Johor Bahru - share is caring - Part 2

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

matrix05

now wu more buses to 2nd Link CIQ, enjoy normal traffic conditions, jin SONGz feeling.
2nd link is coming alive? After the initial hype of 2nd link, nothing happen since; no mega malls, no housing projects, no attractions. Southkey mall shd be built there, become the city sq of 2nd link.

Meemoosaa

ℹ️Bus Interval: 30 mins (peak hour) / 60 mins (off-peak hour)
ℹ️ Peak Hour: 5:30am to 9:30am and 4:30pm to 8:30pm
ℹ️ Off-peak Hour: 9:30am to 4:30pm and 8:30pm to 10:30pm
ℹ️ Bus interval is subject to traffic and custom clearance condition.

Wow, even peak hours is 30 mins interval which translate to 45 ++ mins with custom delays. Good to know though. I wonder are weekends considered off-peak ?

Habrosus

2nd link is coming alive? After the initial hype of 2nd link, nothing happen since; no mega malls, no housing projects, no attractions. Southkey mall shd be built there, become the city sq of 2nd link.
Please leave 2nd Link as peaceful as it is now. Want excitement, Woodlands, BSI, City Square, JBCC, KSL, etc are good, very good. Absolutely good. :razz:

Wow, even peak hours is 30 mins interval which translate to 45 ++ mins with custom delays. Good to know though. I wonder are weekends considered off-peak ?
Peak means workers are commuting to/fro workplace. Off peak means workers are already at work or at home.

Think in terms of CWL's primary passengers being the workers before shoppers, that could be easier to figure out? :grin:

Meemoosaa

If you have a lack of time and prefer instant gratification of JB excitement, woodlands still the best. Citysquare mall is literally next to custom without even having to get off any connecting bridges.

If you are the adventurous type who prefers a slightly off the beaten track and appreciate more of the local way of life, then 2nd link is good for exploration I think.

Coffeelix

Our President hopeful will power to build malls ba… I think he got CW to go there… wait to see lo… 😂

Meemoosaa

Was sharing second link entry with my retired parents, they brought up the fact that for 90 cents senior rate on the public transport it takes them straight into JB (Citysquare) where they can can enjoy JB excitement immediately.

Whereas second link require a $4.50 bus fare without instant access to JB excitement. If they were to go via second link, that's a 500% fare increment without the instant gratification. Not very attractive lol.

I never thought of it that way, I guessed we all look at expenses differently at different stage of life. I need to start saving up enough for my retirement so I can continue paying $4.50 for second link. :s13:

Habrosus

Was sharing second link entry with my retired parents, they brought up the fact that for 90 cents senior rate on the public transport it takes them straight into JB (Citysquare) where they can can enjoy JB excitement immediately.

Whereas second link require a $4.50 bus fare without instant access to JB excitement. If they were to go via second link, that's a 500% fare increment without the instant gratification. Not very attractive lol.

I never thought of it that way, I guessed we all look at expenses differently at different stage of life. I need to start saving up enough for my retirement so I can continue paying $4.50 for second link. :s13:
Many times saw sinkies posting in FB about 170 MIA while CWL continues to deploy extra buses to get us across...

Avoiding Woodlands today coz don't want to meet the mad City Square crowd. So it's like they say in EDMW, today is song song gao joolong :grin:

Andrew833

Problem is I'm not interested in Citysquare or KSL, so for free I also not interested. :LOL:
RTS is different story :p If Bukit Chagar RTS Station is full of people and heavy traffic, I also not interested.

Coffeelix

Problem is I'm not interested in Citysquare or KSL, so for free I also not interested. :LOL:
RTS is different story :p If Bukit Chagar RTS Station is full of people and heavy traffic, I also not interested.
Since u guys is aversion to crowd like me, u should love iskandar / medini areas with small crowd …
I don’t like Eco Botanic cos the crowd is fast becoming like the woodlands side…

Coffeelix

Now u can c Y our sg elderly is crowding jb with luggages… it isn’t a choice for them.
I feel sad and embarrassing that sg elderly has to resort to such hardship to survive …

Coffeelix

For retirees without income, their savings is limited…

Sg cost of living increment is unlimited …

SongManKranji

Since u guys is aversion to crowd like me, u should love iskandar / medini areas with small crowd …
I don’t like Eco Botanic cos the crowd is fast becoming like the woodlands side…
ECO ok lei, my fav town. So far ok la. Not like KSL.

