[LIVE AS WE GO] Pritam Singh goes on trial for charges of lying to Parliament

Emperor_Hippo

haha ok but I went through the early 3G NS which is still lots of tekan without change parade and stand by universe...i joined mono intake so you know lah

the thing is, many parents siam the discipline part nowadays because they want to be liked by their kids, being the disciplinarian means you will be resented by your kids for some time. add to that the current sinkie generations are all scared of confrontation and you get the recipe for disaster
Whichever epic kumgong said, "Parents must be the friends to their kids." clearly do not have kids.

Parents are:
1) Parents
2) Leaders
3) Mentor
4) Guides
And lastly FRIENDS.

they are not first and foremost - friends.

rather be hated now by the kid over correcting a misconduct, than be hated by the kid and the rest of society because the parent raised a bloody cheat, scammer, social menace, or worse - a serial killer.

charleslee1989

Huai this kind of case need to chut Deputy AG ?
Who decides ?
AG will decide who reps the government. PP already not in favour liao, so need to use the AG....

As for the bosses of the AG, it is most likely the President and the PM himself....

That was why Pritam wanted to shift the case to the High Court for the initial trial so that if he had to appeal he could appeal to the Court of Appeal which is staffed by 3 judges. This would realistically let him have a fairer trial as compared to judgements given by a single judge at High Court.
Nvm lah....See how it goes here....

If CJ Yong Pung How is still CJ, different game liao.

well,the man himself already become ashes liao....Say this also no use le....

NTB2DO

all because of this pritam singh said this he would not judger her for continuing her narrative

pritam singh english too deep , if pritam singh treat Khan like primary school kid ... confirm khan cannot misinterpret wrong ...
She'll listen meh? PS also asked her to substantiate her anecdote, but did she?

She seems like one who interprets as she wishes, does as she wishes.

Medicated Oil

Exactly. I suppose PS reckoned that he would get a fairer trial at the Court of Appeal which would need 3 judges to decide a case while the lower courts including the High Court has only a single judge to rule a case.
Fair...
What is Fair ?
Whose decide the Fairness now ?

testart

This RK very blur leh. Must use very direct simple language then she understands. Then half the time, she seems like dreaming.

Char_Kuey

Erm.... Lu Bu killed Dong Zhuo and then on the premise that Lu Bu is a man without honour and integrity that betrays his own master and godfather, Caocao had him executed.
Erm.. Lu Bu can fight in the battlefield, this one can do what?

Char_Kuey

This RK very blur leh. Must use very direct simple language then she understands. Then half the time, she seems like dreaming.
She seems to not have the common level of logic people have, really miracle how she made it that far

Tenpai

What did the current DAG say about POFMA leh?
iirc his ruling for POFMA (the SDP case) placed the burden of proof of falsehood on the G because his view is that they have more resources to prove falsehood than the average person

but it was reversed at the higher court to place the burden of proof on the average person getting POFMA-ed to prove his/her statements are true, which is impossible

mryang

Pritam was not involved in the drafting of a statement about sexual assault survivors: Defence

As court resumes after a 15-minute break, Mr Andre Jumabhoy questions Ms Raeesah Khan about a statement she had drafted but not used about how the Government dealt with survivors of sexual assault, which was “basically accusing the Government of doubting survivors”.

He suggests that while she had on Oct 4, 2021, asked Pritam Singh about what to do, at the same time, she was “able to respond to (Law and Home Affairs Minister) K. Shanmugam without being told what to do”.

“That’s all you, isn’t it?” he asks, to which she responds in the affirmative.

She says that the draft statement was written “in a fit of panic” and that it was not sent out to anyone besides Ms Loh Pei Ying and Mr Yudhishthra Nathan, who were aides whom she confided in.

He reconfirms that this statement was drafted by her with no involvement from Singh.
She agrees.

“The fact that there is no involvement by Singh in relation to all of this is because he’s never told you to lie,” says Mr Jumabhoy.

Ms Khan disagrees. “The reason I lied, again, is because he came to my house and he assured me that he wouldn’t judge me if I continued the narrative.”

Wow the two aide vet her draft but no ask questions win liao lor....

Emperor_Hippo

Pritam was not involved in the drafting of a statement about sexual assault survivors: Defence

As court resumes after a 15-minute break, Mr Andre Jumabhoy questions Ms Raeesah Khan about a statement she had drafted but not used about how the Government dealt with survivors of sexual assault, which was “basically accusing the Government of doubting survivors”.

He suggests that while she had on Oct 4, 2021, asked Pritam Singh about what to do, at the same time, she was “able to respond to (Law and Home Affairs Minister) K. Shanmugam without being told what to do”.

“That’s all you, isn’t it?” he asks, to which she responds in the affirmative.

She says that the draft statement was written “in a fit of panic” and that it was not sent out to anyone besides Ms Loh Pei Ying and Mr Yudhishthra Nathan, who were aides whom she confided in.

He reconfirms that this statement was drafted by her with no involvement from Singh.
She agrees.

“The fact that there is no involvement by Singh in relation to all of this is because he’s never told you to lie,” says Mr Jumabhoy.

Ms Khan disagrees. “The reason I lied, again, is because he came to my house and he assured me that he wouldn’t judge me if I continued the narrative.”

Wow the two aide vet her draft but no ask questions win liao lor....
That kind of vetting standard can be political aide?

foc job ijjit?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.