Starhub UltraSpeed 3Gbps/5Gbps/10Gbps plans

CCCustom

Update on my journey from Singtel legacy 1Gbps ONT BB to Starhub 5Gbps ONT with digital voice number port over for those
who thinking of taking similar route.

As advised by bros here, i only called to cancel the Singtel BB after SH BB was working after installation on 15th Jan, making sure to stress to Singtel that i wanted Singtel digital voice to remain. Received email from Singtel that BB will be disconnected on 22nd Jan and digital voice will no longer be free and chargeable at 10 bucks.
Received email from Singtel on 27th Jan that Digital voice will be terminated on 31st Jan. At 9.30am on 31st Jan, i tried to dial in and out and it was no longer working. So i switch the cable from Singtel tel line 1 to Starhub tel line 1.
the old number not in action yet while the new number from Starhub could work.
tried again at 6pm, this time both numbers cannot work. I tried again before i slept around midnight still same results.
At 9am on 1st Feb, the old number to port in can finally work while the starhub new number is gone.
Wait so you terminated your SingNet before the number porting completed?

My installation yesterday, yesterday was also the last day of my M1 contract … right now the phone number is a different number … the installation guy said about 2 weeks for porting, which sounds about right from your description …

But he said I cannot terminate my M1 until the number has ported over, otherwise M1 terminate the account the number also gone before it can be ported.

I’m like … walao then die die must give M1 another 2 weeks of $$ without using their service :s15:

xiaofan

eb810, hb710, be85 and be800 should all are using qualcomm 1220pro platform

so energy is around the same, maybe isp models is a bit lower with lesser ports and antenna?

but dont we all turn off energy efficient ethernet and use full broadcast power? :o

No, as per the previous report by @tsammyc, HB710 is using the mid-range Qualcomm IPQ5322 CPU. Therefore I believe it has no chance of getting 2GB RAM either.

TP-Link EB810v, Deco BE85 and Archer BE800 are using the high end Qualcomm Networking Pro 1220 Platform (IPQ9574 or IPQ9570 CPU). Singtel issued HB810 should be quite similar to Deco BE85 and use the same Qualcomm Networking Pro 1220 Platform.

Reference:
https://www.qualcomm.com/products/i...ks/networking-device-finder/tp-link-deco-be85
https://www.qualcomm.com/products/i...networking-device-finder/tp-link-archer-be800

xiaofan

It's a condo. Source from developer. Yes, should be all load-bearing walls. If I need points in bedrooms 2 and 3, or potentially 4, wouldn't this work like a normal ONT+Router in DB split into multiple routers in different rooms?

Would the nodes in the different rooms be connected wirelessly with living room's? And the only wired node would be from DB to Living? Which would be the ideal situation?

Thanks for all the kind replies here!

Just one comment: Ethernet Backhaul is always better than wireless backhaul.

xiaofan

btw your hb710 got show memory utilisation in admin page? is it at ~60% or ~30%?
60% = 1GB ram
30% = 2GB ram

@xiaofan :o

No, as per the previous report by @tsammyc, HB710 is using the mid-range Qualcomm IPQ5322 CPU. Therefore I believe it has no chance of getting 2GB RAM either.

I do not see any mentioning of RAM usage since I use it in AP mode behind OpenWRT. When I use it in the router mode (Double NAT), I faced issues with slower wireless download speed compared to the upload speed.

Anyway, just changed the Operation Mode to Router mode and the memory usage is at 55%. This also confirms that HB710 has only 1GB RAM.

iZDfLwi.png

Henry Ng

Update on my journey from Singtel legacy 1Gbps ONT BB to Starhub 5Gbps ONT with digital voice number port over for those
who thinking of taking similar route.

As advised by bros here, i only called to cancel the Singtel BB after SH BB was working after installation on 15th Jan, making sure to stress to Singtel that i wanted Singtel digital voice to remain. Received email from Singtel that BB will be disconnected on 22nd Jan and digital voice will no longer be free and chargeable at 10 bucks.
Received email from Singtel on 27th Jan that Digital voice will be terminated on 31st Jan. At 9.30am on 31st Jan, i tried to dial in and out and it was no longer working. So i switch the cable from Singtel tel line 1 to Starhub tel line 1.
the old number not in action yet while the new number from Starhub could work.
tried again at 6pm, this time both numbers cannot work. I tried again before i slept around midnight still same results.
At 9am on 1st Feb, the old number to port in can finally work while the starhub new number is gone.
That is ok and successful pop in.

kimsix

TP-Link EB810v, Deco BE85 and Archer BE800 are using the high end Qualcomm Networking Pro 1220 Platform (IPQ9574 or IPQ9570 CPU). Singtel issued HB810 should be quite similar to Deco BE85 and use the same Qualcomm Networking Pro 1220 Platform.

