Meridian Sec schoolgirl beaten up by bullies, eardrum ruptured

smellyfish

I am still waiting to hear an actual solution to stop bullying. Punishing the bully severely arguably can stop that bully but how do you stop bullying?

before you say if the punishment is very severe, then a would be bully would think twice, I put it to you that the typical bully is simply incapable of rational thought process to begin with.

how do you stop it from happening before it happens?

Joe Maya

I am still waiting to hear an actual solution to stop bullying. Punishing the bully severely arguably can stop that bully but how do you stop bullying?

before you say if the punishment is very severe, then the would be bully would think twice, I put it to you that the typical bully is simply incapable of rational thought process to begin with.

Easy, expose these bullies in social media !

kyokoto

That's why in US, the school shootings keep happening and happening. I read the comments over there, all just keep blaming the shooters, not the lack of support/action done.
The sad thing in US is that those shooters have endured months or years of bullying. Couldn't handle it anymore and took matters into their own hands... end up they kill the innocent, those who didn't bully em.

Slacking1977

There will always be bullies , some are born with it and some got family problems . But one bully got little effect . Is when they ganged up then damaging.
School has to set the tone at the very first day . Zero tolerance for bullies . If caught , just cane and expelled. There is no 2nd chance /no appeal . Is becos of the consequences that is not severe enough , thats why most dare to push boundaries.

smellyfish

There will always be bullies , some are born with it and some got family problems . But one bully got little effect . Is when they ganged up then damaging.
School has to set the tone at the very first day . Zero tolerance for bullies . If caught , just cane and expelled. There is no 2nd chance /no appeal . Is becos of the consequences that is not severe enough , thats why most dare to push boundaries.
How do schools set the tone if the bullies are tone deaf? You are still applying the psyche and thought process of a good rational student on a bad student. Whatever the teacher or school says, the si ginna and ah beng wannabe and 369-inclined will be one ear in one ear out. The principal or DM talking is just words words words to them. And of course they never contemplate the day they will be caught, their brain is just wired to be stupid and reckless.

SkyNinja

"The school has been paying close attention to the condition of the injured student and has taken disciplinary action against the students involved, including bystanders at the scene," said Razali.

Is it means issue stern warning letter and go for mandatory counselling sessions?

Mclairs83

i say it in the last time and i will say it again.

since police cannot trial u in court.. they will wait the bullies reach the age of 18yrs old on their birthday, and pay a visit to their house and trial them the next day. because girls and boys home usually "not a big deal" to them.

smellyfish

Actually just curious, what happen if you expel a sec 2 kid? The kid will never get to go to school? Then what does he or she do? Start work? Join lion dance troupe? Is that where they get the tong tong chiang kids from?

From a macro policy perspective isn’t it a bigger problem if the juvenile now don’t even have a school to shackle him in?

Philipkee

Again you are transposing your good student mindset to a bad student. You will care and be shamed. Willl the chao ah beng give two hoots?
My dad used to share how his friends train the kids

Son gets whacked by bullies. Goes home to complain to father. Father asks who won? Son say the bullies whacked me and I run home. Father whacks the son again and say next time, only report to me if you won or I whack you again. Son never got bullied ever again

So I asked my dad are you telling me to whack my bullies? He said think what you will.

smellyfish

My dad used to share how his friends train the kids

Son gets whacked by bullies. Goes home to complain to father. Father asks who won? Son say the bullies whacked me and I run home. Father whacks the son again and say next time, only report to me if you won or I whack you again. Son never got bullied ever again

So I asked my dad are you telling me to whack my bullies? He said think what you will.
This is a start, but again size disparity is a very real thing at that age, look at the bukit view incident. And bullies instinctively single out the weak, the small size, the weird, the undiagnosed special needs kids, the emotionally unregulated kids.

one thing I notice is that the victim allowed themselves to be isolated, following the bullies to a quiet spot. Not sure if more can be done to identify the at risk and give them more targeted anti-bully training.

but that of course doesn’t stop the bullies side of the euquation.

sacrificium

before you say if the punishment is very severe, then a would be bully would think twice, I put it to you that the typical bully is simply incapable of rational thought process to begin with.

At least remove the threat. When they see other bullies getting caning, then they will start to think rationally. If they think they can get away, they will just be more extreme.

tfkmueh

Ear drum ruptured, isn't that meant the girl will be deaf in 1 ear all her life?

sacrificium

Actually just curious, what happen if you expel a sec 2 kid? The kid will never get to go to school? Then what does he or she do? Start work? Join lion dance troupe? Is that where they get the tong tong chiang kids from?

From a macro policy perspective isn’t it a bigger problem if the juvenile now don’t even have a school to shackle him in?

Put them in jail, and study in jail. Won’t be able to disturb other kids. For more horrible cases, off them capital punishment. They are old enough to think.

AuraKUPO

Nothing will happen to the bullies one lah. Underage + female, what bad could happen to them? The most kena scolded and grounded only

ahnyaahnya

i say it in the last time and i will say it again.

since police cannot trial u in court.. they will wait the bullies reach the age of 18yrs old on their birthday, and pay a visit to their house and trial them the next day
The police can't do that.
The determining factor is the age at the time that the bullying was committed.

Dracky

What's the correct response if bullied? Calling SPF is no use since they can't get there in time to stop the child from being injured. 走为上计。Teach kids to run fast.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.