Advice for 7D Hokkaido self-drive in May

thwysg

the rooms, decor, onsen were very nice with recent reno n modern touch .. service was good ( recall got valet parking :p )

we were let down mostly by the average quality food at the buffet, breakfast n dinner

mayb we had high expectations n resulted in disappointment

at that price point, the Tsuruga group hotels in Hokkaido would seem better value
Buffet is normal. Onigiri section obaasan were very cute - they were surprised to see me grabbing kinako onigiri. They were worried that a foreigner might not like a non savory onigiri. 😆

The kaiseki meals were better.

shadow84

Dun forget about jozankei. 1day there at the sauna is good. Same for noboribetsu.

oceanicmanta

Buffet is normal. Onigiri section obaasan were very cute - they were surprised to see me grabbing kinako onigiri. They were worried that a foreigner might not like a non savory onigiri. 😆

kaiseki must top up .. boh lui liao after room charge :ROFLMAO:

twosix

if u coming from kamui i think niseko is good rest stop. if u staying a night in sapporo, u could do day trip to otaru which is more beautiful in the evening.
For now, the plan is 2n in sapporo, then 1n in otaru, then go south.

I will like to drive thru towns, visit their supermarkets or restaurants along the way. Haha.

twosix

Yah, i watched yt. Nonozake buffets look normal.

Maybe this early now to book for May, so far only hotel kanko is avail in agoda etc. Will book this first while waiting for others to open their dates.

thwysg

rrr2015

For now, the plan is 2n in sapporo, then 1n in otaru, then go south.

I will like to drive thru towns, visit their supermarkets or restaurants along the way. Haha.
u intend to drive in sapporo? 😲

i think better take subway in sapporo then train to otaru. pickup your car in otaru.

twosix

u intend to drive in sapporo? 😲

i think better take subway in sapporo then train to otaru. pickup your car in otaru.
Take trains in Sapporo, then drive to Otaru and onwards.

Now I'm thinking of renting a camper RV to drive around. Then no need to pay for expensive hotels. haha.

Screenshot-2024-07-08-150436.png

wongkc

Now I'm thinking of renting a camper RV to drive around. Then no need to pay for expensive hotels. haha.

I find Hokkaido hotels quite cheap liao... especially if you drive no need to stay near city centre or train stations...

If want that camping experience is ok... but if it is for costs savings I dun think can save much... hotels can probably find less than $150-200 a room... 2 rooms for 7pax... somemore hotels got nice beds, toilets, clean water for shower and maybe even breakfast... this RV is almost $300... and is too small for 7pax for long multiday journeys... 1-2 nights still can tahan... any longer will be a torture...

twosix

I find Hokkaido hotels quite cheap liao... especially if you drive no need to stay near city centre or train stations...

If want that camping experience is ok... but if it is for costs savings I dun think can save much... hotels can probably find less than $150-200 a room... 2 rooms for 7pax... somemore hotels got nice beds, toilets, clean water for shower and maybe even breakfast... this RV is almost $300... and is too small for 7pax for long multiday journeys... 1-2 nights still can tahan... any longer will be a torture...
Its more for the experience. Never driven or live in one before, so think it might be interesting. Still got lots of time to plan. Maybe drive a camper for 2 days to try try. Hmm...

Then also thinking of renting a big mpv like alphard since never driven one before.

wongkc

Its more for the experience. Never driven or live in one before, so think it might be interesting. Still got lots of time to plan. Maybe drive a camper for 2 days to try try. Hmm...

Then also thinking of renting a big mpv like alphard since never driven one before.

These camper might required a IDP class D... which is our class 4 license...

I find the crosswind in Hokkaido quite strong... especially on highways... drive small cars also can feel it... i think these big camper might be even more challenging...

And parking for such campers is a headache if u are in towns and cities... countryside no problems...

But for the experience... maybe would be fun for 1-2 days... do update here on the experience if u go ahead with the camper...

My last visit to Japan... we saw a huge camper exhibition near Odaiba... there got a big car park and many brands of campers/RVs were there for the exhibition... seems like camper/RV got a huge market there in Japan...

twosix

These camper might required a IDP class D... which is our class 4 license...

