How come Gov never issue POFMA to Sterra?

Emperor_Hippo

I can safely promise myself i will not buy a sterra or prism product in my life lol
I kinda regret a little seeing the 2x old silver X340 Prism+ Monitors I am using now.

When I look at my waifu's Alienware AW3225QF, then I realise the colour saturation is completely off.

This is probably one mistake I'll never make again.

"There's an old saying in Tennessee — I know it's in Texas, probably in Tennessee — that says, Fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice.... You fool me you can't get fooled again." - George W. Bush, circa 2012.

idolcritic

Thanks to this case can boycott this brand
so which brand to buy for water dispenser?

djkopikat

I kinda regret a little seeing the 2x old silver X340 Prism+ Monitors I am using now.

When I look at my waifu's Alienware AW3225QF, then I realise the colour saturation is completely off.

This is probably one mistake I'll never make again.

"There's an old saying in Tennessee — I know it's in Texas, probably in Tennessee — that says, Fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice.... You fool me you can't get fooled again." - George W. Bush, circa 2012.
Once bitten twice shy
Twice bitten sure die

Acetone

The customer was instead offered a S$500 discount to upgrade to a newer model.

Singapore water purifier company allegedly refused to repair machine bought 1.5 years ago​

A woman in Singapore recently took to Facebook to share her displeasure with Singapore-based water purifier company Sterra.

According to the OP, who goes by YL Tan on Facebook, she bought a Sterra S water purifier in Dec 2022 for S$1,699.

water purifier machine

Source: Facebook

The machine apparently broke down recently — it was unable to dispense water and was emitting beeping sounds and flickering lights.

water purifier machine

Ms Tan then contacted Sterra with the hope of getting the purifier repaired.

However, the company told her that the machine’s warranty period was over and that it was “unrepairable”.

Customer found it unacceptable that machine could not be repaired​

In screenshots shared by Ms Tan, a Sterra customer service officer said the parts needed to repair the machine were no longer available.

purifier-water-machine-1.jpg

Instead, Ms Tan said she was offered an upgrade to a newer model — the Sterra 7 — and with a S$500 discount.

However, Ms Tan found this unacceptable, arguing that she had bought the machine just 1.5 years ago.

She also pointed out that she might find herself in a similar situation even if she “upgraded” to the newer machine.

In response, the Sterra officer claimed that the newer model is built to be “more durable in the long run”.

This could then save Ms Tan “potential repair costs and inconvenience”.

Ms Tan, however, remained unconvinced that the company ran out of spare parts for the Sterra S.

After all, her purifier was just over a year old.

The customer service officer later shared that a repair is out of the question as the product is no longer within the warranty period.

In her Facebook post, Ms Tan claimed that other home appliance brands would carry out repairs on their products even outside of the warranty period.

She shared that Sterra should have the required parts ready. This way, customers can opt for a repair instead of splashing on a new machine.

Water purifier company says it is offering discount to upgrade as parts deplete​

In response to queries from MS News, a Sterra spokesperson shared that the Sterra S was discontinued in Nov 2023.

If a customer experiences issues while the water purifier is under warranty, the company would proceed with one of three options:

• Repair
  • One-for-one exchange for another Sterra S
  • Free upgrade to the newer Sterra 7
As for customers whose Sterra S is no longer under warranty, the company said it has been “exhausting all available spare parts” to conduct repairs.

However, as the spare parts get depleted, Sterra has transitioned from repairing the discontinued model to offering a “sizable” S$500 discount on an upgrade to the Sterra 7.

The spokesperson said the company is confident that customers would enjoy more convenience and fewer problems by upgrading to the Sterra 7.

water purifier machine

Source: Sterra

MS News has reached out to Ms Tan for comment.

Featured image adapted from Sterra and Facebook.

The reason is simple… because they don’t even know who manufactures the stuff… they simply get oem from China and slap their brand on it. 😂

Few hundred dollar stuff sell you for 1.7k.

tauntme

I feel this facebook post got the potential to destroy the company - who would buy from them if they know of this news anymore?

Seriously they should have just settled privately with her. no parts so soon after purchase is ridiculous.

Thoma5

Probably another china oem product that slap on its brand. Saw their massage chair selling for cheap cheap also compared to the usual big brand.
Yar same as my 1 which I brought it onlin… the control panel same same some more…lol

my friend not long ago aso tell me china copy sterra… he bought 1 and tell me good… :sneaky:

BuZhiDaoLeh

well this isnt surprising at all. just do a simple search on TB and u can find all these "local branded" models being sold for at least 1/5 of the price.

Alot of KGK always think higher price = better, which is what those local SME like to do - Import OEM product for $x, slap their own brand and sell locally at x5 times of the initial cost and label it as "premium", pay influencers to advertise for them and u will see alot of "high class" sinkies who tells u that they will never buy cheap China products rushing to buy them.

But end of the day, its still the same China products, LPPL. :s13:

I rather go buy directly from TaoBao, buy x2 unit to keep one as spare and still will be cheaper than buying these dumb "local" product who are just OEM slapped with their own branding.

Emperor_Hippo

I feel this facebook post got the potential to destroy the company - who would buy from them if they know of this news anymore?

Seriously they should have just settled privately with her. no parts so soon after purchase is ridiculous.
Forget it.

Once you see the company expand beyond a certain size (macam like Roche Limit), it's too late to stop them. Esp in Singapore.

See what happened to Odex (if anyone remembers)? When they chut pattern with PacNet and Singnet, their true colours already revealed liao. All the whatever "boycott" becomes useless, cos the company go past the Roche Limit liao.

Wanna stop all these consumer bullying? Very difficult. Cos it's hard to assess the company's true intent when they are first established.

Emperor_Hippo

Yar same as my 1 which I brought it onlin… the control panel same same some more…lol

my friend not long ago aso tell me china copy sterra… he bought 1 and tell me good… :sneaky:
I think you better stop toking to your friend.

Else your IQ will drop.

gregory_choo

If it’s a sg brand, it’s doing not too badly to be having a USA branch.

https://sterratech.com/

many scammer companies use the same way to lure those un initated.

the website used an usa address. it is either a mail drop address, or shared office where thousands other companies using the same address. you can google the office address from the link you gsve to confirm.

your link confirmed that this is not a good company.

clipper

It is not profitable to provide after-sale support for out-of-warranty products. You also have to pay for support staff and huge amount of money stuck in inventory for parts.

It is also not profitable to design products which are durable.

Only well established MNCs are capable of providing 6-10 years after-sale-support after the product is discontinue from market.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.