[GLGT]”Singaporeans rather eat in Japan, and you can’t blame them. With the rise in GST, it’s very expensive to eat here because you’re adding almost

toolbox03

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/li...-dire-straits-more-closures-expected-year-end

“Inflation (in Singapore) is at a pretty drastic level, interest rates don’t look like they’re coming down till next year, and even some high-profile bankers I’ve spoken to warn of a recession,” he says.

“Singaporeans are just not spending here. They’d rather eat in Japan, and you can’t blame them. With the rise in GST, it’s very expensive to eat here because you’re adding almost 20 per cent to your bill each time. And manpower quotas are causing a really big problem.”

He adds that restaurant prices in Singapore aren’t high “because we want to charge a lot”. In fact, “if you look at it from a chef’s perspective, given the high cost of ingredients, it’s good value because we don’t make much”.

He cites the three-Michelin-starred Les Amis as an example. “When you see the amount of food they give you, (such as) the caviar, yes, it’s expensive but it’s good value. Compare that to, say Robuchon in Macau, where it costs S$600 for lunch per head, and it’s full house.”

Although some new investors have approached him and his landlord did offer to renew his lease, Koh declined, as he feels the market is the worst it’s been since Covid. In fact, he even thrived during the pandemic thanks to his captive market of expats; but once the travel floodgates opened, many left, leaving a big impact on his business.

:s14:

Hypernova

He adds that restaurant prices in Singapore aren’t high “because we want to charge a lot”. In fact, “if you look at it from a chef’s perspective, given the high cost of ingredients, it’s good value because we don’t make much”.
Ok so do restaurants owners stay in 2rm hdb?

No? They stay in condos and landed? But they not making much money according to themselves.

crimsontactics

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/li...-dire-straits-more-closures-expected-year-end

“Inflation (in Singapore) is at a pretty drastic level, interest rates don’t look like they’re coming down till next year, and even some high-profile bankers I’ve spoken to warn of a recession,” he says.

“Singaporeans are just not spending here. They’d rather eat in Japan, and you can’t blame them. With the rise in GST, it’s very expensive to eat here because you’re adding almost 20 per cent to your bill each time. And manpower quotas are causing a really big problem.”

He cites the three-Michelin-starred Les Amis as an example. “When you see the amount of food they give you, (such as) the caviar, yes, it’s expensive but it’s good value. Compare that to, say Robuchon in Macau, where it costs S$600 for lunch per head, and it’s full house.”

Although some new investors have approached him and his landlord did offer to renew his lease, Koh declined, as he feels the market is the worst it’s been since Covid. In fact, he even thrived during the pandemic thanks to his captive market of expats; but once the travel floodgates opened, many left, leaving a big impact on his business.

:s14:
Traitors are everywhere Bro toolbox03!!! :(

Rather give money to the Japanese who destroyed our country before than to our very own PAP!!! :(

bIkErS

"Singaporeans are just not spending here. They’d rather eat in Japan, and you can’t blame them.."

huh? dont want to spend $10 eating here but ok to spend thousands abroad and eat there?
i think u misunderstood the whole thing...

sinkie in sg don wann to spend $$ eat atas food in SG.. only eat caipung using CDC

money save liao go JP eat atas food enjoy atas service

testerjp

F&B and retail really jialat now.

Covid time people had no place to go and spend so anyhow spend. That caused a sharp demand back then.

Then inflation went up, demand went down. You see restaurants cutting their prices with offers these days to attract back customers. They can't do a perma cut because the inflated prices of ingredients and rent are still in effect.

People always say is the F&B greedy, but they never realise that their cost of running also went up alot.

Lareina

Service charge + GST really killer
Poor service somemore usually. Heck I get better service nowadays from china restaurant compared to other restaurants that hire Singaporean.
Nowadays really feel the pocket hole wider after seeing additional 19% on the bill. Gonna look out for those no serv chg or better no serv chg and no gst

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.