I find the crosswind in Hokkaido quite strong... especially on highways... drive small cars also can feel it... i think these big camper might be even more challenging...

And parking for such campers is a headache if u are in towns and cities... countryside no problems...

But for the experience... maybe would be fun for 1-2 days... do update here on the experience if u go ahead with the camper...

My last visit to Japan... we saw a huge camper exhibition near Odaiba... there got a big car park and many brands of campers/RVs were there for the exhibition... seems like camper/RV got a huge market there in Japan...
Normal car license will do. No need special license. Its more like a van, so city can park too. Dun think i want to park in some ulu park. Haha. I need to understand more on the cans and don'ts of driving a camper first.

wongkc

Normal car license will do. No need special license. Its more like a van, so city can park too. Dun think i want to park in some ulu park. Haha. I need to understand more on the cans and don'ts of driving a camper first.

The type u show is not van type... is more of a small truck/lorry/mini bus kind... but i think Japan their own standard domestic license can drive this size RV liao... no need our class 4... so maybe it applies to IDP also... but anything bigger might required one liao... do check on it...

Park in city dun have the camper feel... need to go to those RV parks then got feel...

plus it will be damn hard to find parking for such RVs... only can park in those outdoor open car parks... like that not much difference from ulu park...

Anyway... i think sinkies are not built for RV living... we too pampered liao... kids might find it fun for 1-2 days... but dun think will enjoy if it goes any longer... but this is definitely something special and unique experience...

rrr2015

since u drive should have no problem finding affordable accommodation in ulu places.

this size camperhome with bath? i think need to know where & how to dispose your waste, where to charge batteries? don't think can drive into city? haven't try yet & think don't ever want to try too :LOL:

Andrew833

since u drive should have no problem finding affordable accommodation in ulu places.

this size camperhome with bath? i think need to know where & how to dispose your waste, where to charge batteries? don't think can drive into city? haven't try yet & think don't ever want to try too :LOL:
Where got space for shower. Still need to look for rest point to shower, refill water and charge.

Andrew833

I think it's fun but with a big group with kids, hotel and airbnb still better.

oceanicmanta

Sep 2017 .. we rented this modified 660cc Every as our "camper van"

YHgu1dr.jpg

aN92XgW.jpg

where we slept ... lake shore, michi no eki car park, free camp ground, combini car park etc

xSn23QI.jpg

gjOAwrW.jpg

nmfP07W.jpg

Vts36Ta.jpg

h4xq772.jpg

oceanicmanta

hokkaido hotels are cheap

last minute bookings can be cheaper

many onsen, public baths with attached restaurants, resting areas ... the tourist infrastructure is good for self drive n camping out ( only worry about bears if sleeping in tents )

camper van with cooking facilities is good ( but rental is expensive ) .. produce there is so fresh and cheap

else, have to bring own pan ( we buy from Daiso ) and portable stove

or can rent cooking utensils from Car Rental company too

twosix

The type u show is not van type... is more of a small truck/lorry/mini bus kind... but i think Japan their own standard domestic license can drive this size RV liao... no need our class 4... so maybe it applies to IDP also... but anything bigger might required one liao... do check on it...

Park in city dun have the camper feel... need to go to those RV parks then got feel...

plus it will be damn hard to find parking for such RVs... only can park in those outdoor open car parks... like that not much difference from ulu park...

Anyway... i think sinkies are not built for RV living... we too pampered liao... kids might find it fun for 1-2 days... but dun think will enjoy if it goes any longer... but this is definitely something special and unique experience...

I've been looking up these campers on yt. No problem parking in Hokkaido as long as dun park in cities. Can park in town areas, like konbinis, supermarkets, etc, as there are no height constrains. it fits well into a normal parking lot.

need to go camper's park to charge the battery. those parks look very remote and no lights at night with very few cars. scary. haha....

true about rv living. looks quite tough, especially sleeping on not so comfortable "beds". have to weigh the pros and cons of the camper. dilema... haha..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.