Just realize even if a person earns $12k/mth.. he still cant get a decent central area HDB?

MatrixFanatic

It’s kind of ridiculous. If you go to DBS home loan calculator, at a monthly income of $12k, the max loan amount they can grant is around $637k (with property value around $850k) which looks pretty decent at first until you realize…..

With this budget, you can’t even get a resale 4rm HDB flat with a decent lease (year built >2000) in Central Area. You can only buy such flats within this budget in areas like Bukit Batok/Sumang Walk/Punggol.

But if $12k income people are being pushed to get these non-central area flats due to affordability issues, then how about those earning below that? Where does it leave them?

What about those who earn more than $7k and cannot BTO but also cannot afford resale? Sleep on the streets next time?

Time to go decathlon buy a tent.

Sure have. Just whether you want to buy or not.

pohw0008

Earn $12k should save $8k every month right.. then one year about $100k.. just wait 2 years already have $200k cash for down payment should be able to buy.. if not enough just wait 5 years.. $500k cash available..

mojojo

Earn $12k should save $8k every month right.. then one year about $100k.. just wait 2 years already have $200k cash for down payment should be able to buy.. if not enough just wait 5 years.. $500k cash available..
Yes just pay down with cash lo

Chisaigyu

Assuming your work place is not at central, what's the pros of staying in central except the bragging rights?

The only other pro I can think of is if you want to flip it in the future.

Orionz

only way to live in nice n big central flat now is inheritance lah

Slowdown

It’s kind of ridiculous. If you go to DBS home loan calculator, at a monthly income of $12k, the max loan amount they can grant is around $637k (with property value around $850k) which looks pretty decent at first until you realize…..

With this budget, you can’t even get a resale 4rm HDB flat with a decent lease (year built >2000) in Central Area. You can only buy such flats within this budget in areas like Bukit Batok/Sumang Walk/Punggol.

But if $12k income people are being pushed to get these non-central area flats due to affordability issues, then how about those earning below that? Where does it leave them?

What about those who earn more than $7k and cannot BTO but also cannot afford resale? Sleep on the streets next time?

That is household income. If both husband and wife working and only 12k a monthly, then it is true that they should consider non central area. If only one party is working and is 12K, then same outcome. They are not suitable for central area.

I don't understand why must choose central area. Unrealistic expectations when comparing with income.

HoLoGram

Why must stay central area? And why must be resale?

The point is, $12k can definitely get a home.

But why you go limit to resale central area and then declare with so broad a brush stroke that HDB not affordable?

Might as well say even $60k / month, but cannot buy GCB. So housing market sucks.

sAVaGEmP5

Ts u dreaming ? Total 12k u pick prime area for resale ? U can think n work harder n smarter a not.

?

Might as well i 30k pick gcb ?

sAVaGEmP5

ya. to the govt, they just simply look at price to income ratio. then compare to those most expensive places like Sydney, Hong Kong, London, then say SG very good liao cos it's a little little bit lower (like 10-15% more "affordable").

while conveniently leaving out the fact that other city's properties are freehold condos/apartments/houses and doesn't come with the usual public housing restrictions.
Tat argument is flawed becos u tend to lose value in the long run with FH status.

Do ur research.

MrClubbie

y u need 4rm? - JT

vee4044

I only know earned 14k also can get Cancer. Collect Rental mthly $1400/-. Living very happy. See go where to Travel. Now love China after the Zhanjiajie........Planning To Yunnan. But Body weak.... :D :ROFLMAO: :LOL: :love:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.