[GLGT] RI students unhappy with proposed changes petition to oust principal

whuttt

The student is siao kia. Things not officially communicated yet, anyhow. Donno izit some white horse or what.

keytheboogamer

https://tnp.straitstimes.com/news/s...appy-proposed-changes-petition-oust-principal

Perhaps the most controversial rumour is the potential removal of air-conditioning from certain school areas, a move that has sparked widespread concern about student comfort and learning effectiveness in Singapore's heat.

"I don't understand the air-con removal. It's true that students from most schools don't have it, but do you think they don't complain about the heat?" read one comment on Reddit.

"I think most will agree it's more conducive to study in a comfortable environment where you're not sweating.

"RI students are very lucky to have air-con. So why the need to remove it? Does it promote national unity for all students to suffer in the heat together?"

Other reported changes, including a restructuring of the Gap Semester Programme, a shift to the SLS learning platform and unconfirmed reports of teacher resignations, have further ruffled student feathers.

:s14:

during 199x while i in secondary 2-4 my secondary school in the west,
not enough class room, so my class is in a large container remake into a classroom.

FULL AIRCON.

KPO_SAHM

https://tnp.straitstimes.com/news/s...appy-proposed-changes-petition-oust-principal

Perhaps the most controversial rumour is the potential removal of air-conditioning from certain school areas, a move that has sparked widespread concern about student comfort and learning effectiveness in Singapore's heat.

"I don't understand the air-con removal. It's true that students from most schools don't have it, but do you think they don't complain about the heat?" read one comment on Reddit.

"I think most will agree it's more conducive to study in a comfortable environment where you're not sweating.

"RI students are very lucky to have air-con. So why the need to remove it? Does it promote national unity for all students to suffer in the heat together?"

Other reported changes, including a restructuring of the Gap Semester Programme, a shift to the SLS learning platform and unconfirmed reports of teacher resignations, have further ruffled student feathers.

:s14:

Oh national unity then make it all schools have aircon lor as all schools r good schools. Problem solved....wait...how come hwa Chong never removed aircon leh?

Maybe.... alumni and parents could donate mthly sum to school so that student could still enjoy the aircon

magna_strike

Mmm okay. Sorry if i misunderstood you

But since when were we equal?

They are students trying to study. They pay higher school fees. They excel in their studies

Why no aircon? Scientific research has shown that airconditioning improves office workers and students performance at work and school respectively.

If we enjoy airconditioning at work to improve our efficacy, why not schools? This principal very rubbish

https://www.researchgate.net/public..._in_office_buildings_A_case_study_in_Thailand

https://www.researchgate.net/public...nditioned_and_naturally_ventilated_classrooms
True but I'm guessing got hidden Moe agenda behind

Alphas

Last time more than 20 years ago, one teacher was ousted by me and classmates as his teaching skill was horrendous. We never ever seen him again.

David Lai

Nonsense, edusave where got so much money in it. $300 per month * 12 months * 6 years means at least $18k

also take a look at the RI website, school fee is paid using cash or giro.

https://www.ri.edu.sg/admissions/fees-and-financial-aid
the very top few will have scholarship sponsor…
a small percentage needs to have partial sponsorship in the form of bursary…
the rest probably have rich daddy and mummy…
and if the child always raise hand to volunteer for overseas exchange program, according to a friend whose child went to hci, even cow‘s legs will soften leh…

cute_togepi

these are the ELITES, u expect them to study without aircon?! U kidding?!?! Lowly educated neighborhood schools do not need aircon because they will not amount to anything anyway but RI ELITES needs to study in comfort
They are not elites, potential future elites is the right word to use. I dare say a vast majority of students come from very normal family backgrounds, just that the kid is really exceptional compared to the average kid.

The real elites go to ACS (I) for their IB programme.

focus1974

difference between elite school and neighbourhood school.

the students initiate petition and call for leadership renewal one..

neighbourhood school... students just accept.

the 2 paths have been charted since PSLE.

Medicated Oil

Seriously, they want to remove the comfort from the students.
What do you expect the students to do ?
Accept them duly like last time.
There are only a few places that are air con in the past.
(Library, music room, audio-visual room)(Grandfather time)

yesman2978

Tekong is tekong
School is school.
students from RI pay the school few hundred $ school fees per month if i am not wrong.
Think if you are smart enough to go RI, would be on scholarship, and don't need to pay school fees

yesman2978

Seriously, they want to remove the comfort from the students.
What do you expect the students to do ?
Accept them duly like last time.
There are only a few places that are air con in the past.
(Library, music room, audio-visual room)(Grandfather time)
Students not happy, can switch school lor

Nobody forcing them to stay in ri

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.