Reference:
https://www.qualcomm.com/products/i...ks/networking-device-finder/tp-link-deco-be85
https://www.qualcomm.com/products/i...networking-device-finder/tp-link-archer-be800

cant be, ipq5322 is 6x6 and cannot have dual 10G

https://www.qualcomm.com/content/da...ocuments/Immersive-Home-326-product-brief.pdf

Qualcomm IPQ5322 Quad-Core Cortex-A53 @ 1.5GHz processor for robust performance.
2×2 on-board 2.4GHz radio, offering up to 573Mbps physical data rate for reliable connectivity.
Supports 2×2 5GHz & 2×2 6GHz QCN9274/QCN6274 Wi-Fi 7 modules, delivering up to 5764Mbps physical data rate for high-speed wireless transmission.
Equipped with 4 x 2.5Gbps Ethernet ports and 1x 10Gbps SFP port, providing fast and flexible wired connectivity option

xiaofan

They may add a dual port switch chip. I will need to dig out the post by @tsammyc.

But from the low CPU usage, indeed it could be a higher end chipset.

On the other hand, since I can see reduction of WiFi download speed in router mode when using HB710, compared to no reduction of WiFi download speed with Archer BE805 (MediaTek Filogic 880 chipset), I tend to think HB710 will not be using the high end IPQ9570/IPQ9574 CPU (Qualcomm Networking 1220 Pro chipset).

xiaofan

Qualcomm IPQ5322 Quad-Core Cortex-A53 @ 1.5GHz processor for robust performance.
2×2 on-board 2.4GHz radio, offering up to 573Mbps physical data rate for reliable connectivity.
Supports 2×2 5GHz & 2×2 6GHz QCN9274/QCN6274 Wi-Fi 7 modules, delivering up to 5764Mbps physical data rate for high-speed wireless transmission.
Equipped with 4 x 2.5Gbps Ethernet ports and 1x 10Gbps SFP port, providing fast and flexible wired connectivity option

Here is the original post by tsammyc.
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...plan-launched.7024290/page-157#post-154740708

Unfortunately I think CPU and RAM covered during teardown. Done for FCC certification, but almost certainly Qualcomm 1.5Ghz cpu and as you said, about 1GB of ram

After some CSI, I figured out the CPU in the HB710. It's actually shown in one of the pictures. It's the Qualcomm IPQ5322. That is part of Qualcomms Immersive Home 326 WiFi Platform. Everything fits: 1.5Ghz CPU and 2 10G Ethernet ports. Even has that USB 2.0 port.

Qualcomm Immersive Home Platform 326 IPQ5322

54216248083_b5e2390bf2.jpg

Jurong640

definitely!

but people still don't want to listen and rely on Wireless Backhaul:s22:

in short, please invest on Data Point(s). it's genuinely a good investment
Does new BTO have data points in each room?

I'm currently still staying in those old HDB, where my room does not have any data point, have to manually lay my own data points, dig a hole through living room and into the room for the ethernet cable.

HiHelloBye

Does new BTO have data points in each room?

I'm currently still staying in those old HDB, where my room does not have any data point, have to manually lay my own data points, dig a hole through living room and into the room for the ethernet cable.
new BTOs have data points, as they have to comply with 'COPIF-2018' standards

namah19

Wait so you terminated your SingNet before the number porting completed?

My installation yesterday, yesterday was also the last day of my M1 contract … right now the phone number is a different number … the installation guy said about 2 weeks for porting, which sounds about right from your description …

But he said I cannot terminate my M1 until the number has ported over, otherwise M1 terminate the account the number also gone before it can be ported.

