Govt intends to stop masking NRIC numbers, says there is not 'much value in doing so'

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

Should lw step down?

• Total voters

tExtra

Need to physically in library to borrow book, face will be captured by cctv.

By this logic might as well said use other people nric number to get free medical services at polyclinic and hospital, as the self registration kiosk only required to scan nric number barcode.
You think CCTV is the panacea to identity theft? It might help deter such acts, but nothing is foolproof.

Fellowes

Is like you’re telling US citizens to share their social security number out in public. 😑

If unsure, confuse them.

doppypoppy

Wow their crisis communication is very poor, similar to the primary school standard press release on the S Korea martial law, seems like they didn't learn anything from covid

jeff79

People try to hide their age but kena sabo now. Nric can tell year of birth.
All my colleagues age now known.
This worsen age discrimination at workplace too.
Nric beginning with year of issue were after mid 1960s? Before that the nric number has no relationship with age. Same as new citizens nric number.

mynickname

Left and right, either side they also kena.

Either from this oversight or they had wrongly fined companies that had data breaches, exposing NRIC numbers. Worst, someone never updated the PDPA laws on the NRIC numbers.

And now, assuming that NRIC numbers are still confidential, can they tell who has searched for our records?
Say again, this is same bs level as pmd. They'll lose another seng kang

mynickname

People try to hide their age but kena sabo now. Nric can tell year of birth.
All my colleagues age now known.
This worsen age discrimination at workplace too.
Lol also means all your colleagues got acra registration, likely all outside own business. Got declare?

jeff79

You think CCTV is the panacea to identity theft? It might help deter such acts, but nothing is foolproof.
Then polyclinic and hospital better station nurse at self registration kiosk to check physically nric.:mad:

radioshack

NATIONAL Registration Identity Card (NRIC) numbers should not be treated as sensitive information, and instead be viewed as full names currently are, a Ministry of Digital Development and Information (MDDI) spokesperson said on Saturday (Dec 14).

"As a unique identifier, the NRIC number is assumed to be known, just as our real names are known.

“There should therefore not be any sensitivity in having one’s full NRIC number made public, in the same way that we routinely share and reveal our full names to others,” the spokesperson said.

The response comes after public concern over the availability of full NRIC numbers of citizens on the Accounting and Corporate Regulatory Authority’s (Acra) Bizfile online portal. The portal is used for business registrations and filings.

The MDDI spokesperson added that NRIC numbers can be misused when organisations rely on them as a form of authentication to access information or perform transactions.

“But just as our names alone would not be suitable as the basis for such authentication, neither should the NRIC number be used for this purpose,” the spokesperson said.

The spokesperson acknowledged the existing practice of collecting masked NRIC numbers (which, for instance, reveal only the last four digits) by organisations – however, these numbers can already be easily derived through basic algorithms, especially if the birth year of the person is known.

Furthermore, the spokesperson noted that public agencies have been phasing out the use of masked NRIC numbers to avoid giving a false sense of security.

“The government’s intent was to change the existing practice of masking the NRIC number only after explaining the issue and preparing the ground.”

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/si...gVv7XilK76rqup7yPQ_aem_EW-kAIxLzSqFIR38oG3FzA

Philipkee

I think lah. I think only. I think that’s why government don’t want private organisations to solely use the NRIC algorithms that government invented to perform identification authentication.

Maybe the NRIC was not invented for authentication.

NRIC was issued by government to a citizen as unique identification number to citizens

NRIC number issued by government belongs to government. NRIC is meant for people to do government administrative stuff or gov transactions.

From the article my understanding is

Example I roleplay as gov

Limpeh issue you this NRIC number is for you to do government administration stuff e.g. go hospital, school, army, CPF, LTA summon, buy HDB and attend court etc etc.

Your NRIC number issued by government belongs to government. Is for you to do government stuff only.

Gov has now tag NRIC to a robust system like SingPass now.

It is NOT meant for other private organisations bank or gym to use as User ID to access bank accounts or use it as membership number to identify your customers.

If you all private organisations want to authenticate, please create your own unique string of numbers (algorithms)

Don’t rely on our NRIC string of number system algorithm that I have invented . Please create your own unique number like credit card number to identify your own customer.

Alternative, Please create your own way of authentication. Don’t just use NRIC algorithms that I have invented.

Roleplay finished haha…I not sure is this their gov logic now
I think their logic is

why come out with this issue on Friday?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.