Chan Chun Sing on how some black sheep in the tuition industry can hurt the entire education sector

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

jumpthepig

Black sheep - 不听话?……. :ROFLMAO:

One famous sinkie said “但是还是要听政府的“……Else, will tio fixed soon isis? :ROFLMAO:

coolmyth

Good schools choose good students.

So what's wrong with tuition centres doing the same? :LOL:

Alphas

Then ban the tuition Centers from advertising the grades of students, make it illegal to use grades as an advertisement. Regulate the tuition Centers on acceptable terms for students.
Talk is cheap.

fulaien

Baa, baa, black sheep, have you any cotton?
Yes, sir, yes, sir, three bags full
One for the master, one for the dame
One for the little boy who lives down the lane

buffybuffy

Schools under his care doesn’t want to teach much. Instead, they expect students to go tuition so that they are prepared when coming to school

This guy is so so so off the ground.

Raelight

Schools under his care doesn’t want to teach much. Instead, they expect students to go tuition so that they are prepared when coming to school

This guy is so so so off the ground.

Lol they tok must have evidence or statistic one hor.
Cannot anyhow.
How many percent bla bla bla etc.

I_am_bored

Ccs is really one of the better policy makers, all his agencies he gone through really make effort to solve deep rooted issues.

I agree with his statement that all students should know what makes them special. If we don’t know what’s our competitive edge, very hard to stand out from others.

dezzo69

CCS is definitely right that there are tuition centers that choose their students.

Most parents will send their kids for tuition will know which tuition center he is referring to.

I would however like to point out that tuition centers on a whole do value add to students ability to gain better grades, more so that what schools can do if the kid is not in the better classes in school.

precisely. the ''streaming' system in gahmen schools also pre-select the students what.

imho, tuition centers and tuition teachers are able to add value education to students who are not able to maintain or improve their grades. even remedial classes in school add marginal improvements to students in general because although the classes might be smaller in number of students, its still the same struggling students the teacher has to teach with only so much time.

end of the day, big classes = less quality. MOE just trying to spin their way out of spending more money on education.

TBF, CCS attempts at reforming/restructuring the educational system is applaudable because his previous 4 predecessors did almost nothing but pussyfooted around the problems. it will take an entire generation of students to see if whatever they are doing works.

AndroidComa

CCS is definitely right that there are tuition centers that choose their students.

Most parents will send their kids for tuition will know which tuition center he is referring to.

I would however like to point out that tuition centers on a whole do value add to students ability to gain better grades, more so that what schools can do if the kid is not in the better classes in school.
but CCS forget to highlight that schools ALSO preselect their students isn't it?
else everyone goes to HC, RI, RGS?

Dr Stephen Strange

He should piss on the floor and take a good look at his supposed educators.

The reason why so many are going for tuition is because the teachers do not do their jobs properly. They are just more interested to meet their KPI, do all the bo liao projects to score points so that they are get a better performance grade. Teaching is expected, so those who teach well doesn’t score more performance points, thus they don’t bother. Some HOD friend can even complain about pupils who do not have tuition outside. KNN, do your ****ing job.

Making your education sector look bad? Ya, the tuition sector doing your job properly for you makes your team look bad coz they are not bothered.

Cryptrus

secondary school also choose students what... PSLE is the pre-selection exam ...AL1 all go elite school. then u let then consume the product ...got difference meh.....better school better teachers. So MOE teacher are also not equal.

standarture

Tutors earn damn big bucks leh. Drive conti cars, stay condo/landed. SG shouldn't even have a tutor industry. I attended before one school, is supposely 1-1 but is a big classroom. Imagine got at least 20 students per session per day and each pay a few hundred a month. Make that 2-3 sessions a day and you can tell the teacher will earn 5 digits a month already.

Cryptrus

As Minister of education he should be ashamed if people trust tuition centre, and he go promoting them?
Can vote him out already....
Not that i trust tuition centers, enrichment classes.... my kids return from school and most of the time 50% of the work dont understand...parents hv to go update ourselves and teach them. i have once attended the school's math lesson for parents to teach parents so we can help to teach the kids...WTF....

ended up the enrichment classes filled in the gap. Also student to teacher ratio.....in school 1 to 40 students.... in enrichment classes, 1 to 8-10 depending on what subject...

lastly, have to take the pre-selection exam (PSLE)..lol

parchiao

but CCS forget to highlight that schools ALSO preselect their students isn't it?
else everyone goes to HC, RI, RGS?

Leave the meritocracy aspect to the MOE schools. It is not something for tuition centres to use to enrich themselves.

jumpthepig

Tutors earn damn big bucks leh. Drive conti cars, stay condo/landed. SG shouldn't even have a tutor industry. I attended before one school, is supposely 1-1 but is a big classroom. Imagine got at least 20 students per session per day and each pay a few hundred a month. Make that 2-3 sessions a day and you can tell the teacher will earn 5 digits a month already.

Toxic tutor industry will cultivate fear, shame, anxiety, stress, and tension……spreads like a real virus :ROFLMAO:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.