Seriously everything need money, life is hard 🙃

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

PikaManiac

Where got expensive?

Uniqlo t-shirt $19.90? 1 year buy 5 wear whole year.

Food court 1 meal $6 x 3.
Drinks $2 x 2
I give you 1 starkbuvks $7.5
Transport $4
1 day $30 nia.

nujiln

As I posted previously, you can never be happy if you focus solely on material wealth. As much as it sounds like fluff, joy and contentment cannot be found in material possessions. I’m not saying money is not important, because it absolutely is, but I’m saying that we need other aspects like physical, mental, spiritual wellness.

When I was younger, I also did what many Singaporeans like to do - long overseas trips, buy branded stuff etc - but as I age these things no longer matter as much. Activities like walks with my spouse, excercising, these are not expensive and are just as enjoyable.

Financials-wise, I actually track every single expense. I just don’t obsess over it - it takes about 1-2 mins to log my expenses daily and 30mins to reconcile my accounts monthly. Investment-wise, I only enter the market once a month and track performance at end of month

Lchlch

Where got expensive?

Uniqlo t-shirt $19.90? 1 year buy 5 wear whole year.

Food court 1 meal $6 x 3.
Drinks $2 x 2
I give you 1 starkbuvks $7.5
Transport $4
1 day $30 nia.
Bro, you hv family n children n household to support?

yellowkit

singapore is mostly middle class watch too much ig and try to live upper class lifestyle, then kpkb high cost of living.

you cant help someone who doesnt want to help themselves

cosmothecat

Actually you can write pretty long paragraphs and can articulate yourself quite well.

I am sure that you have a decent job and can continue to keep up. Try not to overthink and focus on the more important things in life. At work, focus on the next important step to keep your job safe.

It's also very impressive that you achieve 100k before age 25.
How does it work?

Having $100k cash savings before age 25 and "life is hard"?

grevq80o

Not saying idk nothing is free. But sg living really getting more unbearable lehhh.

And to be fair I know all the first world city has the same problem.

How come so many young people can still be so yolo, happy and carefree?

Everything needs money man. In before i behkan that why hei hei chuan.

From little to big things everything literally needs money. Eat 1 meal want find cheap option also hard. Public transport also keep upz fare though is already the cheapest options.

How to retire like that? How come people my age around me can keep spend money one? While everyday I'm stressing 101 things. And everything is money involved.

Wake up I'm immediately stressed about life. Everyday calculating how to make more money and cut down expenses. Thinking how to invest properly. How to build enough emergency funds, to if my insurance coverage is enough. And all the endless bills. And everything at home also need money. 1 thing spoil need pay to fix. Neighbor from hell do something then need immediately come up with plan B to counter. To looking for next place to move etc.

Is it they got parents support or I'm just tanking too many things alone and too suay? I see ig everyday can eat good food, or do something. Really so much money meh? Even though they are advancing next stage of life on and on also like a breeze one.

I see pregnant mummy everyday party and I'm like huh won't stress about later upcoming all the expenses meh?

I see mothers with kids still can keep go cafe hoping, house, kids all free meh?

I see singles buy 1 bag after another.

I'm really overwhelmed by life man...I can safely say I can feel how a solo breadwinner feels. 我真的很累。我的肩膀真的快扛不起。
U r living in reality. Every thing need $.
Fact is a lot of rich peepur has migrated to Sg and PAP kept them well hidden by not publishing figures/breakdown to truly inform sinkies for fear of harming Tan Ser Ling's social fabric. PAP care about ur feelings too much to reveal results of their unapologetic policies supposedly to improved ur well being.

juergenlam

Everything depends on your luck.... I got a friend, scrawnchy little ****, like those u 1 punch can floor type. Pua peh ku, beta personality. However, his career smoother than ky jelly. Work for o&g jv no need plp,work hard or showcase work. 10 years cbjkl, kkylp get at least 9 mths bonus yearly. Skills wise mayb a 7/10 but super in comfort zone.

So yeah, suck thumb and carry on...

tellyphone007

I am solo breadwinner.
I already feel the financial stress in supporting my family.
Everything increase, no decreased.
Only decrease is they gv rebates once a blue moon (to buy our heart)?
I am struggling with daily expenses now.
Next election, I know who I will choose.
Enough.
Dont mind me asking... Both your kids are working now? I thought should be more relaxed since kids started working....

106gunner

If you are not married and do not have dual income nor staying with parent and staying alone

worse if you are unemployed you will surely feel the pinch if you do not have saving to see you through

Better find a job if you are unemployed

cosmothecat

I think life is getting tougher for people our generation around the world, compared to our parents' generation. However, I actually think that while the cost of living in Singapore is stifling, Singapore is probably one of the better places to live as a young adult, compared to other advanced Asian economies like South Korea, Japan, and Taiwan.

And regarding your latter points, many people our generation no longer regard saving and investing for the future as a priotity. I know quite a few individuals living from paycheck to paycheck just to live the life they fantasize about, but cannot sustainably maintain.
True

tellyphone007

Everybody have financial stress IN Sinkieland! Very common. 99% of sinkies have this problem. the 1% no financial stress staying in IMH.

2 breadtalk bread = cost of 1 basic meal price.

Thats why stupiak article say more sinkie gamble more in SGpools... This ish call Buying Hope!

SGPools give us more hope than SGgarment!

Soracak

Everything depends on your luck.... I got a friend, scrawnchy little ****, like those u 1 punch can floor type. Pua peh ku, beta personality. However, his career smoother than ky jelly. Work for o&g jv no need plp,work hard or showcase work. 10 years cbjkl, kkylp get at least 9 mths bonus yearly. Skills wise mayb a 7/10 but super in comfort zone.

So yeah, suck thumb and carry on...

9 mth bonus yearly possible but dun need plp or work hard i dun believe. The world is unfair yes but it doesn't work like this.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.