Standard Chartered annual fee story

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

Mr Duck

come across comment in SC facebook. bank can like this one meh, must pay annual fee then cancel .
dont pay annual fee,sc confirm charge interest.
the card i use often going 1 year
better cancel first if not later headache
what happen to SC, full of complaints.

fb comment
Standard Chartered Singapore Updating for everyone to know SC's response thus far: Someone called to repeat the same bs that the bank cannot waive my annual fee, and that if I want to cancel the card, I have to make full payment including annual fee. Only when the balance is zero then I can cancel the card blablabla escalate my case and now I am expecting another follow-up earliest by tomorrow or 3-5 days (by then the annual fee would have been due and if I don't pay, there will be late fees -.- ?!) Still can't believe I'm forced by SC to pay for a service I intend to terminate.. feeling scammed!!! Definitely warning family, friends, colleagues, anyone and everyone of this ordeal. Lets see if this has to get escalated to FIDReC.
This one confirm the card owner inside still got outstanding payment not due haven't pay. If inside no owe a sheet or loan. Cancel and just don't bother. You owe the bank nothing.

ceestudent

Many people dunno that the annual service paid is for NEXT YEAR services. So it is customer entitlement to request for refund after you cancel the card, because you have not used the services.

fire

Many people dunno that the annual service paid is for NEXT YEAR services. So it is customer entitlement to request for refund after you cancel the card, because you have not used the services.

If its for next year service, shouldn't the customer be entitled to not even pay for it in the first place for serVice they don't need 😂 ask for a refund is more time consuming 🤣

dnsfpl

this era liao still need to request waiver ah lol
time to change your RM if she did not auto-waive for you

dun say RM, even amex CSO will also auto-waive
this is call service

ceestudent

If its for next year service, shouldn't the customer be entitled to not even pay for it in the first place for serVice they don't need 😂 ask for a refund is more time consuming 🤣
Yes, but the cancellation is automated. The cancel request will be greyed out when you still have outstanding balance in the apps. And the CSO keep repeating that I need to do the cancellation by myself. Damn sneaky.

I feel that they try to pull a fast one to eat the annual fee if you are not aware.

muji4832

Still have balance meaning negative or positive ?

If negative, you cannot pay the amount using AXS first then cancel meh ?

If positive, you cannot go 7-11 buy something using paywave first meh ?

Why need to pay annual fee ?

As I mentioned in the previous page, you cannot cancel the card if you still have the balance. The CSO told me that they cannot do cancellation on my behalf (dunno ******** or not). I need to initiate the cancellation through the apps by myself.

So what I did is paid the annual fee, cancel the card, call the customer service to request for refund for the annual fee paid, then they will send cashier order for my refund. Note that the annual fee is for the next following year service.

Hope it helps for whoever kena the same issue. The CSO no use one, just keep saying that I need to pay the annual fee. Especially because I use the card after they charge the annual fee.

ceestudent

Still have balance meaning negative or positive ?

If negative, you cannot pay the amount using AXS first then cancel meh ?

If positive, you cannot go 7-11 buy something using paywave first meh ?

Why need to pay annual fee ?
The balance is the outstanding balance due to credit card annual fee. It is not my own CC charges, I already paid my own charges one.

Because the "cancel card" button is greyed out in the apps! and the CSO said card cancellation can only be done via apps.

muji4832

Nv encountered such things all my life.

I've cancelled numerous cards previously, some with SCB too.

Usually I will ask them to waive, if cannot then cancel.

If card already charged with Annual fee they will waive it and cancel it.

BTW I dun hold anymore SCB cards now.

The balance is the outstanding balance due to credit card fee. It is not my own charges, I already paid my own charges one.

Because the "cancel card" button is greyed out in the apps! and the CSO said card cancellation can only be done via apps.

ceestudent

Nv encountered such things all my life.

I've cancelled numerous cards previously, some with SCB too.

Usually I will ask them to waive, if cannot then cancel.

If card already charged with Annual fee they will waive it and cancel it.

BTW I dun hold anymore SCB cards now.
Same, I also first time encounter this with SC.
Other bank usually will waive off and cancel the card when i call the CSO.

That is why i share this here to prevent people pay the annual fee and never request for refund. After that episode, i cancel all my card with SC. It is really frustrating, the CSO keep saying no other way and I need to pay. Then I google and screen through reddit to find this trick. knn

muji4832

Most if not all who wanted to cancel will not even consider to pay the annual fee.

