Govt intends to stop masking NRIC numbers, says there is not 'much value in doing so'

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

Should lw step down?

• Total voters

Clarence NMT

That why should have 2 I'd as I mention before.

1 for public, 1 for private

Private 1 is the ID to login singpass
Public is ppl can search your profile or email to you

Like Microsoft did

From this ppl know your email also can't force hack your account, because the ID dun allow use to.login

tuxguy

Eugene Tan toking cock as usual in the article

Singapore Management University Associate Professor of Law Eugene Tan said the government’s Dec 14 stance is consistent with the PDPA, but “at odds with the public understanding and comfort level” on the use of NRIC numbers.

“The official shift in practice towards revealing full NRIC numbers cannot simply ignore this lived reality,” said Prof Tan.

“Singaporeans have been socialised into being sensitive to having their full NRIC number made public, and have accepted and internalised this.”

A public education campaign could “re-socialise people’s and organisation’s approach towards the non-masking of NRIC numbers”, he suggested.

Only when non-masking NRIC numbers is “widely practised and accepted” should public agencies proceed with using full NRIC numbers where necessary, said Prof Tan.

what’s your nric Eugene?

freshsoapsmell

can't believe the govt is going through this bullcrap

when i worked that i remembered hours of aimless and stupid meetings aimed to prevent public outroar like this

i used to roll my eyes quite a bit when my bosses scenario planned for every damn thing

weird that they didn't anticipate this uproar

BlackWing1977

Singapore Management University Associate Professor of Law Eugene Tan said the government’s Dec 14 stance is consistent with the PDPA, but “at odds with the public understanding and comfort level” on the use of NRIC numbers.

“The official shift in practice towards revealing full NRIC numbers cannot simply ignore this lived reality,” said Prof Tan.

“Singaporeans have been socialised into being sensitive to having their full NRIC number made public, and have accepted and internalised this.”

A public education campaign could “re-socialise people’s and organisation’s approach towards the non-masking of NRIC numbers”, he suggested.

Only when non-masking NRIC numbers is “widely practised and accepted” should public agencies proceed with using full NRIC numbers where necessary, said Prof Tan.
At a time where Singaporeans are increasingly targeted by scammers... is this a right move??

TopGun

Don't know what you mean by that.
Now NRICs are not publicly available info. There's controls in place.

Why are we providing more data than necessary in public domain? This provides more data points for scammers no?

The idea is to make NRIC an useless data point for scammers.

Your masked NRIC is not safe, contrary to what many assumes.

Lucky draw winners may be announced with their name and masked NRIC. By obtaining the person's birth year, one can quite easily reverse engineer the full NRIC thanks to the checksum.

prusswan.net

Very haphazard way of doing things. Sibeh jialat. They are supposed to introduce new measures first and then phrase out the old verification methods; this takes years to implement, not suka suka change on a dime.

LW should muster the iron in him and fire Jo Teo, for turning a reversible mistake into a national scandal. With the way his adminstration are handling things, he will never have an opportune time to hold the GE.
Must absolve first if not may have to form COI den affect GE

tuxguy

What kind of **** is the pap doing

The way gov is handling this make them look like Malaysia gov

Suddenly caught, cannot use monitoring, no ten year series, need to respond, end of year thought can relax and drift into 2025, gabra

tJ3333

• Organisations are generally not allowed to collect, use or disclose your NRIC number (or copy of your NRIC). They may do so only if it is required under the law (or an exception under the PDPA applies) or necessary to accurately establish or verify your identity to a high degree of fidelity.
Please pofma Eugene Tan.
https://www.pdpc.gov.sg/faq-listing?persona=individual&topic=nric-numbers&page=1

prusswan.net

But it is mainly due to previous breaches like singhealth.. Wats seen cannot be unseen

Together with paynow foreign actors already have comprehensive database of name + nric + contact. This is irreversible so pple nid to come to terms with this eventually

pwongkk

Yet another one. Last time 1G or 2G was not another better lah... just less dirt uncovered.
1G and 2G did improve our life. Single income can raise 2 kids to uni and own bigger hdb flat.

Today under 3G and 4G, need dual income. Hdb flat of equivalent room size shrunk in size and more expensive.

testart

so private organisations can collect NRIC number moving forward?

Since NRIC number is public, it naturally removes private organisations heavy responsibilities of securing and safeguarding NRIC numbers?

Before they disable the search function temporarily, I tried search my parents name, cannot be find. Only those people registered with bizfile then will have data profile be sold.

justice89

Thinking 20 30 years ahead is making us backwards.....is definitely easier for identity thieves to steal ones information .......

Philipkee

I just tried phone banking. I just need to key in nric and my one time password sent by sms. So if my phone got infected with a malicious app, a person might be able to perform transactions by phone banking if he can intercept the sms

Install a malicious app is one thing. People might be thinking no biggie if he never do internet banking, no banking app or off internet access when not in use. Cos the scammer just needs the nric and intercept the one time password.

pwongkk

Then why ACRA disable the search function?

The more funny things they try to do, the more it looks like it was a real mistake.

If this is intended feature, then why never punish the one who "enabled" this feature early? Not bounded by OSA for early info release?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.