Is it worth taking up Careshield Life? Annual premium rose by almost 2 times !

8zaoyu

the payout is not toto, it's not meant for u to live luxuriously after becoming disable, but its enough to cover a large part of the cost of hiring a helper.

and yea it's a torture, with or without the payout. but btw the 2, i rather to be a torture with $600 every month than torture without the payout.
Some folks torture themselves more with pte Careshield Life Supplement to get beyond $600 monthly payout.
But now they say $600 monthly payout, suka suka years later, recommend you buy for more payouts one!

FT PRIDE

Isn't careshield life auto inclusion? Cant opt out unless you are pioneer where you have the option to join

8zaoyu

This one like Disablity income insurance what.
You can even top-up the coverage to 5k, but of course the premium also increased tremendously.
Wow, you scared to die without butter spread included, huh. Most elderlies more scared the long suffering of illnesses that do not die.

8zaoyu

Isn't careshield life auto inclusion? Cant opt out unless you are pioneer where you have the option to join
Now at or >30 years old, auto included.
Maybe once have family, should include, as getting a helper is surely needed if spouse need to shoulder the daily bread to eat, not the buttering life issues

ceestudent

Wow, you scared to die, huh. Most elderlies more scared the long suffering of illnesses and do not die.
I'm not saying I'm buying 5k what. I just upgrade until my max medisave limit without cash top up. I remember private insurance will cover once you suffer 2 ADL (instead of 3). Some even cover 1 ADL with 50% payout, not sure which insurance company though.

Isn't it the purpose of this careshield life? when you are bedridden but unable to work. Especially if you are still at golden age and not ready for retirement yet. Next time retire already, can still downgrade to minimum premium paid by medisave.
Of course you can argue that you have saving, but wipe out your own saving when you disable not heart pain meh?

jq1986

I am not getting this

If we fail 3 of these basic functions, we don't have much time left anyway...
You'll be surprised. Many can stay in such a state for many many years. Each year you survive, is approx. $7500 in payouts. And honestly if you have ageing loved ones, you will know that hitting 3/6 of those criteria is not hard.

Also premiums are paid till 67, and you get lifetime coverage after that. I mean if you just check plans by private insurers out there, there is likely nothing better.

iceblendedchoc

Saw an "invite" from CPF to sign-up Careshield Life.

Premium rose substantially. Mainly due to so-called better payout but essentially pooling with high-risk, low ses.

Heard it is not easy to be certified 3ADL difficulty to submit for payout.

If so, is Careshield Life worth it?
Once you take up you become the sucker that pap can tap on for premium

hmyoth

Auto include. Only for old people then u can opt to upgrade to careshield life or stay at the eldershield plan.

hctawsgs

Why need to buy insurance when you can crowdfund? Just contact professional crowdfund organisers like giveasia, provide them your sob story with heart-wrenching pictures, they will do the rest to market your plight to the media. Then just relax and see the thousands of $ rolling in from kumgongs! 😏

And some gullible edmwers may also picked this story up and help post on the forum to help you get more donations. HUAT AH! 😂

8zaoyu

Auto include. Only for old people then u can opt to upgrade to careshield life or stay at the eldershield plan.
ya,last time got ElderShield of 300 or 400 payouts monthly, I opted out then now Careshield Life of 600 payouts last few years started, I joined with some rebates given, and have to pay for average of near $1.5k yearly for 10 ten years (called Catch up premiums) One of the ADL is cannot get up to shower/toileting permanently. But if you younger than 50 or 60, more like accidents, prepare Death insurances of half to a million each for yourselves and young dependants better on top of the Basic Compulsory Careshield Life ( now from 30 yrs old). Supplements are optional, can save for more Safe life adventures and experiences!

Dracky

it is an insurance scheme. If you think the chances of you needing assistance is "won't one, won't one", then don't buy insurance. Just take risk.

NTB2DO

It depends on whether you think the payout helps or not, if it's $600 monthly as someone mentioned, to me it's just good to have, not die die must have. So I didn't take it up.

It's for the same reason that I opted out of eldershield back then.

hmyoth

ya,last time got ElderShield of 300 or 400 payouts monthly, I opted out then now Careshield Life of 600 payouts last few years started, I joined with some rebates given, and have to pay for average of near $1.5k yearly for 10 ten years (called Catch up premiums) One of the ADL is cannot get up to shower/toileting permanently. But if you younger than 50 or 60, more like accidents, prepare Death insurances of half to a million each for yourselves and young dependants better on top of the Basic Compulsory Careshield Life ( now from 30 yrs old). Supplements are optional, can save for more Safe life adventures and experiences!
I joined with rebates too .

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.