About 8 in 10 first-timers who bought resale flats in 2023 could service loans with CPF, little to no cash outlay: MND

Enola88

Resale transactions with high prices continue to make up a small minority of total resale transactions, the Ministry of National Development said.
Ili Nadhirah Mansor/TODAYResale transactions with high prices continue to make up a small minority of total resale transactions, the Ministry of National Development said.

• The majority of families who bought resale flats for the first time in 2023 could pay their monthly loan instalments with CPF savings
  • The Ministry of National Development said this in a written response to a parliamentary question from Member of Parliament Saktiandi Supaat
  • Transactions of resale flats with high prices continue to make up a small minority of total resale transactions
  • There has been no conclusive evidence so far that the Prime Location Public Housing model is driving up the resale prices of other flats in choicer locations

https://www.todayonline.com/news/8-10-resale-loan-cpf-2473486

beer4105

up to wor.... sounds like a placard in a departmental store sale....

and 300k for 3 room resale? sounds like swing to the other end of the spectrum...

tuxguy

Of cos can, two ppl working, note keywords ‘with little to no cash outlay’, it means paying for next 30yrs every month left few dollars in ordinary account also satisfy condition.

so assuming couples buy HDB at 30 yrs old, by the time finished paying, no need to guess also know cannot hit cpf minimum sum

Another keyword within keywords is little. No mention how much is little

daylight

Of cos can, two ppl working, note keywords ‘with little to no cash outlay’, it means paying for next 30yrs every month left few dollars in ordinary account also satisfy condition.

so assuming couples buy HDB at 30 yrs old, by the time finished paying, no need to guess also know cannot hit cpf minimum sum
Very hard to upgrade to condo liao

sukukia

Little to no cash outlay but can also mean 80%-100% wiped out leaving little to none for retirement.
better than no roof over your top at retirement age…worst come to worse, you can generate income by renting out a room…

pmetpmet

Fail to see the accused interest that kills you which will keep rolling annually
plus not enough for retirement.
Why sell? HDB is a good investment that's practically free. Just hold on to it and rent it out lah :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

billiejoe

U can sell ur first subsidised hdb upon reaching 5 years mop and buy ur 2nd hdb to pay less accrued interest and get profit. Then stay at ur 2nd hdb till u die. Hopefully can get enough cpf at 55 to sustain ur retirement.

Fail to see the accused interest that kills you which will keep rolling annually
plus not enough for retirement.

a4973

U can sell ur first subsidised hdb upon reaching 5 years mop and buy ur 2nd hdb to pay less accrued interest and get profit. Then stay at ur 2nd hdb till u die. Hopefully can get enough cpf at 55 to sustain ur retirement.
I keep seeing people say sell off first bto upon 5 years mop then buy 2nd bto doesn't this attract Resale Levy? Thank you

Eliwood

The goal is not to use CPF at all. This is called affordability.

Everyone has the option to choose to pay hdb using cash.

If dun wanna pay cash, and shdnt use cpf, then pay using what lol.

Fyi affordability is assessed by on income, so whether u use the take home component or cpf component there is no difference.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.