That's my suspicion too.It's abt increasing cpf withdrawal age??? Just a guess lol
// However the payout date did increase, from age 60 during the introduction of MSS (year 1987), to age 62 (year 1999), and gradually to age 65 (year 2012 - 2018). //The withdrawal date is age 55 and we have to thank Dr. Toh Chin Chye for speaking up for us ordinary citizen during the parliament during 1984. At that time, the gov brought up a proposal to raise the withdrawal age from 55 to 60. Dr. Toh spoke up valiantly for us and fight against the proposal, even though he was one of the founding leader of PAP.
Due to the strong public opposition and the concerns brought up by Dr. Toh, the proposal to raise the withdrawal age did not proceed.
However the payout date did increase, from age 60 during the introduction of MSS (year 1987), to age 62 (year 1999), and gradually to age 65 (year 2012 - 2018).
Will the payout date be adjusted upwards in the near future? Very very likely, from all the hints that the gov had shown us. (Longer life expectancy, higher retirement age, etc)
Some interesting tidbits on the history of CPF and the person we need to be thankful for, fighting for us to keep the withdrawal age at 55.
so u want 70 yo nurse wipe 90 yo pigu?
Work longer doesnt mean wont fall sick..my point is gov want old people to keep working and active because gov dun want healthcare system burden by old people
So my guess is gov increase retirement age so old people will not fall sick and old people wan see their CPF badly
actually I went hospital before I seen one very old uncle working as healthcare assistant
Means CPF withdrawal and payout will be delayed?
Talk like easy but in real world 50 yo oredi no one wants to hire liao have to live frugally to tong till 55 for CPF withdrawal and then 65 for CPF payout.
Raise retirement/ rehiring age but keep the withdrawal/ payout maybe still acceptable to some folks.
Extend CPF withdrawal/ payout is ownself look to be voted out.
in a coffin that is. govt say u no die still need to workMoi wanna tangping
the idea is no retirement, u die then no need work. as per govtthen when can really retire liddat????
can work till that age, got the energy and vitality to retire and spend/enjoy your life or not?
then can move goal post too right
time to plan how to get out of this vicious cyclethe idea is no retirement, u die then no need work. as per govt
skills future is just feeding buaygan local companies and course providers la.That's my suspicion too.
The whole "we will invest in skillsfuture, we believe in skills based hiring, we will push for it" is just the smokescreen.
Changing CPF goalposts is likely the real reason. Because that's well within gov control.
Whereas re-employment, getting Pte sector to follow suit with this whole retirement age thing... Its just best effort. I mean what can they do? U can't force MNC into submission for these things anyways. KPI and quotas? Sure, cleaner job lor.
Really Good Luck to sinkies.
Your Govt really pawned you guys deep deep.