Is it that difficult to choose a cca that you want in secondary school?

hachi

My kid is in P4 now. Can I ask how do parents help them select 6 choices for secondary schools? Should we see the school’s cop first or look at CCA availability?
You select sec sch base on CCA not academic?

Subprimer

CCA is pointless if the student have no interests in that activity. They will be forced to do that for 4 years. Compulsory is one thing, not being able to select is worse for them.

My recommendation is that if your kid have no passion for any CCA they see, highly discourage them from joining any uniform groups at least. I know a friend's kid who fell into depression because her kid can't pull out from a uniform group. The school deter quitters by telling them that if you quit uniform cca, you have to join another uniform cca.

heard that everyone siam uniformed group nowadays cos it is deemed a dumping ground until they have to come out with LEAPS2.0 to entice people to join....

uniform group, min need 4 to hold flag, min 10 to march with 3+2 blank file
really is a dumping ground lai eh

Parents who force their kids to join a uniformed group should be hanged—unless the kids genuinely want to join.

ninefile

Parents who force their kids to join a uniformed group should be hanged—unless the kids genuinely want to join.
parents dun force lah, dun encourage also LLST sometimes the school just allocate randomly

yildun

Its true, last time i wanted to join female volleyball after watched the chen liping chen xiuhuan volleyball drama but was rejected.

No luck with female swim team, female badminton, female tennis either. End up in dumping ground.

That's the purpose of co-ed right, boys and girls study and do CCA together?

Philipkee

Soon uniform groups also need trial. Cannot do 20 pushups cant get into ncc. Will get thrown to library club
What’s wrong with library club? I was librarian before but I was quite nerdy type

During my time, other than stock taking, you have two jobs

One is to chop on the book that says return by such and such a date plus write the borrower’s name on the card or sit at the entrance of the library and check the chop on the book

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
sometimes can't fit them all as there are limited vacancies
me can't even get myself into the sch's football team after 2 years of trying

but that's ok
it's their loss anw .. :crazy:

galmongie

Nope, I picked a sport that I'm relatively interested in.
Not aiming for school team though.
So only got benefit of 1 point for L1R5 purpose when the max is 2.

Philipkee

Its true, last time i wanted to join female volleyball after watched the chen liping chen xiuhuan volleyball drama but was rejected.

No luck with female swim team, female badminton, female tennis either. End up in dumping ground.

I remember. My Chinese is bad but when I was in p1, the Chinese teacher was asking who what to join the hua Yue club to pay $2

This was P1 when Eca (last time it’s eca) was only from P3 so this was very interesting. So I went home and ask my mother for $$2 for eca

Next day I gave the teacher $2 and she smiled at me and said do u know this eca is only for females?

I was like oh and walked away dejected. P3 I joined the scouts

alvincy

Schools nowadays are no longer just teaching, now is running like a business. Principle is the CEO.

Need to win competitions, good students joining, high passing rates......

So performing arts, sports unless you are good at competition level, no need go, you will be ASSIGNED to dumping ground like some clubs or uniform groups.

chickenpiez007

TS.....have you ever wondered your true soul were trapped in a stinky BBFA body......???? based on what you had described.........

DulanMax

What’s wrong with library club? I was librarian before but I was quite nerdy type

During my time, other than stock taking, you have two jobs

One is to chop on the book that says return by such and such a date plus write the borrower’s name on the card or sit at the entrance of the library and check the chop on the book
Library club best.

Others all sweating outside but you in aircon room. Best CCA I had in pri sch

Quala98

during sec school, i wanted a CCA that doesnt sweat too much. Cos going back and fro is too much hassle..

at first forced to choose NCC cos parents tiagong can prepare for army 6 years in advance, and those "seniors" during orientation say its only on Saturday. Heng didnt get in cos those NCC guys in my class every other day need to fall in outside their club house.

then other uniformed groups doesnt looks interesting to me. And St John need to read bible... All sports related CCA i didnt pass the qualifying tests and also need to sweat alot

then i joined those that dun need to sweat too much.. but end up after 2 years, the CCA i joined closed down cos the teacher in-charge retired...

muji4832

It was called ECA back then.

I was in the band & athletics which took up 4-5 days in a week, including Saturdays.

Eventually cannot tahan have to give up 1.

killing_my_dreams

Its all part of an effort to help boost the economy.

For the secondary school kids that had no talent to join sports or music CCAs or clubs with aircon, they will be forced to join UG. Then they will suffer from self esteem issues and resentment of all the negative things in UG.

Then when they give birth to their own children 15-20 years later, this trauma will cause them to be more likely to spam their kids with enrichment for sports and/or music.

More huat for enrichment centre and music schools.

Anecdotal Sauce: my female friend was in UG during sec school, but intends to send kid to learn violin so that the kid can siam UG.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.