I guess they will eventually find a way like you to get the transaction refunded.

Same, I also first time encounter this with SC.
Other bank usually will waive off and cancel the card when i call the CSO.

That is why i share this here to prevent people pay the annual fee and never request for refund. After that episode, i cancel all my card with SC. It is really frustrating, the CSO keep saying no other way and I need to pay. Then I google and screen through reddit to find this trick. knn

ceestudent

Most if not all who wanted to cancel will not even consider to pay the annual fee.

I guess they will eventually find a way like you to get the transaction refunded.
I just find it very sneaky. The CSO purposely tell me to pay first when I want to cancel, they never mentioned that I can request for refund. I think the top management instructing the CSO to do this way.

Only when I call after get the card cancelled then the CSO said that she can request for refund. Maybe they don't dare to chut this stunt now after people complaining to MAS.

chiaki11

While mine is not related to annual fee, I want to feedback on their late and interest charge too

it slipped my mind to pay my credit card on the due date and I got an sms alert 1 week later on it.
Realising my oversight, i immediately paid the amount and requested for the waiver of late charge and interest charge. They agree to waive the late charge but refused to waive on the interest.

I called the CS and explained to them that i have a bank bal with them that it is more than enough to pay my credit card amt and hence it is not a funding issue. It is an oversight on my part and I immediately paid once I realised it upon their alert.

The CS helped to put up a request which is again rejected by their credit dept.

So i decided to pay up all my current spend even though it is not due yet and cancel my card.

BUT, they dont allow me to cancel my card as there is still the outstanding balance from the interest charge!

Really unbelievable and disappointing to be with such a bank for the past 15 years!

And yes, talking to the CS is useless as they are just the lower level staff. Even asking to speak to their mgr to esculate is useless as they told me that they cannot escalate since the decision is final! Really very high handed
Any one encounter with interest charge? Any advice?

losthope00

Lucky I no sc cc. They rejected my application else I want to give them ntuc points as a warning.

But hor ….. trust bank is also under sc right. 😱 later they give trust link points instead

Muthucurry5678

Use the service but don't want pay fee? Hope sc and all banks stop offering annual fee waiver.

Waiver is based on goodwill and banks have been doing it to attract customers but pple take it for granted that call in can waiver
Ya
I also dont quite understand this cancellation logic
I every year also pay for my sc cc annual fee
I never ask them waive off before
I mean, got convenient, got cashback, give something bank earn will die meh
When u sign the cc u already know will have annual fee, dont want pay then dont sign la

60Remajust

nobody inform fidrec on the annual fee nonsense?

they shld allow cancel on their platform if only annual fees remain

so troublesome to contact CS, some have to pay first somemore

kimsix

This app now update with waiver 2nd screen and got option for them to review by 3 working day

dexboi

SC hotline is now impossible to grab a human CSO because there isn't an option.
App can't cancel + waive because they will tell u there is an outstanding balance, which is ur annual fee.

Just go directly to FRAUD DEPT and make your requests there.
They make it hard, we make it difficult for them as well.

No doubt, annual fees are here to stay, cos banks can still earn from ppl like @ MuthuCurry.
But for ppl like us who wish to try waiver, it should be made easy.
Simply a YES, NO or CANCEL & WAIVE answer and we will move on. Period.

KnyghtRyder

come across comment in SC facebook. bank can like this one meh, must pay annual fee then cancel .
dont pay annual fee,sc confirm charge interest.
the card i use often going 1 year
better cancel first if not later headache
what happen to SC, full of complaints.

fb comment
Standard Chartered Singapore Updating for everyone to know SC's response thus far: Someone called to repeat the same bs that the bank cannot waive my annual fee, and that if I want to cancel the card, I have to make full payment including annual fee. Only when the balance is zero then I can cancel the card blablabla escalate my case and now I am expecting another follow-up earliest by tomorrow or 3-5 days (by then the annual fee would have been due and if I don't pay, there will be late fees -.- ?!) Still can't believe I'm forced by SC to pay for a service I intend to terminate.. feeling scammed!!! Definitely warning family, friends, colleagues, anyone and everyone of this ordeal. Lets see if this has to get escalated to FIDReC.
The annual fee was for the time you already used. Not the time you going to use.. so rightfully they are owed the fee. Not paying is fraud.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.