[GLGT] Govt studying how to tackle cost of living concerns, take better care of seniors: PM Wong

Wanderer123

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...-concerns-take-better-care-of-seniors-pm-wong

SINGAPORE — Tackling cost of living concerns and taking better care of seniors are two key areas of focus for the Government, said Prime Minister Lawrence Wong on Aug 23.

In a press conference five days after his maiden National Day Rally, PM Wong said he is looking into longer-term care for seniors and their housing needs. This is a big issue that will continue to grow as more people age, he noted.

Besides helping the older seniors who are in their 70s or 80s, there will also be support for their children - younger seniors who are entering or in their 50s and feel “sandwiched” with both ageing parents and children to look after, he said.

On cost of living, PM Wong said his Government is looking at doling out more help to specific segments of the population, including those with larger families and more young children, where “costs add up quite quickly”.

Such additional support will add to broad-based schemes such as the CDC vouchers, and cost of living payouts and U-Save rebates that target the lower- and middle-income groups.

During the press conference at the National Press Centre in Hill Street – PM Wong’s first since he took office as Singapore’s fourth prime minister on May 15 – he outlined his thinking for the Rally and what Singaporeans can expect in the months ahead.
Tackle scams first, problem not solved for the looooooongest time.

rtkgamer

Give u one tight slap, i.e increase of GST, then say sorry, see how I can reduce your pain.

Prime 13

Why shld cost of living be a problem for seniors?
CPF if properly implemented shld be taking care of that.

yves

Yeah raise GST to 10% and beyond, COE 200k, utility charges all up 20%

MoeLanYong

Finally this G is willing to look into cost pressures of large families.

We are like your top sales people. You don't take care of your top sales people, the TFR will not improve.

puppey

so many edmwers bashing but none came up with anything
empty vessels makes the most noise indeed hahaha

waiken

jin scary keep saying all tis fweel good statement cfm money suxed from younger to giv old

JustForFun

Increase GST and most taxes and say "helping" again ?

Cannot create or produce country nett wealth and $$ but can only work on robin-hood style where many suffers but some gain ? Concept from insurance, pool everyone $$ and 'help' using themselves ?

In the end, more and more become poorer and suffering becomes widespread when becomes exorbitant or crazy cost of living like now ?

yperic

At a news conference after his 100th day in office, Prime Minister Lawrence Wong outlined his priorities for Singapore, including making it more family-friendly and tackling cost-of-living concerns.

"This is the commitment from me and my team. We are here to listen to you, to understand firsthand your concerns, hopes and dreams and to build a stronger, more meaningful connection with every Singaporean," he said. Read more: https://cna.asia/470DhuH

00:00 Opening remarks
08:37 Start of Q&A
08:51 Q&A on assumptions we are challenging with NDR announcements
10:32 Q&A on priorities during meetings with leaders from different countries
12:30 Q&A on changing mindsets in terms of encouraging Singaporeans to have children
15:36 Q&A on thought process behind NDR speech
20:50 Q&A on immediate priorities and challenges since taking office
22:55 Q&A on what Singaporeans are most satisfied with and most unhappy about
26:04 Q&A on learning about Malay-Muslim sentiments on local issues; preparing Malay NDR speech; Singapore College of Islamic Studies v
29:15 Q&A on CDC vouchers in 2025; cost-of-living support measures; thoughts on "not-an-election NDR"
34:04 Q&A on non-negotiable policies that cannot be "reset"; addressing issue of integrating locals and naturalised citizens; dialogue sessions with various communities
39:23 Q&A on advice for young Singaporeans on starting a family; support for athletes

dxdx999

Delaying so that global recession comes, can claim credit that it works?

EJB

Issue is he wants to reduce, bo sala.

The sala part is he don't see the thing through, you just pass generic instructions to the cronies. What the cronies do? Try to make their boss look good, make it hard to disburse help, but at the same time make more money for PM to look good.

End up good intentions don't reach the ground level, and people cuss them. He say tackle cost of living is to help us, but his cronies take it as 'increase to help Singapore'.

Gone liao.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.