Air conditioning - Any recommendations please?? - Part 2

obichacha

I don't know if this is even possible. I like to build a study room in my living room for the kids. Living room fan coil is 24kbtu. I do not wish to redo pipe work as along the way some are concealed behind box up tiles. Since it's a new room inside the living room, the living room space would be reduced accordingly requiring less btu (I suppose?).

Can I extend the piping and wiring work from the living room fan coil to be used for the new study room so they share the same pipe/wiring back to compressor?

Is this something typically Aircon retailer/contractor will accept?

Will I still need to add a new compressor?

What's the risk of gas leak if modified system this way?

Current one is Mitsubishi heavy for 24x12x9x9. Previous AC contractor sized it well and did good piping works (no leaks, always cool for 9 years, I run 24/7)

can look for used 9k fan coil unit or use system 1 9k , use to replace from 24k to 9k it is possible to work , make sure same model

siegeQ

Hi, I'm renovating my house and looking to have 3x 9k BTU, 1x 18k BTU.

MBR - 9k (daily use - night)
Bedroom 1 - 9k (daily use - night)
Study - 9k (occasional use)
Living Room - 18k (rarely used)

My aircon ledge has space for 2 compressors, should I split into 2 Compressors or 1 would suffice?

Also when I was talking to some aircon companies, they mentioned that Starmex has shifted their manufacturing from Thailand to China, hence a possible quality dip. Does anyone here know anything about this?

pratik28

Hi guys I saw a few comments here who install aircon on a weekend.
Is it ok to install aircon on a weekend? like noise, etc

obichacha

Hi guys I saw a few comments here who install aircon on a weekend.
Is it ok to install aircon on a weekend? like noise, etc
Saturday Morning from 9am to 12pm only , able to hammer drill, afternoon onward normal installation such as trunk or pipeline no issue.
Usually will arrange Saturday and Sunday to complete system 4 or 2 system 3

The_King

My aircon ledge has space for 2 compressors, should I split into 2 Compressors or 1 would suffice?

Also when I was talking to some aircon companies, they mentioned that Starmex has shifted their manufacturing from Thailand to China, hence a possible quality dip. Does anyone here know anything about this?
depend if you can tahan the days without AC (say having issues) and what your normal temp u will set to.

siegeQ

depend if you can tahan the days without AC (say having issues) and what your normal temp u will set to.

Normal temps are usually 22-24deg (for bedtime sleep).

Without AC I suppose if 1 compressor dies, then the whole house will be without AC? I guess it makes no difference because the main use for AC is for bedtime. It's not like we can sleep in the living room and study haha.

The_King

Normal temps are usually 22-24deg (for bedtime sleep).

Without AC I suppose if 1 compressor dies, then the whole house will be without AC? I guess it makes no difference because the main use for AC is for bedtime. It's not like we can sleep in the living room and study haha.
ya, if you have 1 condensor gg, all gg. if you can tahan the heat until it fix say a few day to even 3 week then 1 condensor no issues

if you have 2 condenser, you can setup many way

condenser 1 : MBR + study room
condenser 2: bedroom 1 + living room

condenser 1: MBR + bedroom 1
condenser 2: MBR + living room

condenser 1 : MBR + bedroom 1 + study room
condenser 2: living room

condenser 1 : MBR
condenser 2: bedroom 1 + living room + study room

etc.......

do take note of the cons with 2 condenser. like higher bill, higher repair cost (depend, for me no issues me is dual system 1, so if touch wood repair cost more then $500, i just repair another brand new ac with 1 yr warranty), cleaning (if you diy clean then no issues) etc...

007Mi6

Splitting into 2 condensers only give you the flexibility to turn on all 4 FCU at the same time without suffering from lack of power.

Having a System 4 say 4H33VG allows you to use 3 x 9K or 1x 9K plus 1x 18K without suffering from performance drop.

But first, look at the FCU size needed for each area, then pair them with suitable condenser unit (s)

jikilan

Hi all, is it worth/needed to buy the extended warranty from GC? I was quoted $639 for a system 4.

The_King

Hi all, is it worth/needed to buy the extended warranty from GC? I was quoted $639 for a system 4.
for me no as mine is system 1, anything more then 500 (like pcb board is around 700 to 900. system1 12k btu is 1.4k) and say over 4yr old, replace a new one is better.

GC extended warranty stated you need service your ac by authorized company else the extended warranty void

EXCLUSIONS FROM COVERAGE​

1. Defects from using wrong electrical supply, misuse or damage due to negligence and abuse.
  2. The manufacturer’s recommended routine maintenance, inspection, cleaning, lubrication, external adjustments and any other instructions to the customer.
  3. Unauthorized modifications made to the Product; altered serial numbers; failure to follow the manufacturer’s instructions on installation, operation or maintenance; repairs performed by a non-authorized repairer; any items not affecting the product’s function.
  4. Repairs necessitated by improper maintenance, accidental, intentional physical damage, damage by sand or water.

teof

Hi guys,
I'm planning to purchase aircon for my new place. Likely from Gaincity. Very new to this. and will be grateful if could get guidance by your guy. Are there any other specific items i should ask that comes with the quote? Many thanks.

siegeQ

Splitting into 2 condensers only give you the flexibility to turn on all 4 FCU at the same time without suffering from lack of power.

Having a System 4 say 4H33VG allows you to use 3 x 9K or 1x 9K plus 1x 18K without suffering from performance drop.

