How to migrate WhatsApp Message from old iPhone to new iPhone?

Monstruo^

Hello guys, I need help with migrating WhatsApp messages from old iPhone (iPhone 7) to new iPhone (iPhone 16). I have never done this before.

Basically I just wanna transfer WhatsApp messages (including Starred Messages if possible) from one person. That’s about 3-4 years worth of messages. I dont mind to transfer the multimedia too.

I do not subscribe to iCloud. I only have the free version which is 5GB, which I think is not enough to hold 3-4 years worth of data.

I found out this Transfer Chat History to iPhone function on Whatsapp. But im afraid if I do wrong then the messages from old iPhone will disappear or mess up entirely.

Anyone got successfully transfer messages using this method? (without using iCloud method)

Can guide me through please? Or anything to take note not to do. Thanks!

Monstruo^

The following link is the Transfer Chat History to iPhone method.

https://faq.whatsapp.com/209942271778103/?cms_platform=iphone&helpref=platform_switcher#

However, got two points in red from below that I’m not sure.

What you need
  • The latest iOS version available on both of your devices. <<<<
    My iPhone 7 is until ios 15.8.3 and cannot be updated further, and iPhone 16 is IOS 18.
  • The latest version of WhatsApp from the App Store.
  • Use the same phone number as your old phone on your new phone.
  • Your new phone must not be registered on WhatsApp until you start the migration on your old phone.
  • Your phones must be close to each other.
  • Both of your phones should be connected to a power source.
  • Both of your phones need to have WiFi and be connected to the internet.
  • Both of your phones must have local network permissions. <<<< Not sure what this means. I only have one SIM card. Or is this not about the SIM card?

reddevil0728

Hello guys, I need help with migrating WhatsApp messages from old iPhone (iPhone 7) to new iPhone (iPhone 16). I have never done this before.

Basically I just wanna transfer WhatsApp messages (including Starred Messages if possible) from one person. That’s about 3-4 years worth of messages. I dont mind to transfer the multimedia too.

I do not subscribe to iCloud. I only have the free version which is 5GB, which I think is not enough to hold 3-4 years worth of data.

I found out this Transfer Chat History to iPhone function on Whatsapp. But im afraid if I do wrong then the messages from old iPhone will disappear or mess up entirely.

Anyone got successfully transfer messages using this method? (without using iCloud method)

Can guide me through please? Or anything to take note not to do. Thanks!
If you value your WhatsApp messages and data enough, I would just pay for one month of iCloud subscription to transfer the way they have provided officially.

If you really do value it, I don’t think the few bucks you have to pay is worth less than the anxiety of not knowing if the transfer is proper.

Monstruo^

If you value your WhatsApp messages and data enough, I would just pay for one month of iCloud subscription to transfer the way they have provided officially.

If you really do value it, I don’t think the few bucks you have to pay is worth less than the anxiety of not knowing if the transfer is proper.
The iCloud method is not the only method. There’s another way - Transfer Chat method, and it isn’t “improper” as it is listed on WhatsApp website. So I’m asking about people who had done the transfer using this method for their experience.

The iCloud method was not the official method and I have read about Reddit users who did not transfer successfully using this method.

reddevil0728

The iCloud method is not the only method. There’s another way - Transfer Chat method, and it isn’t “improper” as it is listed on WhatsApp website. So I’m asking about people who had done the transfer using this method for their experience.

The iCloud method was not the official method and I have read about Reddit users who did not transfer successfully using this method.
I’m quite certain based on memory that the iCloud method came before this transfer chat function.

whilst it might not be officially marketed as a transfer of chat…

it’s marketed as a backup and restoration…

https://faq.whatsapp.com/481135090640375

https://faq.whatsapp.com/618575946635920

I for one value the data integrity more than low cost of the iCloud subscription for one month.

that little cost is not worth saving for peace of mind.

further more one is a “backup” vs a transfer.

The former is more all encompassing

iosnewbie

Off topic a bit. For WeChat, I discovered to my dismay that WeChat chat history is not backed up to iCloud. When I changed my IP15PM to IP16PM recently, I made sure I had done my iCloud backup and a full iTunes backup to my PC, and then I factory reset the IP15PM and sold it away. When I completed restoring my new IP16PM from backup, I found that my WeChat basically has to be installed from scratch and couldn’t find any way to restore back the chat history.
The official way is to use the WeChat app to transfer the chat history to another phone or to their PC app.

Monstruo^

I’m quite certain based on memory that the iCloud method came before this transfer chat function.

whilst it might not be officially marketed as a transfer of chat…

it’s marketed as a backup and restoration…

https://faq.whatsapp.com/481135090640375

https://faq.whatsapp.com/618575946635920

I for one value the data integrity more than low cost of the iCloud subscription for one month.

that little cost is not worth saving for peace of mind.

further more one is a “backup” vs a transfer.

