Gen Z woman starts coffee joint in her own home

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
lack that cafe feel imo

anw to those who wanna support such biz, carry on then :o

rider83

She is very smart. She knows rent in SG is number 1 business killer so she open her cafe in her family house

lao3hero

She is very smart. She knows rent in SG is number 1 business killer so she open her cafe in her family house

this is called smart? who dunno rent is ex? this is called lack-of-effort-to-renovate-de-si-ginna-leech

kebinu

Put it this way.
If she invest the hong bao money given to her previously, she could already be earning some passive income without working.
This cafe is like a pass time and kpo session with the bored people living around her area.
I guess she can tahan even if the cafe is making a loss.
Dun think she is cutting ends with the quality of her food.

Or she is already collecting rental from various properties.
Put it this way.
If she invest the hong bao money given to her previously, she could already be earning some passive income without working.
This cafe is like a pass time and kpo session with the bored people living around her area.
I guess she can tahan even if the cafe is making a loss.
Dun think she is cutting ends with the quality of her food.

Or she is already collecting rental from various properties.

what loss? machine is sunk cost, all revenue almost contribute fully to net profit after some COGS.

Home is "free" if it belongs to parent. I'm surprise URA go down to get them to remove signage only. There's no land betterment charge here!

JonWeak

If my parents gotch money I sure will start business too

JonWeak

Depends lor. If her place is inconvenient then she can only cater to those stay nearby or with car.

But yeah lah, now some people also operate in their house so can save rental cost

kebinu

The one at pasir ris ah.
He sells at hdb huat till open store at somewhere now.
Googled he selling 4-6 dollar at his house seen like coffee good profit margin

I believe that one is kenna stopped by HDB. the article says till so sad that he can to close home cafe, then make use of the fame to open at east village.

kebinu

If my parents gotch money I sure will start business too

how much money is enough? 10 years ago, lots of gap in the market. nowadays, all gaps are covered, if not, someone with more money will come and whack you.

basically, I think there's no chance to make good money from biz liao. if say freelance service, it's like working for a salary too, cannot scale up.

reiser

But why would anyone want to sit outside with two walls caved in. We go cafe for the ambience, lighting, atmosphere, cafe aroma, music. This house cafe has what?

DragonFire

the-long-weekend-pizza-woodfire.jpg

Actually you are right. Don't think this is safe or regulated.

I know sure got pple will come in and kp that landed also use LPG gas and its dangerous.

But this one is fire with wood.

If I am neighbour I will also be worried.
SCDF regulations on LPG are strict. Can bunknife if there are irregularities or violations.

oddbasket

Doesn't look like gd for business even if low operating costs. Have to get there by car, not much parking space, need to be thick skin enough to ignore unhappy neighbours about cars blocking the road. Those taking public transport have no reason to not go their favourite places instead other than first time novelty.

Do take away business via grab delivery or food panda better, no need open house to public.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.