[15 Mar 2025] Bartley Rd East accident: 70-year-old motorcyclist dies; 30-year-old female driver arrested

justln

RIP ah peh, live til 70, even older than SG and then kenna this kind of bobo driver.

Hopefully this lady is banned from driving forever and go to jail for a very long time.

But Singapore road laws are lenient, maybe 2k fine and 20 days probation.

kuti

I too am female but I slowly understand why got stereotypes on female drivers. Some girls really cannot drive and damn hazard. I saw 1 recently. Want to turn left yet took extreme right lane (1st lane) then want to turn left never signal, in front got traffic light but still green for car to go she suddenly stop, a car behind luckily reacted fasted honk and faster siam. Then I see inside 2 young girls trying to figure out or panicking and anyhow change lane and is not slowly smoothly change lane by lane. Jitao 1st cut to 4th like grandfather road. I see already smh. And some also stupid stop right in front of the traffic light where pedestrian walk. Can't they have better judgement and gague??? Really buay tahan. How these people even pass one????
From the video can tell she is undergoing multiple blond moments all at the same time.

messidona

I too am female but I slowly understand why got stereotypes on female drivers. Some girls really cannot drive and damn hazard. I saw 1 recently. Want to turn left yet took extreme right lane (1st lane) then want to turn left never signal, in front got traffic light but still green for car to go she suddenly stop, a car behind luckily reacted fasted honk and faster siam. Then I see inside 2 young girls trying to figure out or panicking and anyhow change lane and is not slowly smoothly change lane by lane. Jitao 1st cut to 4th like grandfather road. I see already smh. And some also stupid stop right in front of the traffic light where pedestrian walk. Can't they have better judgement and gague??? Really buay tahan. How these people even pass one????
females usually poor judgement and fickle minded. always flip prata and easily paranoid

last time my female boss go and password protect all the files until we kpkb it is stupid cause it causes the file to crash when we try to save it. she scared people from other dept can see our files.

justln

https://legaladvice.com.my/drink-driving-malaysia/

Malaysia Drink Driving:

Penalties for drink driving offences​

Since the law was amended in 2020, the penalties for section 44 and 45 drink driving offences are stricter, as follows:

• Penalties for causing death—section 44(1): anyone who drives under the influence and causes the death of someone can be sentenced to between 10 and 15 years in prison, and fined anywhere from RM50,000 to RM100,000. They will also be banned from having a driver’s licence for at least 10 years.
  • Penalties for causing injury —section 44(1A): someone who injures a person whilst driving under the influence can be sentenced to between 7 and 10 years, and fined between RM30,000 and RM50,000. They will be disqualified from holding a licence for at least 7 years.
  • Penalties for exceeding the prescribed limit—section 45A: if someone is guilty of driving or trying to drive whilst intoxicated beyond the legal limit, they can be jailed for up to 2 years, and fined between RM10,000 and RM30,000. They will also be banned from holding a licence for a minimum of 2 years.
  • Penalties for being drunk in charge of a vehicle—section 45: someone guilty of this offence will be fined between RM1,000 and RM5,000 and may also be jailed for up to 2 years. They will have their licence revoked for at least 2 years.

If you have existing previous convictions​

As you might expect, anyone with previous convictions for section 44 or 45 offences will face more severe punishment:

• Penalties for causing death—section 44(1): Anyone with a second or subsequent conviction faces between 15 and 20 years in prison, a fine of between RM100,000 and RM150,000, and disqualification from driving for 20 years.
  • Penalties for causing injury —section 44(1A): Anyone with a second or subsequent conviction faces between 10 and 15 years imprisonment, a fine of RM50,000 – RM100,000, and disqualification from driving for 10 years.
  • Penalties for exceeding the prescribed limit—section 45A: Anyone with a second or subsequent conviction faces imprisonment for up to 5 years and a fine of between RM20,000 – RM50,000.
  • Penalties for being drunk in charge of a vehicle—section 45: Anyone with a second or subsequent conviction faces up to 5 years in prison and a fine of between RM20,000 and RM50,000. They’ll be disqualified from driving for at least 5 years.

VS Singapore Drink Driving:
https://singaporelegaladvice.com/law-articles/dui-penalties-drink-driving-singapore/

Nature and degree of actual/potential harm resulting from the offence

In cases where no personal or property harm has occurred, the following sentencing framework is applied for first-time offenders:

Level of alcohol

(mg per 100ml of breath)
Range of finesRange of disqualification
36-54$2,000 – $4,00024 – 30 months
55-69$4,000 – $6,00030 – 36 months
70-89$6,000 – $8,00036 – 48 months
More than 90$8,000 – $10,00048 – 60 months (or longer)

For repeat drink-driving offenders

In cases where no personal or property harm has occurred, the following sentencing framework is applied for repeat offenders:
Level of alcohol

(mg per 100ml of breath)
Range of finesRange of disqualification
36-54$5,000 – $8,00060 – 66 months
55-69$8,000 – $11,00066 – 78 months
70-89$11,000 – $14,00078 – 96 months
More than 90$14,000 – $17,50096 – 120 months (or longer)

Singapore is a blardy joke in terms of traffic laws. The only way this changes is if someone important gets into a serious car accident.

Redberries

COE not high enough....too much cars on road. Actually should reduce cars quota and increase bike quota right?

And obviously she is not paying attention to the traffic lights.

PetDog

480748758_671522588723757_4219482818036761577_n.jpg

elmohootbigbird

If a driver needs to use a lot of the conscious mind to drive, and i know there are people like that, they aren't good drivers. A good driver should know how to internalise to the extent that driving becomes instinctive. This way there is less mental overload. The body is also doing the driving and checking subconsciously.

this internalization is somewhat scary. i used to ride and there are days i would listen to music n ride. at the end of the commute, when i ask myself what happen and what did i see along the way. sometimes i barely recall anything.

Joseph12

i tell u female driver when panic cannot differentiate between brake and accelerator.

U can see she on wipers instead of signal light.

I'll bet she was distracted and dunno how to brake
I saw that

In fact her lane was ONLY right turn. She can't even go straight
So why did she veer left on that lane?

If her intention was to go straight, probably will lead to cars on lane to her left to smash her behind

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.