But first, look at the FCU size needed for each area, then pair them with suitable condenser unit (s)

I read in previous threads that 9/9/9/18 best to have 38VG, in case you need to on all 4 at some point, or even to buffer for all 3x9K.

I was thinking of going MHI as they offer the strong power compressor at a cheaper price.

Any thoughts on them? Most reviews cover Starmex, hard to find much on MHI

ixoral

I read in previous threads that 9/9/9/18 best to have 38VG, in case you need to on all 4 at some point, or even to buffer for all 3x9K.

I was thinking of going MHI as they offer the strong power compressor at a cheaper price.

My regular aircon service uncle told me they hate servicing MHI, parts are expensive and may be hard to source. He said Starmex is really the easiest to clean, and parts easily available and affordable. I'll go with Starmex for my new home as well

007Mi6

4H38VG will not be enough to turn on all FCUs at the same time.

10/10/10/18 is total of 2.8kWx3 plus 5.0kW or 13.4kW. 4H38VG can only supply up to 11.6kW.

if you want all 4 to be turned on at full speed, get a 3H28VG (remove current limiter if your block allows more than 11A current). Add a single split 18K Starmex that can go 20K BTU. Total throughput is 8.8+6.0

jikilan

for me no as mine is system 1, anything more then 500 (like pcb board is around 700 to 900. system1 12k btu is 1.4k) and say over 4yr old, replace a new one is better.

GC extended warranty stated you need service your ac by authorized company else the extended warranty void

EXCLUSIONS FROM COVERAGE​

1. Defects from using wrong electrical supply, misuse or damage due to negligence and abuse.
  2. The manufacturer’s recommended routine maintenance, inspection, cleaning, lubrication, external adjustments and any other instructions to the customer.
  3. Unauthorized modifications made to the Product; altered serial numbers; failure to follow the manufacturer’s instructions on installation, operation or maintenance; repairs performed by a non-authorized repairer; any items not affecting the product’s function.
  4. Repairs necessitated by improper maintenance, accidental, intentional physical damage, damage by sand or water.

Noted on the unauthorized service personnel.

But noob here. Let's say I subscribed to the company doing the installation for me. Isn't paying for the extended warranty cheaper than buying a new system?

The_King

Noted on the unauthorized service personnel.

But noob here. Let's say I subscribed to the company doing the installation for me. Isn't paying for the extended warranty cheaper than buying a new system?
all ac company is heng or suay, depend 100% on the installer. GC got inhouse and subcontract installer

anyway try to go social media . search for GC and focus on ac workmanship/extended warranty, how they flip the issues to make it until not cover by workmanship warranty etc... or even flip until extended warranty not cover.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/complaintsingapore/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/SGHomeDIY/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/1644165932534557
sg reno, sg chat group from tele

for me as long as no warranty and more then $500 of total cost to fix the AC then is more worth it to change a new one

why?
cause mine system 1 and i current have 1set of system 1 at 1.4k, another system 1 will be installed in 2025 (thinking newway or amyth), my aim is 2 set of system 1.

why different date and not together the same company. my gut feeling was not to trust ac company, and to spread out the damage, if both together install, and the installer lousy, both set also gg.

back to the question extended warranty.

let say ac not cold, they say is no gas, or low gas and due to copper pipe ( let say leak is not due to the valve, fcu or compressing unit), pcb board spoil, condensation (let say due to bad installation ), compressor spoil, total cost to replace more then $500. etc.....

so it more practical for me to replace the aircon as new one with 12k btu is 1.4k (and if kena the problem as mention). if repair cost 500? 600? or 800? is not worth it to repair as usually they give only a few day or at most 1 month warranty. new one is 1 yr

it also depend on your setup like system 1, 2 , 3 or 4. but for sys 1 it a pro to have dual condenser

say extended warranty $200 + repair cost $500 = $700 and new AC is 1.4k. i just replace whole set but for system 3 or 4 cause it 3 to 4k, so it cheaper to get extend warranty or repair even if the cost 1k , as always check the repair cost vs new AC. or maybe you can try to apply HDB to install 3 condenser then get 3 system 1.

Whats-App-Image-2024-03-13-at-9-29-14-PM.jpg
3.jpg

obichacha

lol, why so hard to get new ac and proper planning?

anyway just install suitable size within your aircon ledge or old Hdb flat wall mounted.

Again the power isolator , single or double for 2 condenser or single condenser.

happy to enjoying your new ac 🤣

ixoral

Hi all, wanna seek advice from the gurus here. I’m offered 2 options by AC installer. Would like to know if going for a single condenser system 4 is really not recommended? Context: 3 bedrooms will turn on AC every night. Living area prob once a week. Thank you! 🙏🏼

Option1:
ME Sys3 (3H28): Living 24k + MBR 13K
ME Sys2 (2H20): Bedrm1 10k + Bedrm2 10K

Option2:
ME Sys4 (4H33): 24/13/10/10

The_King

Hi all, wanna seek advice from the gurus here. I’m offered 2 options by AC installer. Would like to know if going for a single condenser system 4 is really not recommended? Context: 3 bedrooms will turn on AC every night. Living area prob once a week. Thank you! 🙏🏼

Option1:
ME Sys3 (3H28): Living 24k + MBR 13K
ME Sys2 (2H20): Bedrm1 10k + Bedrm2 10K

Option2:
ME Sys4 (4H33): 13/10/10/10
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...ndations-please-part-2.5671374/post-152048167
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...ndations-please-part-2.5671374/post-152043766
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...ndations-please-part-2.5671374/post-152039875

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.