Choo Yi Hung, 30, has never voted for PAP, after graduating from college, he delivers food and tutors students, making about $2,400 per month

tripleme

Choo Yi Hung, 30, has never voted for Mr. Lee’s party. Two years after graduating from college with a degree in English language and linguistics, he delivers food and tutors students, making about $2,400 per month. He still lives with his parents; he would like his own apartment, but that is out of reach. He can’t buy a public housing flat from the government until he gets married or turns 35. Not that he can afford one.

Mr. Choo contrasts his predicament with that of his grandmother, who raised five children in the 1960s as an uneducated widow. Her descendants now have lifestyles that he described as “comfortably middle class,” with some owning condominiums and cars.
“I guess a lot of people will say: ‘Yeah, you grew up in a more developed country, a wealthier country,’” Mr. Choo said. “But I would argue that the opportunities for social mobility are far, far less.”

https://www.nytimes.com/2024/05/14/world/asia/singapore-lee-prime-minister-retire.html

kongguan

Choo Yi Hung, 30, has never voted for Mr. Lee’s party. Two years after graduating from college with a degree in English language and linguistics, he delivers food and tutors students, making about $2,400 per month. He still lives with his parents; he would like his own apartment, but that is out of reach. He can’t buy a public housing flat from the government until he gets married or turns 35. Not that he can afford one.

Mr. Choo contrasts his predicament with that of his grandmother, who raised five children in the 1960s as an uneducated widow. Her descendants now have lifestyles that he described as “comfortably middle class,” with some owning condominiums and cars.
“I guess a lot of people will say: ‘Yeah, you grew up in a more developed country, a wealthier country,’” Mr. Choo said. “But I would argue that the opportunities for social mobility are far, far less.”

https://www.nytimes.com/2024/05/14/world/asia/singapore-lee-prime-minister-retire.html
degree in English language and linguistics..

Wah piang.. with chatgpt who needs u?

Roundtreex

He can buy a private condo at any time. If no money then wait 35 lo or get married. You have choices and dont expect government to give you for being self-entitled. Beggar cannot be chooser.

kongguan

Even proven my guess right. Only low ses vote opposition for a dream that opposition can make them rich without working hard. Now even go McDonald’s work also at least 2.2k and this guy only get 2.4K.
Tbh alot of low SES in yishun, sembawang and woodlands are very pro PAP.

These kind of sinkies that are half F educated become low ses and will blame the gov.... seriously what is his skill set? Can speak good english? Which gen Y dont speak and write good english? Who the heck specializes in something everyone else is good at?

Emperor_Hippo

Good luck to his students.

messidona

Tbh alot of low SES in yishun, sembawang and woodlands are very pro PAP.

These kind of sinkies that are half F educated become low ses and will blame the gov.... seriously what is his skill set? Can speak good english? Which gen Y dont speak and write good english? Who the heck specializes in something everyone else is good at?
Hire amdk teach English better. Why hire sinkie?

congster2

I always find it suspect when pp say they graduate from college.

kongguan

Hire amdk teach English better. Why hire sinkie?
Dont even need.

Bet u any other sinkie gen Z JC student is on par with him or even better in english..

Study uptron has so much better prospects than this guy

recruit

Why don’t want to go work as English teacher in MOE schools? At least got iron rice bowl

zheng

see lah dun vote thunder your celery stuck at 2k.

wote for pee eh pee im sure his celery be inc to edmwer level: 20k

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.