Govt intends to stop masking NRIC numbers, says there is not 'much value in doing so'

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

Should lw step down?

• Total voters

couch.potato

They will just transfer Jo to another sure win team next time… if they deem her current one as a risk…

she’s the one who hold fan for LHL in public right? lol…

Medicated Oil

Same as simplygo, initial idea is no show card balance at entry so as to speed up the clearance budden backfire n nw passengers hav to check card balance at a separate place. Saves their money collection time but increases our time wasted.
Their ultimate aim for any changes is to have less work and expenses at their end.
Same for the point system award for commuters who go early to work.
Making it troublesome on the user end all the time.

mryang

KYC is needed at client acceptance stage during which you will not be authorised to access their internal records.
Also, it's not only applicable to auditors but to other service providers as well.
Usually is company give approves... 😂 Don't now got changed or not.

Evil_Boss

Best bet they will blame the software vendor for this.

Then blame the project manager and system owner for not spotting the mistake.

As usual, minister and gov gets away scot free. No need apology.

Will khaw peh khaw bu remind his former partymate on harakiri? If pappies no double standards, his harakiri statement should not just apply to opposition parties.
he relaxing in his GCB saturday morning go lim kopi... what about u?
The govt is high handed as usual that I am really so sick of such treating me like an idiot kind of feelings.

They don't really care what some (or majority) citizens feel / want and would launch whatever they thought is 'good' for us.

Given that if masked / unmasked IC numbers served the same purpose (of differentiation in case of same name) but citizens feel safer with masked, then why must go against these citizens' preference?

Sick of that 'powerless' feeling again (so long didn't experience this as I thought I have been 'jaded' after so long).

I wonder a petition will help to reverse their coming efforts to 're-educate' us that IC number is nothing but just a number? (in my mind, unlikely will help coz of the usual outcome of 你说你的,我做我的。)

Such a major change, they didn't foresee public uproar, didn't do public consultation?

I hate the car that they built within their door, another classic case of 闭门造车。

*even my two adult kids are awed / jaw-dropped by this (in case some thinking that boomers like me are 'resistant to changes').

Tedicious

From CNA:

"As a unique identifier, the NRIC number is assumed to be known, just as our real names are known," said the ministry.

Why should NRIC assumed to be known? So next time can news ctr include a NRIC of a sinkie criminal in the news as well?

"There should therefore not be any sensitivity in having one’s full NRIC number made public, in the same way that we routinely share and reveal our full names to others."

Certainly we introduce ourselves to others by our name not NRIC number right? If there should not be any sentivitity in sharing NRIC number in public why is there introduction to mask our NRIC number? If now no need, I would expect all govt agencies website to share all civil servant NRIC number of each ministry website, after all govt should set the example for it's citizen. If cannot be done, den don't expect us to shallow this new ****

Reborn

when the search is still up I've tried searching names of friends and corlick I know...it is kind of random, some appears while others dont. my own name doesnt appear luckily...

showed my corlick I got hold of his nric he got shocked and immediately called me how I get it. lol
omg. And they didn't reg business before?

Maybe the database got some sort of error where some who never registered for any business, still erroneously got included?

BohemianSG

From CNA:

"As a unique identifier, the NRIC number is assumed to be known, just as our real names are known," said the ministry.

Why should NRIC assumed to be known? So next time can news ctr include a NRIC of a sinkie criminal in the news as well?

"There should therefore not be any sensitivity in having one’s full NRIC number made public, in the same way that we routinely share and reveal our full names to others."

Certainly we introduce ourselves to others by our name not NRIC number right? If there should not be any sentivitity in sharing NRIC number in public why is there introduction to mask our NRIC number? If now no need, I would expect all govt agencies website to share all civil servant NRIC number of each ministry website, after all govt should set the example for it's citizen. If cannot be done, den don't expect us to shallow this new ****

Then the spokesperson should tell his name and nric instead of signing off as annoymous spokesperson. Dun assume we know his NRIC and name.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.