I’m like … walao then die die must give M1 another 2 weeks of $$ without using their service :s15:
For singtel, i can terminate BB but not digital voice as singtel digital voice can be stand alone. The termination happened automatically once the starhub side successfully port over the number. So i probably have to pay a pro rated Singtel digital voice subscription. Although i had to tahan almost 15 hours of no digital voice for the backend side to take effect.
i believe M1 BB and digital voice are mutually inclusive so you can only terminate BB and digital voice when starhub side port over the old number otherwise you will lose the old number

nightrain1977

The Starhub sales person called me to recontract for UltraSpeed 5Gbps ONR at $30.37 for 24 months. He also mentioned after the 24 months contract expires, the price will still remains at $30.37. Just wondering is he correct or the price will increase??
Thanks...

xiaofan

The Starhub sales person called me to recontract for UltraSpeed 5Gbps ONR at $30.37 for 24 months. He also mentioned after the 24 months contract expires, the price will still remains at $30.37. Just wondering is he correct or the price will increase??
Thanks...

This seems to be the answer from Starhub Sales Person. Just have to believe it for now since no one can confirm whether it is true or not. There are also some other different interpretations as well.

No need to worry too much about 24 months later when new offers will be better (eg: same price but with better router bundle, or slightly lower price per month).

I am using Starhub 500Mbps plan (no contract since Sept 2020) and took up the S$30.37 recontract offer ONT option (to be installed on 22 Feb 2025).

Personally for existing users, I feel this S$30.37 per month recontract offer is less hassle than the S$29.55 per month offer (meant for new users even though existing users can sign up as a new user and cancel the existing plan upon installation). Starhub sent a message asking whether I was interested. I replied yes. Then two days later (mentioned up to three working days) a Starhub sales person called and fixed all the things for me. They also sent the terms and conditions using email.

sgstab

SH 5G up yesterday ( $29.55pm / 2 yrs , ONT ).
PC 2.5G ready ethernet running around 2.3G which is acceptable.
But for wireless, speed same to my previous SH 1Gbps around 900M to 1.2G ( 2-3m to router), my router Xiaomi BE7000, handset 16 pro.
what is your guys highest wifi speed achieved under 5Gbps with your router and wifi 7 handset.

attrapereves

I expected it would be a condo. Comes with walk-in wardrobe by default configuration, hmm? :o

I can’t comment on condos’ loadbearing walls vs HDB’s, but if they are similar, you cannot use wireless backhaul which is using 5G … will end up like how some here struggled with spotty-to-no coverage, because 5G cannot penetrate the loadbearing walls, before they finally tried wired backhaul.

The wall of the walk-in wardrobe facing the corridor to the rooms, has a wall coloured red? Does that mean loadbearing or non-loadbearing? If non-loadbearing, a node here might be able to cover the corridor and the 2nd & 3rd bedrooms. But there’s no data point in there (nor in the other 2 bedrooms), it seems? You might need a contractor to run a data cable here for a port, but I don’t know run from where would be more ideal (I guess from your master bedroom next to its data port would be the path of least resistance?) …

I’m not sure why your living room has data points on both sides but not going into the other 2 bedrooms though.

Morning! Ehh all bedrooms have 2 data points. I did not include the 2 other bedrooms cause I did not renovate them. Maybe I try the ethernet backhaul that members here shared first! then if cannot I will ask u guys again.

xiaofan

SH 5G up yesterday ( $29.55pm / 2 yrs , ONT ).
PC 2.5G ready ethernet running around 2.3G which is acceptable.
But for wireless, speed same to my previous SH 1Gbps around 900M to 1.2G ( 2-3m to router), my router Xiaomi BE7000, handset 16 pro.
what is your guys highest wifi speed achieved under 5Gbps with your router and wifi 7 handset.

For your SH 1Gbps plan, WiFi internet speed will be limited by the 1Gbps WAN Speed. 5Gbps plans will usually not limit the WiFi speed (other than some special cases).

iPhone 16 Pro or non-Pro --> max WiFi 7 speed reported is about 1.4Gbps to 1.6Gbps (5GHz band or 6GHz band). Apple iPhone is lagging behind in terms of WiFi support compared to Android.

Xiaomi BE7000 does not support 6GHz band, so difficult to get higher than 2Gbps.

Android FlagShip phones will have higher speed with WiFi 7 routers (say up to 2Gbps on the 5GHz band, up to 4Gbps or even higher at 6GHz band if the WiFI 7 router has 6GHz band).

Best WiFi 7 speed in this forum:
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/wifi-7-device-speedtest-and-wifi-7-adapters.7048233/

On the other hand, no need to chase higher than 1Gbps WiFi speed for a mobile phone in reality, even though it is fun to get the higher speedtest results.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.