for a long time. Prices not cheap.

andyhtc

the hottest thing 20 years back

The peak was around 30 years ago.

There were many HDB shops and shopping malls selling Tamiya too back then.

Prices have gone up a lot since 20 years ago so I guess this distributor jacked up the prices.

anchoraz

Mayb rental too ex. Cannot cover.

Gd memories. Been there a few times and bought some parts.

RedOrion

Think after they changed name...its downhill liao.
Only been there once over decades... dont stay near ... hard to get to bird no lay egg venue.

Nuvole

Since covid no more new stock of paint.
Moi went there many times, all old stock:cry:

Now where to buy tamiya spray paint?

Conway

not surprised imo

they sell older stuff. and not say very cheap also

Ethan_

everyday when going to work I will pass by the store along my bus journey.

Alway wanted to alight and take a look inside but have to rush to work.

Now is gone soon........
The other day saw still got people inside shopping. Surprised now suddenly announced closed.

cavver777

articland05

went with my niece few years back to intro him what I use to play. Then we fix up one on the spot and put on the track, suddenly all the regulars look at me like I'm not welcomed lol.

knn I almost reviewed when I play Tamiya in yaohan inkidz maybe they not born yet

cos the car zipping on track jin noisy

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.