Johor-Singapore special economic zone deal set for Monday signing, says Johor Menteri Besar

gravity_infinity

Err.. how is it better though?

Jobs - Companies setting up there are after cost savings. So you know there isn't going to be competitive salaries. It's also going to reduce jobs in Sg because companies are setting up there instead of in Sg.

Businesses - Companies are setting up IN MALAYSIA. How is it better for us?

I just dont see the benefit at all. Feels like digging our own grave.
its benefitting sg bosses. coz they can reduce costs. and many of these people are pap families and friends

hachi

Err.. how is it better though?

Jobs - Companies setting up there are after cost savings. So you know there isn't going to be competitive salaries. It's also going to reduce jobs in Sg because companies are setting up there instead of in Sg.

Businesses - Companies are setting up IN MALAYSIA. How is it better for us?

I just dont see the benefit at all. Feels like digging our own grave.
The core is still here. Leave the lower value jobs there coz it is cheaper.
Expansion of business and lower material cost, no good?
Since more companies there. and their laid back nature is good for smarter and hard working folks like us?

BMWguy

Can someone please tell me how this benefits singapore?
we lack of land, they have. we lack of workers, they have. So can stop importing from some south asia or east asia countries?

Think of JB as extended woodlands ? So some of sinkies go over to extended woodlands, it will be less crowded on sg mainland?

y33bas

Shld be win win for governments in terms of tax and also benefits with lower costs.

AndroidComa

Tis cannot be trusted la. So Singaporeans going jb next time just say going to sg jb sez then no need passport? 😂
could be win win cos immmigration really make me damn sian to visit JB
once passport free ah, their economy will spike to newer highs cos i will be visiting JB every weekend for meals for sure

sunsetbay

Should sign a deal to lease a land to build HDB for sinkies~ free up the space at SG~ Johor pretty much don't have height restriction, same size of land in Johor can build triple or more units than in SG~ :s22:

lupster

we lack of land, they have. we lack of workers, they have. So can stop importing from some south asia or east asia countries?

Think of JB as woodlands extension? So some of sinkies go over to woodlands extension, it will be less crowded on sg mainland?

This is like running a company and setting up overseas factories to improve production capacity at lower cost. But it doesnt work this way for a country leh. There's no country in the world that would give up their advantage and that is what we are doing here.

BMWguy

This is like running a company and setting up overseas factories to improve production capacity at lower cost. But it doesnt work this way for a country leh. There's no country in the world that would give up their advantage and that is what we are doing here.
actually we reached dead end liao becos our ability to develop is limited by our amount of land and now almost every inch of land is being used/developed. No more room for improvement/development liao

So just like a company, we are stagnant. For the company to expand and develop, need more factories aka singapore need more land to develop if not we are at the dead end liao

Got 2 choices lo.

1) Expand population to 10m within the current land scape

OR

2) Expand our land size by "merger" with JB

lupster

The core is still here. Leave the lower value jobs there coz it is cheaper.
Expansion of business and lower material cost, no good?
Since more companies there. and their laid back nature is good for smarter and hard working folks like us?
Firstly, the thing about a singaporean core has always been lip service leh.

Expansion of business is good if it's in Sg and benefiting Sg as a whole. Doesn't benefit Sg at all with it being in Malaysia.

Also the high cost for materials Sg is largely due to profiteering. It's obvious when prices for items increase by 2-3 times just by bringing them across the causeway. We can have reasonably priced items in Sg if we do something about the rampant profiteering.

There is nothing preventing more and more businesses to move out and force Singaporeans to work on SEZ instead.

bikermice

ijjit welly soon got hope can use ringgit in both sg and my already? then no need to troublesome every time go money changer liao

Prof. Utonium

actually we reached dead end liao becos our ability to develop is limited by our amount of land and now almost every inch of land is being used/developed. No more room for improvement/development liao

So just like a company, we are stagnant. For the company to expand and develop, need more factories aka singapore need more land to develop if not we are at the dead end liao

Got 2 choices lo.

OR

With so many EDMWers against, seems like this would be a success. Reverse indicator. :s13:

BMWguy

This will only result in more of them here
dun forget many sinkies will move over to jb too.. so more of us there too especially retirees

If u ask me where i want to stay, honestly i rather stay in JB, more spacious.. here concrete jungle very cramp and all concrete

I think our govt dun mind old unproductive retirees go live in JB la. hahahahaha

rammsteinfansg

Got 2 choices lo.

OR

Siao Liao ultra bleaking days ahead

AndroidComa

Got 2 choices lo.

OR

dun buy into the government's propaganda that singapore has got no land
singapore has got NO FREE LAnd for the govt to use
if they wanna take back certain parcels, it is gonna involve a high cost
see how big ridout is?
see how many GCBs there are?
one small plot of land now can house even more people with 'advancement in building tech' that's why build upwards of 40 floor
with more efficient layouts and surface carpakrs now removed and become a MSCP
with more landed factories getting removed and moved into HDB type of factories and reclaimed land
with lesser babies and more army camps being cleared out

where got not enough land? it is just not cheap enough for the government to play the shuffling game

lupster

Got 2 choices lo.

OR

There is no reason to run Singapore even more like a company in the first place. It's bad enough now there is no need to take it even further. How does this benefit the average worker though.

lifeisinforashock

For sg based companies either relocating fully or partially to msia, surely will cut cost by hirin the msians in msia or moving the msians here back to msia but payin in MYR.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.