[CONSOLIDATED] Accident in Tampines: Multiple-vehicle collision at road junction, with 8 individuals sent to hospitals

soufool

This is completely wrong. The saab driver was already at 100+ km/h way before he approached this 2 merc. See the backview cam of the merc. The saab guy was probably under the influence.
This is not correct. Watch again, there is a HD version in the road telegram groups of the back of the white Mercedes dashcam. You can calculate the initial speed to be under 70km/h. The black SAAB was not going at 100+km/h- they only reached those speeds when racing side by side.

Again, not siding the SAAB, but there is evidence that the white Mercedes has a certain responsibility.

Maaasa

I want to add my analysis to this:

If you watch the video carefully of the white merc dashcam- based on lamp post calculation at the start, he is only travelling between 50-60km/h before he reach the bus stop area In the video.

The SAAB behind is overtaking other cars at most at 60-70km, not crazy fast.

If you observe further, the white merc Increased his speed (likely because he saw the SAAB snaking behind), from about 60km/h to what this post mentioned, around 85km/h. Subsequently the post's calculation is accurate- they accelerated side by side to about 100km/h before the white merc getting side swiped. The SAAB continued accelerating to about 135km/h to impact.

While the black SAABs is 100% in the wrong and in no way am I defending this shithead, it is safe to say that the white merc agitated the unnecessary speeding from the SAAB.

There is a direct cause and effect on the part of the white merc- if he did not agitate, the SAAB may not have accelerated to that speed (yes he was snaking erratically, but not at a lethal speed as seen at start of video), may not have been distracted by the tunnel vision of having to overtake the other car, and may not have crashed at a lethal speed, amongst many other whatifs.

It is however clear that if the white merc did not agitate a race, things would definitely turn out differently, lives may not need to be lost.

I really wish more commentors of this would call out the merc for his ego driving behaviour- it's like agitating a crazed person operating a dangerous weapon to use it even more dangerously. What for? While white merc may not wrong in eyes of the law, he is definitely culpable morally.
what a joke.

speed responsibly and not recklessly. respect other road users and traffic signs. simple as abc.

junlove

Don't think we need to argue whether or not the white merc is contributory to this tragedy. A lot of what ifs.
The black saab is indeed the Main culprit.

But the driving ethics of the white merc is also something we need to reflect on.

Please don't behave competitively on roads, if we are more gracious and careful, the roads will be safer for all of us, our kids...

Jirachi

This is not correct. Watch again, there is a HD version in the road telegram groups of the back of the white Mercedes dashcam. You can calculate the initial speed to be under 70km/h. The black SAAB was not going at 100+km/h- they only reached those speeds when racing side by side.

Again, not siding the SAAB, but there is evidence that the white Mercedes has a certain responsibility.
Have you seen the rear view yet?

Not sure if this will change your mind

Tormented Soul

Btw the fb post from top view shows 2 things. The top right the scdf doing CPR for the poor young girl.

Bottom left was for the other auntie from pest control van. See that the pest control van was hit on the driver side but driver only minor injuries but auntie die, one can deduce that the auntie was probably sitting behind in the van where there are no seats and no belts. She must have flung and knocked onto the walls of the vans :(

Hypernova

Yes i also think the white merc agitated the already crazed saab driver further which the sides swiping triggered saab driver to accelerate even more.. thinking the white merc wanna race..
You misunderstood me. I don't think the merc agitated the Saab.

What I meant was whether the merc speed up or not, the Saab driver might have still accelerated and cause the accident. Cos through the video he already driving way too fast. A person in control of his wheels would most likely slow down after kissing or sideswiping another vehicle and stopped at the roadside and exchanged details with the other driver for insurance claims if they are going to report it to the authorities. If not at least they would have a private settlement.

But in this case the Saab accelerated further after sideswiping the merc. This probably tells you the Saab probably has no intention of slowing down at all. The most probable outcome if there was no other vehicles on the road would be the Saab would simply chiong the red light anyway.

Jirachi

Btw the fb post from top view shows 2 things. The top right the scdf doing CPR for the poor young girl.

Bottom left was for the other auntie from pest control van. See that the pest control van was hit on the driver side but driver only minor injuries but auntie die, one can deduce that the auntie was probably sitting behind in the van where there are no seats and no belts. She must have flung and knocked onto the walls of the vans :(
Which post?

Blahhh

New video on sgrv shows the same merc rage driving against a motorcycle, earlier in the morning. Tulan Kena smoke by biker, then become double Tulan when kena by Saab. No need to defend this idiot lah.

lousydk

White merc is no saint
Confirm saw rear mirror that Saab coming in fast and want to trap him from overtaking by speeding up then maintain speed with the motorcycle
But who knows the Saab driver is a siao lang that just sideswipe him directly

nsxr99

Think the article mentions it is a 42-year driver assist police with investigation, seems like he was not seriously injuried

42 year old driver but the way he drives its like those yp or those without license ..

waiting to see what the law will give to him

begintoend

Don't think we need to argue whether or not the white merc is contributory to this tragedy. A lot of what ifs.
The black saab is indeed the Main culprit.

But the driving ethics of the white merc is also something we need to reflect on.

Please don't behave competitively on roads, if we are more gracious and careful, the roads will be safer for all of us, our kids...
calling out the ethics of driving, true... we can discuss about that.

but
ppl is seriously indicting him with irresponsibility and probably even the cause of the accident.
I mean... its just wow.

Tormented Soul

What I meant was whether the merc speed up or not, the Saab driver might have still accelerated and cause the accident. Cos through the video he already driving way too fast. A person in control of his wheels would most likely slow down after kissing or sideswiping another vehicle and stopped at the roadside and exchanged details with the other driver for insurance claims if they are going to report it to the authorities. If not at least they would have a private settlement.

But in this case the Saab accelerated further after sideswiping the merc. This probably tells you the Saab probably has no intention of slowing down at all. The most probable outcome if there was no other vehicles on the road would be the Saab would simply chiong the red light anyway.
This is correct. The saab was chionging the red light no matter what. He was not driving normally.

Tormented Soul

One last comment I would like to point out for people blaming the bike hogging the right lane is that this road is 60km/h just 2 lanes. Not expressway where there's overtaking lanes. There's no overtaking lane here. Bike is complete right to ride defensive in the middle at the correct speed and riding safely to turn right in the junction in front. Common sense.

xLupDup

I see yep makes sense

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.