Meemoosaa

Many times saw sinkies posting in FB about 170 MIA while CWL continues to deploy extra buses to get us across...

Avoiding Woodlands today coz don't want to meet the mad City Square crowd. So it's like they say in EDMW, today is song song gao joolong :grin:

I hear you. I don't understand why Woodlands as the OG of JB cross border custom is so poorly designed given Singapore's efficiency. Those crazy bus routes and lanes can really cause panic attack. 😅 . There are 2 buses 160 and 170 and both can alight at Kranji MRT, sounds great in theory but in reality the crowds of 2 bus lanes will basically converge whenever one bus comes along. And if you happen to be at the lane where people in front of you prefer to wait out for the right bus number, you then have to jump and squeeze pass them to get through because all you needed is to be able to alight at Kranji MRT and so either bus is fine yet you are forced to queue for only one bus number.

Even if you have all the time in the world to wait civilly, the ventilation flow in that bus waiting area can turn you into a roast chicken on some days.

The bus route design needs a rethink, I think there should only be ONE bus going to Kranji MRT station but with increased frequency. Just give what the people need. It's not rocket science right ? I sometimes wonder if it's all done intentionally the way it is to deter too many shoppers going to JB. lol

Coffeelix

I hear you. I don't understand why Woodlands as the OG of JB cross border custom is so poorly designed given Singapore's efficiency. Those crazy bus routes and lanes can really cause panic attack. 😅 . There are 2 buses 160 and 170 and both can alight at Kranji MRT, sounds great in theory but in reality the crowds of 2 bus lanes will basically converge whenever one bus comes along. And if you happen to be at the lane where people in front of you prefer to wait out for the right bus number, you then have to jump and squeeze pass them to get through because all you needed is to be able to alight at Kranji MRT and so either bus is fine yet you are forced to queue for only one bus number.

Even if you have all the time in the world to wait civilly, the ventilation flow in that bus waiting area can turn you into a roast chicken on some days.

The bus route design needs a rethink, I think there should only be ONE bus going to Kranji MRT station but with increased frequency. Just give what the people need. It's not rocket science right ? I sometimes wonder if it's all done intentionally the way it is to deter too many shoppers going to JB. lol
Obviously …

Meemoosaa

Now u can c Y our sg elderly is crowding jb with luggages… it isn’t a choice for them.
I feel sad and embarrassing that sg elderly has to resort to such hardship to survive …

Oh .. I didn't see it that way. I actually thought the seniors who go to JB on foot and lugging luggages are the ones who has the luxury of time and energy looking for cheap thrills and it's just another activity for them to hang out with friends and past time like my parents do.

My Dad and his JB kakis wouldn't even entertain a JB eatery without AC... lol , so they are the kind who are happy with just hanging out at Citysquare lah (but yet will get calculative at spending 500% more to go second link, go figure... lol) Whereas I'm happier and jumping for joy at the discovery of a delicious RM3 Roti Telur at Gelang Patah. :s13:

In a very ironic way, the ones who can brave JB customs are actually the ones with the luxury of time, physical and mental energy to do so. I think the seniors who are really struggling probably won't have that sort of energy in them given their environmental circumstances. I thought most Sinkie seniors I've seen crossing the JB custom can walk faster than me... :sad:. Lol

Habrosus

Cham liao, like that I think you can forget about ever going via Woodlands coz I've been looking at the RTS construction.

No more wide open space with the station being there. Almost cannot see sky, buildings pillars everywhere, even more sinkies by then due to the convenience, probably more tiong groups will RTS there to be picked up by Malaysia coaches, etc. :grin:

Coffeelix

Cham liao, like that I think you can forget about ever going via Woodlands coz I've been looking at the RTS construction.

No more wide open space with the station being there. Almost cannot see sky, buildings pillars everywhere, even more sinkies by then due to the convenience, probably more tiong groups will RTS there to be picked up by Malaysia coaches, etc. :grin:
I was approached by ah Tiong working in sg f&b to consider leasing to stay in jb…

Sg escapees are growing n growing

Andrew833

The location is too "ulu" for those who do not drive or drive to JB. Like me :p

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.