Mr Li 67yo: For $5,800 a month, I get a single occupancy suite with a private bathroom.

Babel fish

This guy is just spending money which he has never earned before. He's lucky he is the last man standing from his family.

coyote

u keep all your cash in biscuit tin???
all online lah

by the time u cant even move much, than find a nursing home lah
this farkker idle from 30 till now lol wasted his whole f life.

It's not about how or where he stashed his money.

Caretakers only see who's paying them their salary. The man in the article looks still mentally alert and conversant. Once he lost more of his abilities, the caretakers will bochup him and only care if they got paid.

If you do not have even a family member who will visit you at the facility from time to time, the caretakers will have no fear to bully the resident.

Better to still have a family. Even one that will visit you once in few months. The caretakers will be weary if the the family members complain.

N4E.SI

$5800. He jin rich. Without working who can afford even half of that sum

Even those working all their lives might not be able to afford. Not to mention he "retire" since early 30s lol

Many ppl work hard all their lives, old already also stay those cheap old folk homes :frown:

airman88

siao $5800
i go 3rd world countries & find xmm look after me better
SGD5,800 = RM20,300
Can go full body massage and good food everyday until song song and still have spare cash
How come nobody advise him?

coyote

SGD5,800 = RM20,300
Can go full body massage and good food everyday until song song and still have spare cash
How come nobody advise him?

yah... when you are 78, I wonder how you song song eat good food and body massage every day?

charliebrown

at 30 tat time already retired.
so tat maisonette most probably pass down to him jas like tio lottery 750k like tat...

Visor9999

Too expensive already. Govt should give subsidies for this type of living

Tony.Manero

Even those working all their lives might not be able to afford. Not to mention he "retire" since early 30s lol

Many ppl work hard all their lives, old already also stay those cheap old folk homes :frown:
If cpf life reached frs may be able to afford half of that cost

Encouragesome1

Then maybe apply for financial assistance from the gahmen loh
Gov ask u to proof and get 99 papers to make sure u really dead broke
Really no other surviving family to depend on
And ask u login 9 portals to submit 99 docs
Not sure I still know how to use a keyless keyboard by then

jimmy

I don’t understand why he so quick to sell his house. Probably he could rent his house since it is a EM and collect rent to pay for his stay.

Now, if the care center closes, he will be left homeless. Government will not even bother to bail him out and he needs to rent.

Taloona

Wtf i tot this kind of story is only those younger gen

Elderly also can live entire life without handling food and money
Sounds like a hikkimori. His siblings took care of all his needs, likely he also inherits all their money, hence can retire in comfort.

I actually have distant relatives in similar situation. 3 sisters and 1 brother all unmarried and lived together. Sisters were factory workers and brother was an ice cream distributor, small business. All lived in a 3 room HDB flat. One by one died. The last surviving sibling sold the flat and lived in a nursing home till her death when she was in her 70s. Her savings were only about $10k plus upon her death, given to her nephew in Malaysia. My eldest sister accompanied her for some of her medical appointments when she was still alive, and occasionally, took her out for meals.

My sisters were the ones to organise her funeral and send her off.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.