Govt intends to stop masking NRIC numbers, says there is not 'much value in doing so'

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

Should lw step down?

• Total voters

uselessbum

The reply is asinine. There's a reason we don't go revealing that nilly willy to everyone, especially strangers. How about giving us the NRICs of all the civil servants as well while they are at it?

What they should do is put the whole thing behind singpass. If a person wants to look it up, then he/she signs into their singpass account and file a request with acra, along with the reason for doing so. The person whose information is being requested should in turn receive the information of the requestor as well. That way, there is accountability.

:(

Yowe55 mini

Dear all,

There is this saying -
此地无银三百两。

Confidence for the future. More good years ahead...
Thank you.

2yearswastedlife

NATIONAL Registration Identity Card (NRIC) numbers should not be treated as sensitive, and instead be viewed as full names currently are, a Ministry of Digital Development and Information spokesperson said on Saturday (Dec 14).

"As a unique identifier, the NRIC number is assumed to be known, just as our real names are known.

“There should therefore not be any sensitivity in having one’s full NRIC number made public, in the same way that we routinely share and reveal our full names to others,” the spokesperson said.

The response comes after public concern over the retrieval of NRIC numbers of citizens on the Accounting and Corporate Regulatory Authority’s (Acra) Bizfile online portal. The portal is used for business registrations and filings.

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/co...-be-treated-sensitive-unique-identifiers-mddi
thats y scammers propse in sg! huat ah

Mecisteus

Ok spokesperson, pls provide your full name and nric
They are not sensitive but doesn't mean everyone must write name and IC on their forehead.

Certain organization or merchants require a photocopy of your IC.

mynickname

If what the spokesperson say is true, then the gov need to amend the PDPA laws o. Nric no. Let's see if they will do it.
We acknowledge that coordination could have been better so that Acra’s move would not have run ahead of the Government’s intent. We apologise for this mistake and for causing anxiety to the public,” said MDDI.
Means the stupid minister in charge sleeping on the job. Never pave ground before laying road.

Cowbellc

数码发展及新闻部今天(14日)凌晨答复媒体询问时指出,局部隐藏身份证号码其实没有必要,所以政府有意在向公众解释这个问题之后,改变局部隐藏身份证号码的做法。

企管局则表示,当局在这方面的公共教育进行之前就采取公开完整身份证号码的作法,引起许多人的负面反应,也让人们对于完整身份证号被公开的不安,因此当局已经关闭这个搜索功能。

数码发展及新闻部在答复中解释,身份证号码是政府分配的独一无二标识符,用于识别个人身份,就像真实姓名一样,因此公开完整身份证号码不应该存在任何敏感性。

数码发展及新闻部指出,问题出在身份证号码被滥用的情况。一些机构会以身份证号码进行身份验证,但这是不应该的。

一直以来,人们已经习惯使用局部隐藏的身份证号码。但数码发展及新闻部指出,没有必要这样做,这样做也没有多大价值,因为只要知道一个人的出生年份,就能轻易破解获取完整的身份证号码。

因此,公共机构正在逐步淘汰局部隐藏身份证号码的作法,以免给人一种虚假的安全感。

当局承认,协调工作本该做得更好,而非让企管局提前改变局部隐藏身份证号码的作法。

数码发展及新闻部表示,知道国人长期以来都将身份证号码视为私密信息,需要时间来适应对身份证号码的新思维。

在未来一年,数码发展及新闻部个人资料保护委员会将开展公众教育活动,让公众了解身份证号码的用途、如何像使用姓名一样自由使用身份证号码作为个人识别码,以及正确的自我保护措施,其中包括正确使用身份验证和密码。

Not sensitive, then turn off this function.😁

testart

As people say, sometimes just NRIc can do wonders…

Like… reset SingPass password
Borrow books
Block bank accts

The reset of SingPass password is now more robust. Other than NRIC and issue date, it now requires to open up camera to verify the face. I recently reset my password had to open up camera.

Regarding borrowing books, I remember very very long ago the library issued a library card with a unique library card number. This internal library card number separated from NRIC number. If I remember correctly.

Then Somehow along the way revolution came, they want all systems to all 统一 reunification using NRIC number then now most systems becomes relies on NRIC number. It do away internal record.

Actually library should add on one more tier system like user id and password before allow people borrowing books. But become more troublesome.

what u mean by block bank account?

jonesftw

Dear all,

There is this saying -
此地无银三百两。

Confidence for the future. More good years ahead...
Thank you.

The government said early Saturday (Dec 14) that it intends to change the practice of masking National Registration Identity Card (NRIC) numbers, after privacy concerns were raised over the new Bizfile portal showing people's details for free in its search results.