The former is more all encompassing
Yes, icloud came first. I did a thorough search on YouTube and Reddit and looks like there are a few methods to do so. That’s great. No mention of official or unofficial method though.

1) iCloud method (subscribe to iCloud+ and do backup)

2) Transfer Chat method (from my gathering, this is the most direct way and faster than iCloud, using QR code. First introduced in 2023. WhatsApp migration for iPhone to iPhone or iPhone to Android also can)

3) iTunes method

4) Other whatever softwares

I will consider your advice and get the 200GB storage first for a month. Then try the Transfer Chat Method. I read that (2) is now a popular method but some people do (1) and (2) together as (2)‘s speed is much faster.

For (1), some people backup liao but not all WhatsApp messages were updated and received on new phone duno why. So I shall try (1) and (2) today. :) Thanks~

Monstruo^

Randomly found a thread talking about various backup + transfer methods:
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/backing-up-of-iphone.7044225/page-2

WhatsApp migration aside, for general phone backup, I backup on external HDD. But Apple’s file manager really bky so it took some time.

I subscribe to iCloud for one month first then consider if I wanna prolong subscribe to it. I’d think the best method of course is iCloud + own external HDD backup. :o

Monstruo^

Well, for one, utilising iCloud will unlikely cause issues for your transfer to your new iPhone since WhatsApp backups uses iCloud for backing up.
So as what @reddevil0728 mentioned, just subscribe for a month and then transfer with peace of mind which is a tested and proven way?
Not sure about that. Read quite some people backup using iCloud but not much was transferred (WhatsApp migration thingy). Or last 6 months never backup at all. They said is a bug that’s not fixed yet.

Anyway, I decided to subscribe to iCloud for one month first! And use transfer method and see how. Looks very easy. If fail, then use iCloud backup method. Thanks! Try liao can share here.

Monstruo^

Off topic a bit. For WeChat, I discovered to my dismay that WeChat chat history is not backed up to iCloud. When I changed my IP15PM to IP16PM recently, I made sure I had done my iCloud backup and a full iTunes backup to my PC, and then I factory reset the IP15PM and sold it away. When I completed restoring my new IP16PM from backup, I found that my WeChat basically has to be installed from scratch and couldn’t find any way to restore back the chat history.
The official way is to use the WeChat app to transfer the chat history to another phone or to their PC app.
Oh no… Hmm I’m not a WeChat user, so I’m unsure. But thanks for sharing. I shall take note of that!

This kind of thing sometimes just happened. It happened to WhatsApp too, I saw a lot of people say they backup on iCloud liao but nth shown on new phone. So I am trying to find out what are all the methods to do transfer, which are the safest guaranteed way or if there is a combination, and be careful when doing transfer lor :o But if really gone then mybfd. :o

froztheart

Yes, for WeChat, you have to select transferring of data from the app to your new device.
There is no backup function on IOS nor Android. It works differently as compared to WhatsApp etc.

DIffferent apps have different ways of backing up and transferring of data, so best to check out in the app and verify.

froztheart

Yes, icloud came first. I did a thorough search on YouTube and Reddit and looks like there are a few methods to do so. That’s great. No mention of official or unofficial method though.

2) Transfer Chat method (from my gathering, this is the most direct way and faster than iCloud, using QR code. First introduced in 2023. WhatsApp migration for iPhone to iPhone or iPhone to Android also can)

3) iTunes method

I will consider your advice and get the 200GB storage first for a month. Then try the Transfer Chat Method. I read that (2) is now a popular method but some people do (1) and (2) together as (2)‘s speed is much faster.

For (1), some people backup liao but not all WhatsApp messages were updated and received on new phone duno why. So I shall try (1) and (2) today. :) Thanks~
iCloud would be a lot better since it backs up your data, so say your transfer fails, you are still able to try.
As compared to transferring where if it fails, would the OG data still be existent on your old device? If otherwise, you'll be in for a headache and more trouble imo.

The only likely content that will be missing are the "media contents (i.e. Photos/Videos etc.)" from my experience using iCloud for WhatsApp backup and restore.
Which might be due to a incomplete/unsuccessful backup/setting misconfig.
Not sure about that. Read quite some people backup using iCloud but not much was transferred (WhatsApp migration thingy). Or last 6 months never backup at all. They said is a bug that’s not fixed yet.

Anyway, I decided to subscribe to iCloud for one month first! And use transfer method and see how. Looks very easy. If fail, then use iCloud backup method. Thanks! Try liao can share here.
I just did a transfer earlier this morning, to my iPhone 16 and all's good with iCloud backup and restore, nothing missing.
Just make sure that you do a backup right before you decide to restore on your new device, and it shouldn't go wrong.

