I find China food don’t suit my taste bud

campoix

Boycott for what 😂
Cos they basically replace all the local shops in my area. Vegetable shops, tuition centres, clinics, food places all become china food. Only they can tank the rising rent. I asked one of my favourite Vegetables stall and the auntie said they increase the rent by $5k and cannot keep up with the costs. It is now a mala store.

JustForFun

China is huge.

Most China food in Singapore is from Middle and Northern part of China, which caters for foreign workers in Singapore.

Chinatown People's Park Food Centre (next to OG) is one example. Mostly China people from Middle or Northern China. The food there do not suit local or Malaysian or Taiwanese Chinese etc. A lot of 麻辣 and 东北 food.

At Chinatown People's Park (MRT Exit), I tried and ok with their 韭菜肉饼 S$2.50, 葱油饼.

In contrast, Chinatown Complex Market & Food Centre as well as Maxwell Hawker Centre are local food and taste.

Our food taste matches those from Southern part of China, similar to Taiwan/Kinmen/Hong Kong/Xiamen/Guang Dong food.

Ethan_

Ya… haven’t tried their 凉伴菜 hope I got the word correct… last time got one Chinese girl brought me to eat their knife cut noodles… ok.. can eat still…
Cannot quite understand the attraction of mala also. Look like a rojak of food stuffs. Don't look appetising at first sight. Alot quite oily some more (ironic as many so called like eat but claim want healthy). Think eat local rojak still more tasty.

Have ate before as treats from other. Don't find it appetising enough to have the urge to eat again. Between it and and yong tau foo, think will choose the latter more.

And some of the restaurants enclosed one, which mostly sell mala, go in that lingering heavy mala smell is abit turn off. Those open concept one still ok, not much smell. :s22:

FinalTidus

China food is one of the most toxic food that I have ever experienced.

Will not touch China food by a mile.

Can Or Not

Cos they basically replace all the local shops in my area. Vegetable shops, tuition centres, clinics, food places all become china food. Only they can tank the rising rent. I asked one of my favourite Vegetables stall and the auntie said they increase the rent by $5k and cannot keep up with the costs. It is now a mala store.
Or else massage shop…

Can Or Not

I like leh. Only complain is too oily.
Ok… it’s taste is sometimes not suit for me… too salty or I don’t know how to describe…

Their vegetables also not the ones we used to eat in Cai PNG….

newcell

Those China food stalls at Chinatown area can tahan so long. Their population here must be big.

zoossh

That's a very generic statement. China is so big!

I can go Tibet or Inner Mongolia come back say China food don't suit our taste bud. :cautious:
That will be Tibetan and Mongolian food instead.

dezzo69

i got a peer from nanjing and he is super particular about food. he actually told me nice food in china hard to find for him so he spend most of the time cooking at home.

he say in SG the food here is good esp the China cuisine because it is tailored to local palate which favors seasonings and layered flavors.

campoix

i got a peer from nanjing and he is super particular about food. he actually told me nice food in china hard to find for him so he spend most of the time cooking at home.

he say in SG the food here is good esp the China cuisine because it is tailored to local palate which favors seasonings and layered flavors.
My atb colleague says she prefer mala in Singapore because the meat is of higher quality.

zhoholang

Nanjing food is nice ..
Sichuan and dongbei food are the worst you only taste spiciness.. you don't even know if the meat are of good quality because the spiciness will cover the taste

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.