The Ministry of Digital Development and Information (MDDI) said in response to media queries that the government had planned to make this change "only after explaining the issue and preparing the ground".

However, the Accounting and Corporate Regulatory Authority (ACRA)'s new Bizfile portal had a search function that produced people's names and full NRIC numbers. This new portal was launched on Dec 9, before the government had announced its plans.

"We acknowledge that coordination could have been better so that ACRA’s move would not have run ahead of the government’s intent," said MDDI in its statement.

"We apologise for this mistake and for causing anxiety to the public."

ACRA acknowledged in a separate statement early Saturday morning that the new portal had displayed a person's full NRIC number in the search results, which meant people no longer have to pay for that information.

"This is in line with the broader government effort to move away from using masked NRIC numbers," it added.

ACRA said it recognised that it had "moved ahead with unmasking" before public education on the appropriate use of NRIC information could be done.

"As a result, many reacted negatively to the new search feature, and expressed unease about their full NRIC numbers being made public," the authority said, adding that the search function has been disabled for now.

"We are sorry for the mistake and for causing anxiety to the public. We will continue to review and update the Bizfile portal to fulfil our role as the national business register of Singapore."

When CNA tried to use the search feature early Saturday morning, a pop-up message stated: "This service is temporarily unavailable. We apologise for the inconvenience caused."

MDDI said in its statement that NRIC numbers are meant to be used to identify individuals and "should be used as such".

"As a unique identifier, the NRIC number is assumed to be known, just as our real names are known," said the ministry.

"There should therefore not be any sensitivity in having one’s full NRIC number made public, in the same way that we routinely share and reveal our full names to others."

It added that it has been a practice for some time to use masked NRIC numbers. But there is no need to mask the number, nor is there much value in doing so, said MDDI.

"Using some basic algorithms, one can make a good guess at the full NRIC number from the masked number, especially if one also knows the year of birth of the person."

This is why public agencies are phasing out the use of masked NRIC numbers, so as to avoid giving a "false sense of security", said MDDI.

A problem arises when the NRIC number is misused - for example, when organisations rely on it as a form of authentication to access privileged information or perform privileged transactions.

But just as names alone would not be suitable for such authentication, neither should NRIC numbers, said the ministry.

"Likewise, the NRIC number should not be used as passwords, just as we should not be using our names as passwords. If the NRIC number is used for authentication, it would have to be kept a secret, which would defeat its main purpose as a unique identifier," MDDI added.

The ministry said it recognises that some Singaporeans have "long treated" the NRIC number as private and confidential information, and will need time to adjust to this "new way of thinking".

In 2025, MDDI and the Personal Data Protection Commission (PDPC) will be carrying out public education about the purpose of the NRIC number and "how it should be used freely as a personal identifier".

They will also aim to educate people on how they can protect themselves through the proper use of authentication and passwords.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...mddi-government-public-education-pdpa-4804801

mynickname

Ex SPH editor who obediently curated articles according to her paymaster

After she left her 26 years of journalism career, she decided to become a champion of free press and free speech overnight
Hypocrisy?

testart

Probably someone who has OCD worrying about NRIC.

If you think critically, NRIC and names are not enough to hack or steal your money.

When you register for a new SIM, ah bengs and ah lians have to photocopy your NRIC. They know your details.

The people in the HR also know your details. Insurance agents and lawyers also know your details when you consult them. lol
You are right. I feel an NRIC number alone, or even together with your name, isn’t enough to hack your money. It’s just one piece of the puzzle and without access to things like passwords, bank details, or other sensitive data.

Like no point or not practical keep worrying about NRIC numbers get leaked…

Caused telcos, HR, insurance agents, secretary and lawyers handle NRIC all the time. PDPA will come into picture about safeguarding these sensitive information.

Fraudster need more than NRIC to sabo you. Like they need the banking info, OTPs, or passwords. Without access to systems or linked sensitive data, just having the NRIC number is not enough.

I think lah I think only. The PDPA come into picture liao. PDPA want every organisation to do away with using NRIC as unique number to identify the person.
Example gym membership needs have their own membership number. Library need to come up their unique library number. Is just like the unique credit card number. So PDPA want to do away with using NRIC number as main number to identify the person.

Except for going to court, hospital, army, Cpf, LTA summon etc. Aka to say our NRIC number belong to government since is issued by government. Hence, NRIC number should only use for doing gov administration stuff.

Bank ask us to create our own user id and password to access our bank account. Only when reset password need NRIC.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.