And yes, there are instances of backup not running automatically as configured.
I have a habit of checking up on the WhatsApp backup status since like you, I have important data (20GB) to retain.

reddevil0728

had to sell the ip15pm so quickly before ip16pm is set up?

3) iTunes method

haven't had any issue with missing data with icloud..

tbh. if you are someone who values your data, you shouldn't skimp on spending a few dollars to backup your data monthly.

put urself in the position where one day for whatever reason you lose your phone or your data got damaged beyond being able to retrieve data. would you have regretted saving a few bucks a month to be able to backup your data daily?

Monstruo^

iCloud would be a lot better since it backs up your data, so say your transfer fails, you are still able to try.
As compared to transferring where if it fails, would the OG data still be existent on your old device? If otherwise, you'll be in for a headache and more trouble imo.

The only likely content that will be missing are the "media contents (i.e. Photos/Videos etc.)" from my experience using iCloud for WhatsApp backup and restore.
Which might be due to a incomplete/unsuccessful backup/setting misconfig.

I just did a transfer earlier this morning, to my iPhone 16 and all's good with iCloud backup and restore, nothing missing.
Just make sure that you do a backup right before you decide to restore on your new device, and it shouldn't go wrong.

And yes, there are instances of backup not running automatically as configured.
I have a habit of checking up on the WhatsApp backup status since like you, I have important data (20GB) to retain.
I just subscribed to the 200GB one.

But how come when I backup my WhatsApp chat, it says I need to have another 3GB in order to backup my chats?

And if I want to include backing up my videos, I need another 8+GB sia omg.

Isn’t backing up is straight to the iCloud, doesn’t matter how much space I have on my current phone?

reddevil0728

But how come when I backup my WhatsApp chat, it says I need to have another 3GB in order to backup my chats?

Isn’t backing up is straight to the iCloud, doesn’t matter how much space I have on my current phone?
https://faq.whatsapp.com/589979312881396/?cms_platform=iphone&helpref=platform_switcher
  • Check your device has enough storage space to restore or create a backup. To have enough space, your available iCloud account storage must be at least 2.05 times bigger than the size of your backup. Learn how to reduce your backup size here.

froztheart

Yup, requires additional storage buffer, this is system parameters set to ensure hassle free back up.
@reddevil0728 has shared the rational as per WhatsApp.

Monstruo^

https://faq.whatsapp.com/589979312881396/?cms_platform=iphone&helpref=platform_switcher
  • Check your device has enough storage space to restore or create a backup. To have enough space, your available iCloud account storage must be at least 2.05 times bigger than the size of your backup. Learn how to reduce your backup size here.
Yup, requires additional storage buffer, this is system parameters set to ensure hassle free back up.
@reddevil0728 has shared the rational as per WhatsApp.
Thanks guys. :o

Current storage space on phone (ip 7) is about 3GB/128GB. :o :s13:

iCloud space subscribed to is 200GB.

WhatsApp app size is 11.3GB. (Eh I think maybe that’s why they say clear another 8GB+ if want to backup the videos as well. 3GB + 8GB = 11GB)

The phone is currently undergoing a iCloud backup, which already took two hours and probably takes another two hours to complete. Does this mean that each time I do a backup, it will take this long? Or is it because this is my first backup that’s why so long? :o

Also, does the above action include backing up all WhatsApp data? Or I need to do separately for WhatsApp?

Because iCloud backup means backing up the entire phone stuff right?

But on the other hand in WhatsApp, Setting > Chats > Chat Backup, got this Chat Backup button to select too. Then I can’t do this yet as I need to clear space to get 8GB more space. That’s why I do the iCloud backup first.

reddevil0728

Thanks guys. :o

Current storage space on phone (ip 7) is about 3GB/128GB. :o :s13:

iCloud space subscribed to is 200GB.

WhatsApp app size is 11.3GB. (Eh I think maybe that’s why they say clear another 8GB+ if want to backup the videos as well. 3GB + 8GB = 11GB)

The phone is currently undergoing a iCloud backup, which already took two hours and probably takes another two hours to complete. Does this mean that each time I do a backup, it will take this long? Or is it because this is my first backup that’s why so long? :o
yes subsequently is incremental.
Also, does the above action include backing up all WhatsApp data? Or I need to do separately for WhatsApp?
Will still need to do the whatsapp one.
Because iCloud backup means backing up the entire phone stuff right?

But on the other hand in WhatsApp, Setting > Chats > Chat Backup, got this Chat Backup button to select too. Then I can’t do this yet as I need to clear space to get 8GB more space. That’s why I do the iCloud backup first.
i personally will do whatsapp then icloud tbh

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.